Sunday Scones

Standard

scones.jpg

I’m calling them Sunday Scones. But, I really make them several times a week. Jaos loves my scones. I don’t know if he just tells me mine are the only ones he likes, or if I”m doing something different…. He says Starbucks scones suck and mine are great. He says mine aren’t as dry as most. And he says he normally doesn’t like scones because they are so awfully dry. Maybe that’s because we eat them fresh out of the oven?? Maybe he’s just trying to get in my pants.

Now, I like Starbucks scones. I’m partial to the Orange Cranberry that I haven’t seen there in years. That scone is what made me love scones. When I was pregnant with our first born, I had one almost every morning before work. Scones have a special place in my memory because of that. (They also had a large part in the 38lbs I gained that pregnancy. Ahh, good times.)

Almost every Sunday and at least one weekday, I make scones. The boys love them, we love them. Who doesn’t love them? My favorite combo is Tart Cherry Orange. Since I had neither tart cherries or fresh oranges, Simple Cranberry it is for today. This is the first batch I made with my spankin new Cuisinart. And that machine made it easier than ever. Jaos was so smart picking that out at Christmas. Again, trying to get in my pants.

* I like a little salted butter with my scones.

Scones (Adapted from Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook)

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2 tablespoons sugar, heaping

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 teaspoons baking powder

6 tablespoons butter, cold

1/2 to 1 cup dried fruit of choice (Im partial to dried tart cherries or cranberries and I use varying amounts. Normally around 3/4 cup. We like a lot of fruit.)

3/4 cup heavy cream (I have used both half and half and straight milk in a pinch, both work fine.)

2 eggs

Sprinkle of coarse sugar for the tops

Preheat oven to 375.

Put all dry ingredients into food processor. Pulse to combine. Cut butter into pieces and add to processor. Pulse until you see coarse meal. Add dried fruit to processor.
In a measuring cup, mix heavy cream and eggs. Add to processor and pulse a few times. Until you see a dough begin to form, but not totally into a ball. Turn out onto floured sufrace and form into a circle. Cut circle into 8 pieces. Put on a parchment lines baking sheet. Sprinkle with coarse sugar. Bake for 16-18 minutes. Until the tops and edges are just starting to brown.

* I have been known to put a simple glaze of powdered sugar and orange juice, or lemon juice on top. 1/2 cup powdered sugar and 2 tablespoons juice. Mix till combined. Drizzle on top while scones are still hot.

You can also brush with cream before you put the sugar on if your feeling saucy.

16 thoughts on “Sunday Scones

  1. lemontartlet

    Those sound… must have now, right now! Any advice when following this recipe for those of us not blessed with the coveted Cuisinart? Any recomendations for a girl who’s thinking about purchasing one with some Christmas money?

  2. lemontartlet- Ive been making these for months now, and just now got the cuisinart for xmas. Just use a pastry cutter, forks or your fingers to cut the butter into the flour mixture. When it resembles coarse crumbs with pieces no bigger than peas, make a well in the center. Pour in the cream/eggs mixture and mix gently until it comes together. Then plop onto the counter to shape and cut. This was my first batch with the cuisinart, and while its easier than before, they still taste the same.🙂

  3. lemontartlet- Oh and my husband bought me the 11 cup cuisinart. He refuses to tell me what he paid. However, I know what they cost. I keep telling myself, “Im sure he found a good Xmas sale”. Riiiiight.

  4. lemontartlet

    Thanks for the imformation! This may sound very dorky… it really does… but I wanted to say thank you slush. Your comments on my little blog really went a long way to reducing that awfull, new kid on the block with the taped together glasses who’s afraid to talk to the cool kids feeling of being a new blogger. You so rock.

  5. Kate- Glad you found me too, back at ya!

    lemontartlet- Your more than welcome!!! You are totally cracking me up. I still feel like the kid in school, afraid no one will sit with her at lunch, everyday. I am so totally far from a cool kid. ha! Too funny.

  6. lemontartlet

    Would that make blog comments passing notes? Are we gonna have to go to the principle’s office, and if so, are plaid skirts required? Don’t worry, I would totally sit with you at lunch. Bet we’d have the best packed lunches too!

  7. My favorite Starbuck’s scone has always been the lemon scone with a simple icing. I love it with a venti americano, no sugar & a little bit of milk. Oh. If only they have those lemon scones at the Starbucks here. No such luck.

  8. Scones are one of my favorite things. I don’t make them, because I would be the only one eating them, well my 7 yr old daughter loves them too with a cup of tea. I will have to try these. I love the cherry and orange combo!

  9. lemontartlet- We would have the best packed lunches!

    Gigi- Thanks! I wish I could find that scone at Bucks here. They never have it.

    Gretchen- I dont know that I have had the lemon. Ill have to keep a look out. I love all things lemon.

    April- Thats so sweet, scones and tea. So traditional!

  10. Aw – I LOVE scones. I had a great blueberry scone this weekend. I wish I had time to cook right now, but at least I can live vicariously through you!!! And I love the idea of making scones every Sunday a tradition. My mom did that with pancakes. I have yet to create a tradition like that for my own…

  11. I had the best scones when I worked at a girl scout camp a few years ago, it was made by this older lady that ran the kitchen and they were like heaven….Mmmmm Blueberry scones…Can you use fresh fruit? Or only dried?

  12. Ashley- Good question. I think they always call for dried fruit because fresh fruit would introduce more liquid and may affect the consistency of the scone. Thats a pure guess. If you try fresh fruit, let me know how it goes!

  13. Are American scones different to English scones and do you pronounce it skon or sk-own? You see in England how your pronounce it is a big deal and can be cause for an argument. Whatever, your pants must surely be on fire by now.

Leave a Reply

