Lemon, lemon, how we love you so…

Standard

 I found this gem of a recipe on The Glutton. I knew instantly my husband, Jaos, would love them. He is a sucker for lemon. And when I told him I found an easy Lemon Bar recipe he said “Make them now, please?”. I was running low on butter, so after a quick run to the store, it was on. I stayed true to the recipe, only deviating by greasing the bottom of the pan. I wish I had done the sides too, bc the very edge caramelized to the side and will not budge off. Im having to cut the bars out from underneath that edge. I dont know if a chisel would get that caramelly edge off. But the bits I was able to pry off, are heaven.

This recipe could not have been simpler. It is made with things I normally always have on hand. And they are incredibly good! Jaos and I could not wait for them to cool. We ate them warm right out of the pan and it was heaven. Took all we could not to go back for seconds. So, I thank you Holly@the glutton. This is a keeper for me. And Jaos thanks you too!

Lemon Bars

Lemon Bars of Enlightenment

(Recipe snagged from here.)

Crust:
1 C Butter (I softened it, and that
seemed to work)
2 C flour
1/2 C powdered sugar
dash of salt

Mix.
It will be crumbly. Press lightly into 9 x 13-inch pan. Bake at 350 degrees for
10-15 minutes and cool slightly. Don’t turn off the oven
yet.

Filling:
4 beaten eggs
6 T fresh lemon juice
2 C sugar and
1/4 C flour stirred together

Stir all the filling ingredients together
and pour over pre-baked crust. Bake all together at 350 for 25 minutes.
Optional: dust with powdered sugar.

4 thoughts on “Lemon, lemon, how we love you so…

Leave a Reply

