DB Challenge: BCP

Standard

orange_sil.jpg

Okay, so I am not a fan of Boston Cream Pie. There, I said it. Chocolate and orange together does nothing for me either. I know, I know, whats wrong with me?? Ill save that for another post. This months Daring Bakers Challenge combined the 2. Vanilla custard, with orange chiffon cake and chocolate sauce. Bostini Cream Pie is the challenge for the month. The famous Mary of alpineberry was our gracious host. And even though I knew this dessert would not be on of my favs, I buckled down to get ‘er done. I gathered my ingredients on three separate occassions. Each time I was short on eggs. This just ticked me off. I hemmed and hawed until almost the last possible second to do this task. Finally on Saturday, I sent Jas to Sheetz for MORE eggs. Why do I never have any eggs???

102707_19052.jpg

I have to say, this challenege went off without a hitch. The custard came together easily. I strained it and searched for something to put it in to chill. The only thing about the right size were my Fiestaware teacups. So thats what housed the custard. On to the cake. I mixed up all the ingredients gently as it said. The mixture seemed awfully thick to me. But, I continued on. I whipped up the egg whites and folded them into the cake. It looked ok I guess??? I still didnt think the texture looked right. But I had never made chiffon before, I didnt really know what it should look like! I decided to bake that in 2 9 inch cake pans, planning to cut out the cake to put into the teacups with the custard. 15 minutes in the oven and the cake was done. It seemed awfully spongy. It pulled away from the sides of the pan a good bit as well.

102707_19053.jpg

When the cake was cool, I cut out little stars with a cookie cutter. layered 2 pieces in the teacups and drizzled with the chocolate sauce. My kids were chomping at the bit to dig in. I kept saying I need to take pictures first! I grabbed the trusty Kodak and its dead. Deader than dead. I even tried to put in new batteries. But all of our AAs were dead as well! WELL THAT SUCKS! In a last ditch effort to record my beautiful bostinis, I snatched my cell phone off the counter. What you got is lovely grainy pictures from my razor.

102707_19051.jpg

The verdict on the Bostini Cream Pie: The kids both scarfed theirs down with a “Its good!”. Thats a rave review from a 5 and 3 year old. Jas ate his in about 2 seconds, wiped the teacup clean. Then said “Eh”. I liked the custard. I think it needed more sugar for me. It wasnt quite sweet enough. The cake was so spongy. Like perfect sponge cake. Im not sure if it was supposed to be like that or not. But it was soooo good. I loved the orange flavor. Jas ate the scraps with ice cream last night and praised the cake. I think thats a keeper for some upcoming creations. The chocolate sauce was just that. Chocolate sauce. I wasnt a fan of the 3 together. But I knew going into it I wasnt going to be. I can see why people LOVE this dessert. Its rich, custardy, chocolately goodness. My Gram would adore it. She LOVES Boston Cream Pie. I wish she had been here this weekend to taste my masterpiece. LOL

102707_19081.jpg

I want to thank the Daring Bakers for keeping me around. And Id like to thanks Mary of alpineberry for being our lovely host for the month. I picked up 2 new skills. Custard making and Chiffon cake. And I dont think it gets better than that!

Please go check out how the other fab Daring Bakers did this month!

Bostini Cream Pie

(from Donna Scala & Kurtis Baguley of Bistro Don Giovanni and Scala’s Bistro)

Daring Bakers Challenge #12: October 2007

Serving Size: 8 Generous Sevings

Allowed modifications:

  1. You would replace the large volume of orange juice in the cake recipe and you don’t have to use orange for the flavoring. You can substitute with a flavor that you think complements the other components as long as you keep the chiffon cake “light colored”. So nothing “dark” like chocolate or coffee/espresso. You are on your own to figure out how to replace the orange juice.
  2. Since the serving size is quite large, please feel free to half the recipe. Mary cannot guarantee that the recipes for the chiffon cake and custard will scale down successfully without affecting the final product.
  3. The chocolate glaze recipe makes a lot. You may make as much or as little glaze as you would like. Scaling is straightforward since it’s 1 part chocolate to 1 part butter.
  4. You can play with the “size” of the dessert. You can make the custard and the cakes in smaller ramekins so that you’ll have a bunch of miniature desserts instead of 8 regular sized ones. EDITED: It’s okay to bake the chiffon cake in a large pan and cut out pieces to top the custard.
  5. High altitude modifications are allowed as long as you stay “true” to the recipe.
  6. Conversion for certain dietary restrictions like gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan etc. is allowed too.
  7. Recipe ingredient exception allowed only if allergy or an ingredient not available or cost prohibitive in your region.

Ingredients:

Custard:
3/4 cup whole milk
2 3/4 tablespoons cornstarch
1 whole egg, beaten
9 egg yolks, beaten
3 3/4 cups heavy whipping cream
1/2 vanilla bean (EDITED:vanilla extract is okay)
1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon sugar

Chiffon Cake:
1 1/2 cups cake flour
3/4 cup superfine sugar
1 1/3 teaspoons baking powder
1/3 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup canola oil
1/3 cup beaten egg yolks (3 to 4 yolks)
3/4 cup fresh orange juice
1 1/2 tablespoons grated orange zest
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup egg whites (about 8 large)
1 teaspoon cream of tartar

Chocolate Glaze:
8 ounces semi or bittersweet chocolate
8 ounces unsalted butter

Instructions:

To prepare the custard:

Combine the milk and cornstarch in a bowl; blend until smooth. Whisk in the whole egg and yolks, beating until smooth. Combine the cream, vanilla bean and sugar in a saucepan and carefully bring to a boil. When the mixture just boils, whisk a ladleful into the egg mixture to temper it, then whisk this back into the cream mixture. Cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon. Strain the custard and pour into 8 large custard cups. Refrigerate to chill.

To prepare the chiffon cakes:

Preheat the oven to 325°F. Spray 8 molds with nonstick cooking spray. You may use 7-ounce custard cups, ovenproof wide mugs or even large foil cups. Whatever you use should be the same size as the custard cups.

Sift the cake flour, sugar, baking powder and salt into a large bowl. Add the oil, egg yolks, orange juice, zest and vanilla. Stir until smooth, but do not overbeat.

Beat the egg whites until frothy. Add the cream of tartar and beat until soft peaks form. Gently fold the beaten whites into the orange batter. Fill the sprayed molds nearly to the top with the batter.

Bake approximately 25 minutes, until the cakes bounce back when lightly pressed with your fingertip. Do not overbake. Remove from the oven and let cool on a wire rack. When completely cool, remove the cakes from the molds. Cover the cakes to keep them moist.

To prepare the glaze:

Chop the chocolate into small pieces. Place the butter in a saucepan and heat until it is just about to bubble. Remove from the heat; add the chocolate and stir to melt. Pour through a strainer and keep warm.

To assemble:

Cut a thin slice from the top of each cake to create a flat surface. Place a cake flat-side down on top of each custard. Cover the tops with warm chocolate glaze. Serve immediately.

44 thoughts on “DB Challenge: BCP

  1. At least you can get pictures off of your cell phone – if I had to do that, you wouldn’t be able to tell what it was (my phone takes HORRIBLE pictures!) I’m impressed that you followed the recipe knowing that you weren’t a fan of the flavors. That is a true Daring Baker!

  2. It sounds like your chiffon was perfect. And that was some very clever thinking of you to take pictures with your phone – I have no idea how to get them off the phone and onto the computer, so well done!

  3. HA! I think we all wished we had a few chickens in the backyard!

    Your Bostini’s look great in those cups. (I have the SAME ONES! WHOO HOO!) And the model looks great with “Bostini Lips.”

    Cheers!!!!

  4. Glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t like this dessert – orange+chocolate doesn’t do it for me, and neither does chiffon cake. Custard, now that’s a whole other story. It is very much comfort food though, so no wonder your little ones loved it.

  5. i agree with you about the orange chocolate combo – no deal. I applaud you for going thru with it though. I substituted the orange juice with coconut milk and it was sooo good. I highly recommend trying that if you make the chiffon cake again.

  6. I love orange and chocolate…the custard I was less than enthusiastic about, but in the Daring Baker spirit, I did enjoy the process of preparing the challenge. 🙂 In spite of the camera situation, you managed to make these Bostinis look really good…I LOVE the colorful Fiesta teacups…great idea for presentation.

  7. Good for you to think about grabbing the cell phone. I hate taking photos with mine so I probably would have chickened out. Even though you didn’t like the Bostini, you pushed through with real Daring Bakers spirit!

  8. Nice cups! And pretty good pictures for a cell phone.
    Good for you for following through with the challenge, even if you figured you’d hate the end result.

  9. Oh cute! Your kids will burn those calories off in no time just sitting in a chair (ever notice how much energy they have?!) I like the cups and your photos are perfectly fine for capturing your masterpieces! Composition is what counts🙂 Bravo!!

  10. You are so right on Laurie, any challenge that give you two new skills is a winner! Love the Fiesta ware cups for this. I say that was good thinking to use the cell phone for the photo!
    Gotta love that Bostini face!

  11. Slush, the chiffon cake was new for me also. You know, you are definitely a quick thinker! The cell phone pictures were ingenious! It also sounds like you have two food critics in the making. . .Yay! I think you did wonderful =D

    Shandy (Pastry Heaven)

  12. Way to get ‘er done in true Daring Baker spirit! You so rock =)

    I COVET the fiesta ware! when I come over for lunch sometime will you bring it all out so I can drool?

    GO PENS!

    xoxo

  13. Way to go! Working through such difficulties makes you a Grand Daring Baker!
    Good job grabbing the phone for a pic before the desserts demise too! Looks like they were enjoyed.
    xoxo

  14. love the Bostinis Laurie and the cups are great too! Yeah, Kids helping in the kitchen is great fun and your’s look like they really enjoyed the dessert! Well done!

  15. Sometimes it’s easier to succeed at the dishes which you don’t find appetizing, isn’t it? ‘Cause you can say to yourself, “oh, I don’t care if this works out, it’s just to get done for [xxx reason].” And then they turn out wonderfully, as yours did here.

    Maybe because it’s easier to follow a recipe if you don’t want to eat the end result?

    (Oh, and welcome to the world of Razr photography – I’ve been stuck there for months!)

  16. Well heck… your Razor sure takes better photographs than mine does! Or perhaps that’s an issue of operator error…

    Glad that in the end this recipe worked out for you.

Leave a Reply

