Oh, I made the doughnuts alright…

donuts2.jpg

I woke up this morning, made the kids breakfast, and sat down to read my trusty Google Reader. I clicked away happily until I saw Peabody’s post on the doughnuts she made. They looked fabulous, as all her things do. I knew the deadline for her and Helen’s event, Time to Make the Doughnuts, was nearing. It has been eating at me since I saw it. I wanted to particpate, but finding time these days is the issue. Between TWD and CH, I bake way more than I should most weeks. Having just made the cheesecake last night for TWD, and looking at the dirty dishes in the sink. I did not feel like making another mess. No, I did not. But…I have never made doughnuts. Its cold outside today. Its a good day to give it a go. We could all enjoy some piping hot doughnuts, if I can pull them off.

Not wanting to wait around for yeast doughnuts, I opted for cake. I turned to my Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook. It never lets me down. Chocolate cake doughnuts, perfect! I whipped them up quite easily and went to put them in the fridge for their chill. Oh no, no space. The cheesecake was taking up a lot of room. Okay, its cold outside, to the garage the bowl went. I left it there for 2 hours, as per directions, before fetching it. Next, roll them out. Easy peasy as Jamie says. But, then I ran into another snag. I have no biscuit cutters or round cookie cutters. Umm, I can use a glass? No, I don’t have anything small enough to make a hole. I was left using the star cookie cutters I bought on sale last fall. I was hopeful that would work out. They looked uber cute. I just didnt know if they would hold that shape.

donuts1.jpg

Moving on, they were all cut out, and  looking cute as can be. The oil took about 20 minutes to heat up and then I was ready to go. I very cautiously lowered a doughnut into the oil. It sank. Hrmm, ok. Within a few seconds, it began to float. WHEW! I put 2 more in and let them go for 1 minute, flipped them, another minute on that side, and they were done. Well, that was easy!

I dressed half the doughnuts in some cinnamon-sugar. I dunked the rest in some sugar glaze. To please the kids, I topped some with jimmies and red sugar. I loved how they looked, pretty darn good!

donuts3.jpg

Verdict- Eh. While it was a lot easier to make homemade doughnuts than I thought, I think my good ole Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook let me down on this one. The cake was okay at best. It was dense and really dry. Some of that may be my fault. Maybe I overcooked them? Jaos said they were too dense. The kids ate the jimmies off the top, and left the doughnut, intact, on their plate. I am the only one who thought they were decent. Probably because I am the one who took the time to make them. If you have a really good cake doughnut recipe, please let me know.

I will try to make doughnuts again. Jaos has requested I make yeast doughnuts next time. I enjoyed making them, and its a new skill, so I call this a victory.

Thanks to Helen and Peabody for hosting a wicked cool event!

Chocolate Cake Doughnuts

Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 cup cocoa powder

2/3 cup milk

1/4 cup butter, melted

2 beaten eggs

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

Shortening or cooking oil for deep-fat frying

Combine 2 cups of the flour with baking powder in a bowl, set aside. In a medium bowl combine milk and melted butter. In a large mixing bowl combine eggs, sugar and vanilla; beat with an electric mixer about 3 minutes or until thick. Alternately add flour mixture and milk mixture to egg mixture, beating after each addition just until combined. Stir in remaining 1/4 cup flour and the cocoa powder. Cover dough; chill for 2 hours.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Roll dough until 1/2 inch thick. Cut dough with a floured 2 1/2 inch doughnut cutter, dipping cutter into flour between cuts. Reroll as necessary.

Fry doughnuts, 2 or 3 at a time, in deep, hot fat (375 degrees F) about 1 minute on each side or until golden, turning once with a slotted spoon. Drain on paper towels. Repeat with remaining doughnuts and doughnut holes. If desired, dip tops of warm doughnuts into a chocolate glaze or shake warm doughnuts in a bag with sugar. Cool doughnuts on wire racks.

25 comments

  1. zebe912

    I’ve only ever made a fall spiced type donut. These might have inspired me to try finding a good chocolate recipe because those look yummy. My favorite are cherry though, so I might really need to find a recipe for that! I finally bought a doughnut cutter, with hole included, but I used to use a glass plus the wide end of one of my Wilton decorating tips for the holes. My electric wok works well for frying, but I’m starting to think I want to invest in a cheap deep fryer.

  2. CB

    Stick with cupcakes. teehee. I keed b/c I love ;) They honestly look scrumptious. Bummer they didn’t taste as good as they looked though…

  3. Gigi

    Bummer they didn’t come out. They look like they would be great donuts to dunk in coffee. :) Yeast donuts are fairly easy to make. It’s the frying in oil that scares me. I’ll make the dough if you’ll deep fry. :)

  4. slush

    Tartelette- Thanks! And thank you for hosting such a killer event! I can’t wait to see the round-up.

    Mary- There is always next time. Ill try another recipe.

    Michelle- I hope you do try them, it wasnt nearly as scary as I thought it might be.

    joythebaker- I was nervous about all that hot oil, but it turned out ok.

    Caitlin- haha, Homer is the best. I should have frosted in pink icing.

    zebe912- I havent had a cherry doughnut in years, but they are mighty tasty.

    Nikki- Thanks!

    CB- Jaos actually said they taste like a dense cupcake in doughnut form. Perfect!

    Gigi- All that oil is scary! I was very careful and it worked out. Until I went to get rid of the oil and a child bumped me and a quart of oil landed on my kitchen floor. What a mess.

  5. lemontartlet

    These look so tasty, they had D chanting Donuts! Donuts! in an effort to try to get me to get up and make some right this minute, lol!. They really look good, chocolate cake donuts are the best ever, followed by Boston Cream.

  6. Luki

    You are so brave for even trying!! I learned a long time ago to stay away from frying food. Everything that I have ever tried to fry just comes out soggie……eewww

  7. slush

    Lemontartlet- Jaos normally loves cake doughtnuts, but mine were not up to par.

    April- thanks!

    Luki- I think thats because the oil isnt hot enough. Some of mine soaked too much oil up when the temp dropped after a couple batches.

    steph- thanks!

    Deborah- thanks!

    Robin- Ill be on the lookout too.

  8. Pingback: Culinary Concoctions by Peabody » Time to Make the Doughnuts….
  9. Pingback: Donuts! « The Recipe Box

Leave a Reply

