Pumpkin Cranberry Spice Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Frosting

Standard

 cpc.jpg

I have been wanting to bust out the cranberry baking since I declared them as this month’s Cupcake Hero theme. Then a few of my kids became sick. Then I got sick. More kids got sick. Im still sick. It goes on and on and on. Today, I finally felt like I was getting better. So,  browsed recipes at Epicurious, in my Southern Living mags, and on Google. I found a couple that interested me. The most interesting being at Corduroy Orange. However, I had no maple syrup on hand. The pancake eaters in my house have been out of control lately. I finally opened my trusty ole Better Homes and Gardens cookbook and found a Pumpkin Spice recipe. Bingo! BHG never lets me down.

I altered the recipe by swapping out some of the sugar for brown sugar. I used all butter and no shortening. It called for both. For spices, I didnt have everything it called for separate, so I turned to Pumpkin Pie Spice. Liam, my 5 year old was helping me. And it called for 2 eggs. However, 1 egg only made it partially into the bowl. So it ended up with 2 1/2 eggs or so. Ah, how I love little cooks. They really like to shake it up! I tossed in a heaping cup of fresh cranberries before scooping into the cups.

The frosting was pretty easy. It did come out thicker than I thought it would. Ill have to work on consistency for next time. The flavor was fantastic. It really pairs well with the cupcakes.

Consensus was good. I loved the cupcakes immediately. Yes, I always eat one fresh out of the oven. Mmmm. Liam wasnt a fan of the fresh cranberries. He said he likes dried better. Jaos agreed that they were really good and asked me to make them bigger. I said you mean make the cupcakes taller? Im still not sure what he meant. He is not a frosting fan, but he liked the 2 together. Ill take that as a compliment. Both the cupcakes and the frosting are keepers for this house.

Cranberry Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes 

(Adapted from Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook, 12th Edition, 2002)

1/2 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

1/8 teaspoon cloves

1 cup sour milk or buttermilk

1/2 cup pureed pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix)

1 heaping cup fresh cranberries

Preheat oven to 350. Prepare muffin tin with cupcake papers. In a medium sized bowl combine dry ingredients, set aside. Measure sour milk in large measuring cup. Add pumpkin, stir to combine. Set aside. In bowl of standing mixer, beat butter and sugar until smooth. Add eggs and vanilla. Beat until incorporated. Scrape down side of the bowl. Alternately add sour milk mixture and flour mixture, ending with the flour mixture. Scrape sides in between additions. Fold in cranberries. Spoon cupcake batter into cups filling to about 2/3 full. Bake for 20 minutes or until a wooden tester comes out clean.

Brown Sugar Frosting

1/2 cup butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/4 milk

2 cups powdered sugar

Melt butter in a sauce pan. Add brown sugar. Bring to a boil. Let boil for 2 minutes. Add milk. Bring back to a boil and take off heat. Let cool till lukewarm and add powdered sugar a little at a time until all is used . Frost.

10 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cranberry Spice Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Frosting

  1. These look like the fall sister to my PB and J cupcakes. Same type of thick frosting with a little of the red peeking out. I love the combination of flavors you put together.

Leave a Reply

