Tuesdays with Dorie: Orange Berry Muffins

Standard

101_0221.jpg

This week on TWD, it was Michelle‘s turn to select a recipe. She chose one of my favorite things, muffins. I consider muffins the cupcake of the breakfast world. We love them. And Dorie’s Orange Berry Muffins sounded right up our alley. While, we have no fresh blueberries right now and I had to use frozen, thats the only part of the recipe where I strayed. (Except for the butter, but you all know my deal with that by now.) These muffins were so good, I made them twice in 3 days. The 2nd time using unsalted butter. And I honestly could not tell a difference. So, the salted/unsalted experiments continue.

I will be making these muffins again, and again. I would like to change up the fruit too. I can see a lot of different combos working splendidly.

TWD is growing. We had 2 new members join this week. Please check out ALL of the TWD girls, Michelle, April, Jaime, Nikki and Ashley. If anyone else would like to join us, as we bake our way through Dorie’s stellar book, drop me a line!

Orange Berry Muffins

Baking: From My House to Yours by Dorie Greenspan

Grated zest and juice of 1 orange
About 3/4 cup buttermilk
2 large eggs
3 tablespoons honey
1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1/3 cup sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup blueberries–fresh preferably, or frozen (not thawed)

Getting Ready: Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Butter or spray the 12 molds of a regular-size muffin pan or fit the molds with paper muffin cups. Alternatively, use a silicone muffin pan, which needs neither greasing nor paper cups. Place the muffin pan on a baking sheet.

Pour the orange juice into a large glass measuring cup or a bowl and pour in enough buttermilk to make 1 cup. Whisk in the eggs, honey and melted butter

In a large bowl, rub the sugar and orange zest together with your fingertips until the sugar is moist and the fragrance of orange is strong. Whisk in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and, with the whisk or a rubber spatula, gently but quickly stir to blend. Don’t worry about being thorough–the batter will be lumpy and bubbly, and that’s just the way it should be. Stir in the blueberries. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups.

Bake for 22 to 25 minutes. If you want to top the muffins with decorating sugar, sprinkle on the sugar after the muffins have baked for 10 minutes. When fully bakes, the tops of the muffins will be golden and springy to the touch and a thin knife inserted into the center of the muffins will come out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for 5 minutes before carefully removing each muffin from its mold.

27 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Orange Berry Muffins

  1. lemontartlet- Thanks, I love muffins too, they are the perfect breakfast. We normally pick the recipe about a week in advance. So you would have plenty of notice to hit the store. Let me know if you want to join!

    Mary- Thanks! I highly recommend them!

  2. A week is perfect! I do all of my grocery shopping for the week on Fridays (Saturday if I’m being lazy), so that works out well. Meaning YES PLZ, Can I haz join now plz?

    *runs before anybody beats her for babd lolcat impersonations*

  3. Nikki- I love the window in my kitchen. It gives off the best sunlight in the middle of the day. I take most pictures there. Thanks!

    April- I know, woohoo!

    Amber- There are 2 right now, but they wont last.πŸ˜‰

  4. Muahahahaha, now y’all are stuck with me! Soon, all shall fear my baked goods and their powers of world domina… errr… ahem… I mean, why thank you for the welcome, I’m so glad to join up!

  5. Darn you all for taunting me with your delicious looking muffies! I want to join but unfortunately I can’t afford that monstrosity of a cookbook right now. Any way to get a copy of the recipe to participate while I wait for fundage to buy it? please please please…

  6. look what you’ve started! we increase in numbers weeklyπŸ™‚

    your muffins look great, i love the course sugar you topped them with! i can’t believe you’ve already made them twice in 1 week! but then again, i can – they were so good!

  7. MrsPresley- I know! Its insane how fast we are growing. I love it. Anything that gets people in the kitchen baking is fine by me!

    Ashley- I almost forgot the sugar, its good she says you can put it on 10 minutes into baking!

    steph- You got it babe! Ill send you off an email now.πŸ™‚

  8. Ooooh, sour cherries would be tasty in this too – great idea!

    It’s so much fun to be in a group like this! We need a button for TWD or a blog ring or something.

  9. Ok, are you still accepting new members? What’s required to join? I’ve already been manhandling the cookbook a fair bit, so this sounds like just the right kind of fun event.

  10. I know it’s 5 years late, but I just made these for my toddler and it was a hitπŸ™‚ Didn’t have blueberries on hand, but dried cranberries were also delicious.

Leave a Reply

