Fig Scones (SHF #35)

Standard

Figs, figs, figs. Everywhere I look online, I see figs. As someone who has never really eaten figs, (except the Newtons, which I like) I thought I should see what all the fuss is about. Ivonne at Cream Puffs in Venice is hosting Sugar High Fridays #35. The theme ingredient just happens to be figs. Which is why I keep seeing figs, figs everywhere. So, I went to my grocery this morning. No fresh figs. Which was not really a surprise to me. My local grocery does not have the best selection of produce. I could have driven to the fancy grocery, or Whole Foods, but all 3 kids were with me. On to the dried fruit section I went. They did indeed have dried figs. One of my favorite things to bake right now is scones. They are great with any kind of dried fruit. I picked up some walnuts, and some mini chocolate chips, along with the figs. And Fig Scones were born.

I threw this recipe together so that I wouldnt miss the deadline for SHF. And they turned out pretty darn good. Overall, I was happy with the outcome. I rolled the scones a little thinner than normal. I was rushing because my smallest boy was started the “Im hungry” fussing/cry. I like the sweetness of the figs, especially after they baked. I could see using figs more often in muffins, sweetbreads, etc. Im waiting on Jaos to come home and give me the official verdict.

Thanks Ivonne, I would have never thought to bake with figs if not for this SHF.

Fig Scones

2 1/4 cups A.P. flour

2 TB sugar, extra for work space and to sprinkle on top

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

5 tablespoons butter, cold

2/3 cup half and half

1 egg

1/2 cup dried figs, chopped

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375.

Measure half and half into a 2 cup measuring cup. Add the egg. Whisk together until combined. Set aside.

Mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium mixing bowl. Cut in butter with a pastry cutter, 2 knives/forks, or your fingers until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add figs, chocolate chips, walnuts and wet ingredients. Using a fork, or your fingers mix ingredients together until just combined. Do not over mix. Form into a ball and set out onto a sugared work space. Flour a rolling pin and roll out into 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick. Use a cookie cutter of your choice to cut out the scones. Put onto baking sheet. Sprinkle with extra sugar and bake for 16-20 minutes depending on the size of the cutter you used. I used a 3 inch star cutter and baked them for 17 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Fig Scones (SHF #35)

  1. Here, here for improvising! And you did it beautifully. I wish I could have had one of those gorgeous scones nice and hot covered in butter!

    Thanks so much for taking part in SHF #35!

Leave a Reply

