Cinnamon Rolls, you are the devil…

Standard

It was cold and rainy yesterday. By cold, I mean 60 which is unusual for an August day here. It was dreary and rained most of the day. The kids were antsy to get out. But we were cooped up. Jaos and I decided to make cinnamon rolls. I found the recipe here a week or so ago. I tweaked it a bit, as I am known to do. I followed the dough recipe, only adaptation was halving it. I had no need for 7 tins of rolls as the original recipe calls for. For the filling, I opted to use half caster sugar and half brown sugar. I was temped to throw some other things in, but figured I had ought to wait and see how the trial run came out before changing too much.

Everything went according to plan. The dough rised. We rolled it out, put the filling in, rolled it up, cut into inch thich slices and loaded into greased tins. We came out with 3 tins. After the 2nd rise, they were all good and puffy. They still rose more in the oven.

cinnamonrolls.jpg

I opted to use the cream cheese frosting I had left over from Nanner Cupcakes. The smell in our house was intoxicating. And since we started them yesterday afternoon, it was night time by the time they were done. The house felt warm, cozy and delicious all night.

cinnamonrollsfrosted.jpg

We loved the rolls. The recipe is a definite keeper. It will adapt to orange rolls, lemon rolls, pecan caramel or whatever else I’d like to try. Generally good sweet roll recipe. I can see these becoming a staple in our home, and a great gift as well since the original recipe makes so many tins! Even my pickiest boy loved them. Bonus!

broandroll.jpg

We cleared one pan alone last night. Cinnamon rolls, you are the devil…

crandfork.jpg

Cinnamon Rolls (adapted from the recipe at The Pioneer Woman Cooks!)

Dough:

2 cups milk

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 package active dry yeast

4 1/2 cups a.p. flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

Mix milk, sugar and vegetable oil in a sturdy pot. Scald the mixture. (Bring almost to a boil and turn off heat. ) Let the mixture cool for 45 minutes or so. It should be warm but not hot when adding the yeast. Add yeast and let sit for a minute. Then, add 4 cups flour. Stir to combine. Cover with a towel and let sit for 1 hour to rise.

After 1 hour, mix in the remaining 1/2 cup flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. I used my kitchen aid to do this for me. I am not that buff! Turn out dough onto a floured surface. Shape into a loose rectangle and roll out to form a thin rectangular dough, 1/4 inch thick or so.

Filling:

1/2 cup butter, melted

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup light brown sugar

2-3 teaspoons cinnamon (depending on taste)

Spread melted butter on the rolled out dough. Sprinkle with both sugar and brown sugar. And then lay on the cinnamon. I coated generously. Guesstimating about 3 teaspoons. Roll up the dough as you would a jelly roll. And then cut into 3/4-1 inch slices. Lay in 3 greased cake pans. Cover with a towel and let rise again for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375. Bake for 15-18 minutes. Let cool slightly before frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

6 oz. cream cheese (softened)

1/4 cup butter (softened)

2 teaspoons milk

2-3 cups powdered sugar

1. Put cream cheese in standing mixer and beat until smooth.

2. Add butter to mixer and combine with cream cheese until smooth.

3. Add milk and continue to beat.

4. Add powdered sugar 1 cup at a time until desired sweetness and consistency is reached. (I added 2 1/2 cups)

***I used left over cream cheese frosting from the cupcakes I made earlier. So I believe this would be WAY too much frosting for 3 pans of rolls. Posting the recipe as is anyway.

3 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls, you are the devil…

Leave a Reply

