Welcome Home with Mac and Cheese

Standard

When I saw that the fabulous Peabody of Culinary Concoctions was having a housewarming, I pondered over what to take to such an event. I havent been to many housewarming parties. My uncle used to have Christmas time open houses. Im thinking thats about the same?? There is no way in hell I am making anything sweet. Peabody is the QUEEN of sweets. Nothing I could make would do her new house justice, thats for sure.

I decided on good ole fashioned comfort food. There is nothing better than comfort food to welcome you into your new home. This is the one dish I ask for at every event my family has. Macaroni and cheese. Its not a fancy, souped up version. Its a barebones down home mac and cheese, just the way I like it. Who doesnt like mac and cheese??? Its a sure crowd pleaser.

Peabody, I wish you many wonderful years in your new home. May it be filled with family and friends, wonderful memories, delicious meals and fabulous desserts. (And just for today, Go Flames!) xoxo

macheese.jpg

Macaroni and Cheese

1 stick butter

8 Tablespoons flour

4 cups milk

1 pound cheddar cheese, shredded (I use extra sharp cheddar)

1 pound pasta of your choice (today I used rotini)

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350. Shred cheese and set aside. Cook macaroni a tad under “done”, about 2 min less than you normally would. It will cook more in the cheese.

Melt butter in a medium size sauce pan. When melted, add flour and stir to make a roux. Ada a little bit of the milk and whisk to get rid of any lumps. When smooth, add the remaining milk. Cook over medium high until it comes to a boil, stirring continuously. Remove from heat and add 3/4 of the cheese. (Set remaining cheese aside to sprinkle on top.) Stir mixture until cheese melts. Add salt and pepper to taste. When the pasta is done, drain and combine with cheese mixture. Stir well and pour into a buttered baking dish. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake for 30-40 min or until a bubbling crust has formed on top.

I normally half this recipe for everyday cooking.

4 TB butter

4 TB flour

2 cups milk

8 oz cheddar cheese

1/2 pound pasta

salt and pepper to taste

Follow recipe above.

5 thoughts on “Welcome Home with Mac and Cheese

  1. lamiacucina67

    ‘kay Laurie.. your mac & cheese makes me want to sell my house, buy a new one and have a housewarming party just so you’ll bring me some of this.😀

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

