Tuesdays with Dorie: Kids’ Thumbprints

Standard

In keeping with tradition of the past 4 years, I woke up early this morning, on Tuesday, to hurriedly make this week’s recipe. The LAST recipe from Baking From My Home to Yours. There are a lot of things I would like to say, many that I have said before. When I started this crazy trip, my children were ages 10 months, 3 and 5. As a stay-at-home Mom, baking is a way for me to stay sane. I go into the kitchen, sometimes when the house is at its most insane and start to bake. Following a recipe is a way for me to relax and at the end, I have something wonderful to share with my family. This still holds true. I continue to bake 3 or more times a week. My boys have become total bakery snobs. They do not hold back in any way from telling me what they think of what I have baked up. Liam, our oldest, grades on a A-F scale. And I have received quite a few F’s along the way. ;)

I considered myself an ‘okay’ home baker when I started my way through BFMHTY. Now, I am very comfortable tweaking recipes and swapping out ingredients. (Almost to a fault.) I have made some of the best online friends a girl could have through TWD. That is the very best thing that has come out of this 4 year journey for me. The friendships I have made, I have no doubt, will last my lifetime.

Thank you to Jules for helping me out when life got so tough for me 2 years ago, and for continuing to be a source of support and endless humor.  To the rest of my TWD family- Thanks for sticking it out with me. Love you all.

Dorie, sweet, sweet, Dorie– thank you, again for all of your support, encouragement and enthusiasm. I truly value your friendship. And I will forever be grateful to you for writing this book, that brought so many of us together. It was a life changer, not only for me, but for a good many of us in TWD.

Dorie hosted this week, you can check out the recipe on her blog.   Check out the rest of the TWD folks cookies from the TWD blog.

For those joining us for the next round of TWD. We will begin to tackle Baking with Julia starting in February of 2012. If you have not bought your book yet, go buy it now!

Bake on! :)

38 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Kids’ Thumbprints

  1. Thank you Laurie. TWD has become a baking institution! I am happy to have been a small part. I’ve met many wonderful bakers.
    Thanks again! Have a Happy New Year.

  2. Ah, Laurie, where to even start?! Look at how delectable your cookies look (and now I wish I’d used the nuts on the outside) But far more than any baked good – and over the course of a LOT of baked goods – you have created a wonderful community for so many far-flung bakers. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  3. Those cookies look amazing! It’s been such a great experience. And I agree that, while the baking and recipes have been excellent, it’s the friendships that I treasure most. I’m so excited to start our new book and journey together! MWAH!

  4. Cookies look wonderful! Thank you so much for starting this journey and inviting us all along! It’s truly been a wonderful experience. I now know how to bake from scratch more than just cookies! What a deal for my family, your name will be forever revered in this house, believe me. You and Dorie…and Jules for her humor!

  5. Laurie, thanks for starting this group! It has been a fun journey and I can’t wait to continue in February! Your cookies look delicious! My kids are total bakery snobs now too! Funny! :)

  6. Thank you for allowing so many into your life through baking from this wonderful book. (And thank you to Dorie, too!) I have learned so much and agree–the friendships will last a lifetime!
    And I always say the same thing–baking is my sanity (SAHM of 4 boys!). Thank you!

  7. Nice to know I’m not the only one who frequently waits til the last minute to make things… Imso glad to have been a part of this group, and I’m excited about the next boocom thanks for everything that you do, Laurie!

  8. Thanks so much, Laurie – for everything. Who knew baking could be such excellent therapy? That’s why I look forward to Baking with Julia. Lovely thumbprints, too…

  9. Laurie, thanks for everything. The group has meant so much to so many of us. I never expected to make friends through the group, but I did, and that’s the best part. OK, my husband would say that all the baked treats were the best part! It’s all been great, and I’m eager to dig into the next book!

  10. I waited until the last minute to make these too, glad I wasn’t alone. Yours look perfect, I just love that plate!

    I can’t thank you enough for starting this group Laurie, and for your hard work to keep it going over the years. It’s been a great ride, and the end is so bittersweet. I will be cheering you all on as you make your way through the next book :)

  11. juju73

    Hi Laurie-thank you so much for starting this group. You are amazing! Look at what you did. You brought all of us together. :)

    Amazing thumbprints, by the way!

  12. teaandscones

    It has been a great time!! You did us all a favor when you started this group. We have learned so many great recipes, techniques and gained so many friends. I am looking forward to the next one!!

  13. Little did you realize when you received this innocent cookbook that it would blossom into such an adventure. Thanks for including us. Hope your New Year is a special one. See you in February with the new book.

  14. Dear Laurie, some baking maybe earned an F but your idea of twd surely got so many A I wouldn’t worry ! :)) Thank you again I’m sure wee’ll bake together soon. Happy New Year to you and your family ! Hugs and kisses

  15. I hope these were not F-rated – otherwise, your kids must really be baking-snobs! :o] Thanks a lot for founding and running the group, even though your life must have been turned upside down in the last years. Lots of love, Ursula

  16. Laurie you had a brilliant idea to start this group and thank you for all you have done to keep it going. I’m really glad I was a part of it for 3 1/2 years. Your cookies look amazing. Looking forward to the new year of baking. Happy new year to you and your family. Thank you again.

  17. Thanks so much for seeing this project through. I’m sure it turned into a lot more than what you expected. I’ve enjoyed this so much. Your cookies look fantastic!

  18. Laurie – I could have sworn I left a comment on here yesterday! I must be going crazy. At any rate, your cookies look amazing and thank you so much for all you do and for starting this amazing group!! Looking forward to the new book. Happy new year!!!

  19. I’ll always remember my first rejection email from you (I was devastated) – but so glad I tried again and got into “the club”! Laurie – you’ve done so much and probably don’t realize it at all. TWD is a huge hit and everyone has grown and loved every minute of it (maybe not “every”) but most! Happy New Year!

  20. Those cookies look fantastic!

    I can’t thank you enough for letting us all accompany you on your journey through this book. It’s been a life changer for me, and many others. xo

  21. Thanks so much for starting this group, Laurie! Not only have your kids become baking snobs, but so has my husband! (Mostly he rejects baked goods baked by anyone but me!) I’ve grown so much by participating in this group and I love my chocolate-splotched and flour-dusted book! Thanks soooooo much. I do hope we can meet sometime. Maybe in NYC with Dorie? Happy Baking!

    • The new TWD group will be an open group starting in February 2012. We are feverishly trying to get the site ready and it will launch in mid-January. For now, all you need to do is buy the book. :)

  22. Laurie, I have had this post up for weeks thinking about what to comment. TWD has been such a joy and I know it was a lot of work for you. I’m grateful you were willing to share this journey with so many. It has touched my life (and the waistbands of my loved ones as well!) Thank you, thank you, thank you. Wishing you all the best- Anne

  23. Laurie, thank you so much for the comment on my quatre-quarts cake, it really made my day :) I’ve loved being a part of TWD and FFwD and am really looking forward to working through Baking with Julia with you. Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

