Cupcake Hero: Theme for May

Okay my lovely Cupcake Hero Crew, I know I am doing things out of order here. You are all on the edge of your seats waiting for the Next Cupcake Hero. We are diligently working on a winner for Cupcake Hero: Earth Day. Life has been busy here at cupcake headquarters. But, I wanted to let you all know what the theme is for May. Ya know, so you can get your bake on… I am so totally stoked about this theme. I picked it months ago because May is my birthday month. Granted my birthday is at the beginning of the month, but.. no matter. Jaos and I celebrate our 7th Anniversary at the end of the month. May is a good month for us.

The theme for May is…

The theme for May is Cocoa Powder!

Now, before you start asking.. No, you do not need to bake with Askinosie Cocoa Powder. (Although, bonus points may be given to those who do…) You may use whatever cocoa powder you have on hand. However, Askinosie is my personal favorite and the only kind I use now. I strongly advise you to give it a try. Come on, you know you want to. Jaos and I both love it. I refuse to buy anything else now. You will not be disappointed. If you are a Hershey’s user, there is no looking back once you try this cocoa powder.

Next, I beg of you to be creative with this theme. Of course we will take any entries you guys bake up. With that said, go outside your comfort zone. Think up something new, exciting, different. Take cocoa to a new level.

You know the rules…

The theme ingredient must be used in either the cupcake, the frosting, the filling or all of the above if you choose. If you want to participate, send me your cupcakery to CupcakeHeroStaff AT gmail DOT com by May 31.

  • Name
  • Your blog name and URL*
  • Link to your Cupcake Hero entry
  • Picture of your cupcakery (250 width is preferred)

This month the theme is Cocoa Powder! Cocoa Powder must be used in the cake, filling, frosting, or all if you are feeling froggy.

Prizes this month kick ass, if I do say so myself. Askinosie Chocolate is going to provide a prize for the winner AND feature the winning recipe on their website. Does it get any cooler than that? No, no it does not. Many thanks to Shawn at Askinosie for being such a huge supporter of our cupcake cause.

18 comments

  1. Tina

    I must think now.. I assume only place to buy the said fantastic cocoa powder is the website I checked out ;) will have to pick some up, if I am lucky those cocoa nibs will be back in stock!!

  2. CB

    oohhhh how exciting!! I totally wanna try said recommended cocoa but being lazy and not checking the website yet, can you get this at your local grocery store or do you order directly from them?

  3. Allison

    sweeeeet!!!!!
    ooh I hope I have time to participate this month! and I am sufficiently intrigued about this particular brand of cocoa…. hmmmmmmm

  4. Kesha

    Hey Cupcake Heros! We are excited to be a part of this cupcake baking shin-dig. Shawn Askinosie was obsesssed with cupcakes and through that developed a passion for chocolate, so we are thrilled to be a part of this.
    You can buy Askinosie Cocoa Powder at our website (askinosie.com) OR you can send me an e-mail and tell me where you live, and I will tell you if any stores in your area carry the cocoa powder.

    Happy Baking!
    Kesha Alexander
    Pursuer of the Passionates
    Askinosie Chocolate
    kesha@askinosie.com

  5. Annemarie

    OK, this nothing to do with your post…I’m one of your fellow TWD’ers & I need your expert advice. I am looking for a basic white cupcake & white frosting recipe. I seem to have problems making cakes from scratch…no problems with other baking recipes. I’m cupcake challenged!! If you have a recipe that you like & wouldn’t mind sharing will you email me…amow3@yahoo.com My little guys B-Day is next week & he asked me to make cupcakes for him to take to preschool…and I refuse to use a box mix & a can of frosting!

    I love your blog!

  6. The Cupcakery

    Checked out the Askinosie website… love, love, love it! I have never seen it in any stores near me, so I went ahead and bought a ton online. Cannot wait for the FedEx guy to show up so I can get baking. Thanks for the 411. Best! xoxo

  7. Holly

    I just got so giddy reading the theme. It is obvious I am a chocolate junkie but now I have a good reason to showcase how enamored I get about cocoa. This is one not to miss! Great idea! Thanks!

  8. Pingback: Cupcakes in the News! | All Things Cupcake - The #1 Cupcake Site

Leave a Reply

