Banana Cupcakes and Muffins (sort of)

Standard

It was that time again. Dark spotted bananas smirking at me from the fruit bowl. I always feel bad for them. My boys dont eat them quick enough it seems. I always end up with 2 lonely nanners waiting to be loved. So, banana cupcakes or muffins? I couldnt decide. I took the batter and split it. One half I put mini chips in, and the other I left straight up. Then I made a streusel topping for half. I then split that and put mini chips in half of that. I filled the cupcake liners. Then put regular streusel on 1/4 of the cakes and chipped streusel on another 1/4. Then I left 1/2 of them with no topping so I could frost ’em. Im a sucker for frosting.

Now, when they came out I thought the ones with topping would look like banana muffins. Oh no, they did not. They looked nothing like that. They looked like cupcakes gone oh so wrong. The recipe for the cake is my Gram’s. And its a dense cake, so I thought it would hold the streusel topping. I was wrong. They got all sunken in. Craters in the middle. They look under the weather. The cupcakes that I left minus topping, came out looking just as they should. They are ready for some frosting.

nannercupcakemuffs.jpg

The taste, which is really the most important part for my household, is great. Both the “muffins” and the cakes came out with great flavor. The muffins look a little on the sickly side. But the streusel ended up all throughout and adds a lot of flavor. They have that muffiny taste, just maybe not the right consistency? But I have no worries that they will go to waste. In fact, as I type this, they are all still cooling, yet 3 of the “muffins” are gone. I think my boys like when they come out a little odd. Makes it more interesting for them. And by calling them muffins, we can all get away with eating them for breakfast too. WOOT!

nannercupcakemuffs2.jpg

Banana Cupcakes/Bad Looking but Tasty Banana Muffins (Adapted from my Gram’s Banana Cake recipe.)

1 1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup butter

2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup milk

1 cup mashed banana (about 3 medium bananas)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I omitted these bc the kids do NOT like nuts.)

1. Cream butter and sugar

2. Beat in eggs

3. Stir dry ingredients together

4. Alternate adding flour and milk to mixture, ending with flour

5. Stir in bananas

6. Add chocolate chips and nuts, stir to incorporate

Line cupcake tin with cupcake papers. Fill cups 2/3 full. Bake at 350 for 18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. When cool, frost with your choice of buttercream.

**note this is my Gram’s recipe. And she always bakes it in a 9×13 pan. She says to grease only the bottom of the pan. And she always, always frosts with Vanilla Buttercream, and sprinkles with mini chocochips and chopped walnuts.

Cream Cheese Frosting

6 oz. cream cheese (softened)

1/4 cup butter (softened)

2 teaspoons milk

2-3 cups powdered sugar

1. Put cream cheese in standing mixer and beat until smooth.

2. Add butter to mixer and combine with cream cheese until smooth.

3. Add milk and continue to beat.

4. Add powdered sugar 1 cup at a time until desired sweetness and consistency is reached. (I added 2 1/2 cups)

3 thoughts on “Banana Cupcakes and Muffins (sort of)

Leave a Reply

