Memphis Fluffernutter Blondie

Standard

browniedark3.jpg

Okay, this is my first stab at Browniebabe of the Month. And I was unsure if I should go chocolate or niller on this first attempt. But I have had the idea of a Fluffernutter cookie in my head for a while now. Considering I make a gazillion of them a week for my boys, sometimes its hard to think of little else? After a little research, I thought why not give it a try. I was all set up and ready to throw down, when I saw the dark spotted bananas just one day from the trash. They appeared to be screaming at me from the corner of the counter. I had no choice but to save them from trash can hell. And thus we have a Fluffernutter Blondie that I hope Elvis would love.

With that said, the final product is pretty darn good. The bananas stayed in chunks so you get a really good bite of them. The peanut butter filling meshes into the batter well. Using chunky peanut butter was the way to go the crunch is a good addition to the soft blondie. I think I would have made the peanut butter filling a tad sweeter. And I would have doubled up on the marshmallow or left them straight from the package, or tried actual Fluff. Because it virtually disappeared. The blondie came out more cakeish than I thought it would. But its still so moist and dense, its not cake, its not quite cookie, its not quite brownie? But its extremely good. I would definitely try these again with some minor tweaks.

And a quick shout out to my husband, Jaos, who played “sous chef” for me on this one! It was wicked fun!

Memphis Fluffernutter Blondie

fluffernutterblondie.jpg

Blondies
Adapted from a recipe I found here.

8 tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla or ½ teaspoon almond extract
Pinch salt
1 cup all-purpose flour

1. Butter an 8×8 pan
2. Mix melted butter with brown sugar – beat until smooth. Beat in egg and then vanilla.
3. Add salt, stir in flour. Mix in any additions (below).
4. Pour into prepared pan.

(Double for a 9×13)

Peanut butter Filling
6oz cream cheese
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg
2 TB milk

Prepare PEANUT BUTTER FILLING by beating cream cheese, peanut butter, sugar, egg and milk until creamy smooth. Poor mixture over blondie batter in pan.

Marshmallow
1/2 bag of marshmallows
1 TB butter

Melt marshmallows and butter in a sauce pan over medium heat until smooth. Poor over peanut butter and blondie batter in pan. Swirl with a knife well to mix the 3 components together.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes, or until set in the middle. Cool on rack before cutting them.

 

2 thoughts on “Memphis Fluffernutter Blondie

  1. crouchingpenguin

    The banana and crunchy peanut butter was the best part. Laurie was worried that she didn’t add enough sugar but I think they turned out a perfect balance of sweetness. I’d gladly eat these on the way out the door in the mornings.

  2. Yum – Two of my favorite flavors, banana and peanut butter – They look fantastic. I would eat them any time! Btw – thanks for your sweet comment on my blog! 😀

Leave a Reply

