Come my Cupcake Hero people, A winner has been chosen…

Standard

Cupcake Hero: Mint had more entries than any other month. Does that mean yall like mint? Or that you had holiday spirit? Maybe, you just wanted to bake. Whatever your reason for sending your cupcakery our way, We thank you! Ive said it before, and Ill say it again, You guys rock!

Natalie and I had a hell of a time, to say that we struggled picking a winner this month is an understatement. When all was said and done, much baking was done and many cupcakes sacrificed. I pulled opinions on the cupcakes from various sources. Kid tested, Mother approved as they say. (Lots of kids and several mothers.) So, sit back and enjoy the minty ride.

awhiskandaspoon-steph.jpg

Lets start with Steph of A Whisk and A Spoon. Her Minty Chocolate Cupcakes are piled high with White Chocolate Whipped Ganache Frosting. They also have a chocolate mint pudding inside. I love the cake to frosting ratio here. I think my kids wish I would do that! My Gram used to pull out the Andes mints at holidays as well. They are damn tasty. Thanks Steph!

beantownbaker-jen1.jpg

Jen of Beantown Baker received Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World for Christmas. She decided to try it out for Cupcake Hero! She and her sister baked up Peppermint Vegan Cupcakes. They look like like the essence of a candy cane. Which is perfectly fine with me! Thanks Jen! I hope the book provides many, many more tasty recipes!

brinabakes.jpg

Brina of Brina Bakes made Chocolate Mint Cupcakes as part of her Christmas dessert menu. Topped with Chocolate Ganache Frosting and green mint sugar, I am sure they were a total hit. That beats ending a meal with a measly mint any day! Thanks Brina!

claireofalltrades.jpg

Malibu Rum in the cake with Minty Chocolate Bailey Frosting topped with coconut… now that is one busy, boozy, beautiful cupcake! Claire of Claire of All Trades is the creator of these M&M Cupcake masterpieces. She says they went so fast, her Mum didn’t even get to try them! Thanks Claire!

clevercupcakes-michelle.jpg

Laura Secord inspired Frosted Mint Cupcakes are brought to us by Michelle of Clever Cupcakes. I have no idea who Laura Secord is. But she must be a genius. A Chocolate Cupcake with Mint filling and White Chocolate Mint Ganache Frosting sounds heavenly. I think Laura Secord would be proud Michelle! Thanks!

coconutlime-rachel.jpg

Rachel of Coconut & Lime baked us Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes. I love that her recipe is for 6 cupcakes! PERFECT! Baking 24 at a crack is having an effect on my waistline. Man, the amounts of cupcakes I could test if they were all for 6! They are super cute too. Love the red sprinkles on top! Thanks Rachel!

dessertlounge-carla.jpg

This cupcake would make every girl scout in America proud. Based off the taste of a thin mint, but way, way better. I bring you The Girl Scout Cupcake made by Carla of Dessert Lounge. Chocolate Cake, Peppermint Cream Filling and Chocolate Ganache. Are you drooling yet? A box of thin mints will never be the same for me now. Thanks Carla!

dhanggitskitchen.jpg

Matcha Mint Fairy Cakes with Red Fruits and Royal Icing. They sound dreamy don’t they? Dhanggit of Dhanggit’s Kitchen baked these up for her own birthday. (You can bake my birthday cake anytime.) Happy Belated Birthday sweetie! The story that goes along with her birthday post is not to be missed. Please check it out. Thanks Dhanggit!

foodsnobberyhobbery-liz.jpg

Liz from Food Snobbery is my Hobbery, (I just love that blog name. It makes me smile.) baked a cupcake in tribute of her long time neighbor. Mrs. Winter’s Iced Tea Cupcakes came about from her neighbors kind gestures. Iced mint tea and Andres mints were the staple when Liz and her Mom would visit Mrs. Winters. These cupcake are gluten free and vegan to boot. Thanks Liz!

fundamentallyflawed-sihan.jpg

This cupcake, while gorgeous, looks innocent enough. But don’t be fooled. Inside is a wicked yummy surprise. Mint Bailey Chocolate Cupcakes stuffed with Strawberries topped with Whipped Mint Mascarpone Cream. WOW! Sihan of Fundamentally Flawed is the master baker of these sinful cupcakes. Thanks Sihan!

gigicakes.jpg

The ever so lovely Gigi of Gigi Cakes baked Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes. She received a sweet gift pack with hot cocoa mix and decided to use it in the cake batter. Genius! The cake has a very deep chocolate flavor and the mint frosting on top is perfect. Thanks Gigi!

ihearttodd.jpg

Clara of I Heart Cuppycakes made her husband’s favorite, Red Velvet with Peppermint Cream Cheese Frosting. I have to agree, red velvet just seems so christmasy! And I love your chocolate trees on top. Super cute cupcakes Clara, thanks!

ilikecake-thayer.jpg

This cupcake looks ever so sweet, does it not? With the white frosting and little mint leaf on top… But it is not a sweet cupcake. Thayer of I Like Cake, beings us the first ever savory Hero entry, Lamb and Mint Cupcakes. She says “lamb wrapped in shortcake and creme fraiche on top, how can you go wrong?” What else can you say? Thanks Thayer, you are by far the Quirkiest Cupcake of the Month!

jessica-deathbychocolatemint.jpg

Jessica sent me Death by Chocolate Peppermint Cupcakes with Peppermint Buttercream Frosting. These cupcakes contain 2 kinds of chocolate and peppermint patties inside. They look beautiful too. Seriously, does it get better than that??

jessica-greenteamint.jpg

It does get better than that! Jessica submitted 2 cupcakes!!! Thats true Cupcake Hero spirit. Green Tea Peppermint Cupcakes with Green Tea Peppermint Frosting look gorgeous as well. Your piping is killer! Thanks Jessica!

judysgrosseats.gif

Judy of Judy’s Gross Eats totally cracked me up with her cupcakes. Labeled “Pathetic but tasty”, her White Cupcakes with chopped Andes mints and Peppermint Buttercream look good to me! Most people like frosting more than the cake anyway. Thanks so much for sending them Judy. I hope you do try cupcakes again soon!

littlemisscupcake-becca.jpg

Rebecca of Lil Miss Cupcake baked Hot Chocolate Peppermint Schnapps Cupcakes. Chocolate cupcakes with Peppermint Schnappy frosting, YUM! You guys must be on to my love of booze in desserts! The different sprinkles are oh so cute! Thanks Rebecca!

pmint_katieskitchen.jpg

Q: What do you do with a chocolate mud cupcake that is just a little too crumbly?

A: Mix it with vanilla ice cream, top with peppermint buttercream frosting and enter it into December’s Cupcake Hero contest!

The words of Katie of Katie’s Kitchen. She must be brilliant! Cake, frosting, ice cream, all in one. When I was a kid, I would mash birthday cake and ice cream together into a big mess. My family was always disgusted, but it was wicked good. Thanks Katie!

prissycook.jpg

Prissy Cook says “Take That Starbucks!” with her Peppermint Mocha Cupcakes topped with wicked looking bark. Anyone who knows me, knows I am a bucks junkie. Love them! And my husbands fav bucks drink is a Peppermint Mocha. We raise our sleeved paper cups to you, well done. Thanks Prissy Cook!

shazaminthekitchen-mary.jpg

Mary of Shazaam in the Kitchen created Snow and Ice Cupcakes. White Chocolate Mint Cupcakes and Frosting with Peppermint Candy Brittle. They look just like winter time. Gorgeous white cupcakes Mary!

sinfullysweetconfections-luki.jpg

Luki of Sinfully Sweet Confections created Ginger Ale Cupcakes with Peppermint Buttercream Frosting. She makes her candied ginger from scratch too! You kick ass, Luki!

sundaecupcakes-megan-vegan.gif

Megan and Jennifer made Vegan Mint Chocolate Chip Sundae Cakes. With cake, ganache and buttercream, this cupcake is any kids dream dessert! I know my boys would devour them. (Minus the nuts.) Thanks Megan and Jennifer!

weetreatsbytammy.jpg

Tammy of Wee Treats by Tammy created a wicked good summer cupcake. Mint and Strawberry Cream Cupcakes. My husband adores anything strawberry. I cannot wait for strawberry season to give these cupcakes a go. They look ever so good! Thanks so much Tammy!

peppermint-cupcake-entry.jpg

Ritsumei of Baby Steps found Cupcake Hero at the very end of the month. She stayed up till late making her Vanilla Peppermint Cupcakes filled with Vanilla Pudding and topped with Peppermint Buttercream Frosting. I am often a late night baker when all the boys are asleep. Its sweet victory to finish at 1am and sample my work. They look fantastic Ritsumei! Thanks!

crazydeliciousfood-nikki.jpg

A big HUGE apology to Nikki of Crazy Delicious!!! My 3 year old got a hold of my laptop this morning, deleting 1/3 of my write-up. Excuses, excuses.. I suck! Sorry Nicole! It certainly is not a reflection on your Spearmint, Lavender and Cinnamon Cupcakes. I heart spearmint. The combination sounds lovely, like a warm cup of great tea. Thanks Nikki, and Im so sorry! Im the uncool one, not you!

cupcakeheromintwinner.jpg

Maybe, its because I wanted to prove a cupcake doesn’t have to contain booze to be a winner. Maybe, its because we wanted to give a shout out to the Vegan Baking Community. Maybe, its because I just tossed all the names into a hat and this is the one was that was picked? (No no no, I didn’t do that. Come on people. Although, I did consider it, in a weak moment of indecision.) Or maybe, just maybe its because this cupcake WON the taste test! I give you Rich Chocolate Cupcakes topped with Mint Icing & Bittersweet Chocolate Dipped Candy Cane Joe Joe’s. Melisser of The Urban Housewife brings us this masterpiece. As my son’s friend said, “Its like 2 desserts in one!”And I agree. It is indeed. The cake has a very deep rich flavor. I’m talking really chocolatey people. And the frosting tastes just like the inside of a peppermint patty. Add to it the chocolate covered cookie on top and you have pure gluttony. (No Candy Cane Joe Joes were harmed in this decision making process. Trader Joes has not yet graced Pittsburgh with its presence. I was forced to use mint oreos, which I love. But I am told, mint oreos are like the geeky, uncool cousin of a Candy Cane Joe Joe. If anyone would like to send me a box of Candy Cane Joe Joes, you will be amply compensated.)

So with all that said, Melisser, YOU are THE CUPCAKE HERO!

This month is prize packed. Natalie of Bake and Destroy! was my kick ass co-host and is sending the winner a Bake and Destroy! gift pack. Isnt that really, really awesome of her?!? And as always, you will receive an oh so cool Cupcake Hero t-shirt. I know, I know, you bake for the t-shirt. HA! Just typing that made me laugh.

Time for my list of Thank Yous. Thanks to Natalie for putting up with my ongoing rants and issues with picking a winner! You really do kick ass! Thanks to all of you who entered Cupcake Hero: Mint. I am still stunned every month at the number of people who send in entries. I dont think I will ever get used to it. And a special thanks to those of you who have entered every single month. My loyal followers of Cupcake Hero, your the reason I have kept going with it.

Enjoy your reign Melisser! The new theme will be named tonight. Are you The Next Cupake Hero?
.

14 thoughts on “Come my Cupcake Hero people, A winner has been chosen…

  1. Wowza! You sure did get a lot of submissions this month! Congratulations, that is really exciting! I am sorry I could not come thru on the mint cupcakery but I am excited to see what January has in store! Congrats to Melisser and her two dessert in one cupcake!

  2. cuppycakes

    Congrats Melissa! and to all the participants. Every cupcake looks so fabulous! I am seriously drooling staring at the computer screen. 😉

  3. prissycook

    Oh, those are divine and I agree with your choice, those are not only beautiful, but the flavor combination is brilliant. Congratulations Melissa! You’re my cupcake hero!

  4. Congratulations Melissa! Those look incredible. What an amazing amount of creative brand new cupcakes. I’m so inspired. This is the most fun contest and I can’t wait for next month’s secret ingredient. Thanks Laurie and Natalie!

  5. WOW! Thank you so much for naming the the Cupcake Hero!
    Among such amazing entries, I’m truly surprised to have been chosen. I’m so glad you enjoyed the cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

