What is your Birthday cake???

Standard

Lats night, Jaos told me he would be perfectly happy if I would make Dorie’s Black and White Chocolate Cake for his birthday next year. My 5 year old piped in, me too! I was thrilled, that means they like it. They really, really like it!  It doesn’t get better than that for me. Baking something that makes my family smile is the absolute best.

This got me thinking, a lot of people have a favorite cake or dessert they have on their birthday every year. Mine has always been Lemon Meringue Pie. I love it! Jaos likes Carrot Cake or Cheesecake.  My 5 year old normally asks for Chocolate Cake. My 3 year old only cares that the cake has Lightning McQueen on it, and my almost 1 year old has not had much cake yet. He is undetermined.

So, tell me, what is your Birthday cake, pie or dessert???

38 thoughts on “What is your Birthday cake???

  1. I like cake for my birthday. preferrably chocolate. My oldest son likes chocolate, my middle likes cherry yum-yum, and my daughter likes cupcakes. Jamey, my husband, likes cheesecake.

  2. I’m more about the icing than the cake (and if there’s filling in another flavor? *swoon*). But I haven’t found one that’s doable from home yet that fits the ticket. I’m thinking that Tuesdays with Dorie is going to fix that eventually🙂

  3. Dawn

    I like cherry cake with a chocolate swirl. Either vanilla or chocolate icing is fine by me. My dad prefers strawberry pie, which I never understood when he lived in a house full of cake decorators.

  4. I love me some ice cream cake. Or a giant brownie sundae. Or a cupcake. Either way I always make my b-day treat, so I just choose whatever I’m in the mood for that year.

  5. abbysmom814

    I love red velvet cake with cream cheese icing or cheesecake. My husband is a “specialty” cake person. Last year, I made a boston cream cake and he’s also had carrot cake before.

  6. April- OoOo, your family has some good ones!

    Jhianna- Im all for the filling too, yum.

    tw- Thats not shocking.😛

    Dawn- Chocolate and cherry is a killer combo for sure.

    Michelle- Thats what Jaos likes too.

    Jen- I love ice cream cakes, but only the ones with the fake chocolate crunchy things in the middle. None of the real cake crap. It has to be the chocolate crunchy kind.

    abbysmom814- Very nice cakes there! An assortment, I like it.

    breadchick- Pies are always good. I have always been more of a pie girl, until the cupcake obsession struck.

    Usually Muesli- YUM! You have the right idea there, good call.

  7. When I was little it was always cake with no frosting, either funfetti or the mix that had the pink and blue swirls in it … so cool. Even if they were boxed mixes they were damn cool.

    The truth is that I don’t remember the last time someone made our bought me a cake for my bday. Actually, I do, it was 5 years ago and it was a little store bought cake my friend brought over when she found out my ex was away and I was going to be home alone for my bday.

    Now I’m bummed, my bday is Saturday and it looks like I’m going to be cakeless again.

    Thanks Laurie, way to make me feel like crap😛

  8. My birthday is in the middle of the summer and I’m more of an ice cream person than a cake person (though I like cake too), so I very often have had ice cream cakes for my birthday. My favorite is Friendly’s Watermelon Roll–it’s watermelon sherbet with chocolate chip seeds and a lemon sherbet rind. Delicious and refreshing! Of course, chocolate cake with chocolate icing is always a favorite! My grandfather-in-law always has strawberry shortcake for his birthday–his favorite.

  9. Nikki- If I were closer, I would bake you one myself babe. I swear I would. Do I need to email your hubs and tell him to get with the program or what??

    cakespy- Wow, thats a very girlie cake! I cant say I have ever had my own 3 tier layer cake. We eloped, so we didnt even have one at our wedding. *sigh

    laura- That sounds great. Big Friendly’s fan. My friends and I used to go there for lunch when I was a teen. Yum.

  10. Since my 2nd birthday (I’m now 28) my birthday cake has always been a Baskin Robbins ice cream cake. Mint chocolate chip ice cream with chocolate cake and delicious, sugary frosting. My husband has taken over the tradition since we were married four years ago. It’s just not a birthday without it.

  11. lemontartlet- That sounds like a story that may need to be explored further sometime.

    Cara- WOW! Thats a long time. Good for you. I love traditions. Im trying to set these kinds of things up for my kids right now. Like we always have cake for breakfast on their birthday. They love it.

  12. I’m pretty much a cake girl. My favorite is carrot cake, but as long as there is icing and no fruit, I’m happy. This year my mom made a chocolate cake with white icing for my and my brother in law (his b’day is 3 days after mine), and then my mother in law bought an angel food cake, no whip cream, and strawberries. If it had whip cream and no strawberries it would have been better.

  13. My favorite cake changes by mood… I have yet to decide what cake I want this year, which I should be decided soon. Last year I was set on getting a red velvet cake. The year before that it was a Charlotta…. I think that was the year previous to that too.

  14. I always relish in spending a day baking my own birthday cake. This year I’m going to try White Citrus Cake with Lime Curd and Coconut Buttercream Frosting. Yea…
    Also- I want to make you a wedding cake, since you eloped and didn’t get to enjoy one.!

  15. My favorite cake is red velvet with cream cheese frosting…but this past birthday, my husband surprised me with a funfetti cake with funfetti frosting…I know I know….ewwww cake mixes….but I happen to LOVE funfetti and my husband made it all by himself! I was quite impressed!

  16. Mary- Im not an angel food fan really, but my brother loves it. Chocolate cake with white icing, oh yeah baby!

    bombshellwithin- Very interesting choices there. Cant say I have ever had a Charlotta or a Tres Leches Cake. Good lord, do I live in a box or what??

    Joy- Oh my, anything with lime curd is fine by me. I so cant wait to see pictures of that cake! And your so sweet, I just think there are only a few occasions where a tiered layer cake is acceptable, and apparently I have never had one of those events. I knew eloping would bite me in the ass somehow. But, Vegas was a blast. No regrets.

    Enza- I can honestly say I have never had a funfetti cake. I hear all good things about it. Its good to know what ya like and having your husband bake it is the best! Im not sure Jaos could bake a cake alone?? (love you Jaos)

    CB- Ah, another one for Jaos’ cheesecake crew I see. Very nice.

  17. i’m all for chocolate angel food cake with chocolate frosting, mint chocolate chip ice cream and whipped cream on top……so I guess what I’m saying is I”m all about what goes with the cake as opposed to what the cake actually is!

  18. MrsPresley- I am indecisive as well. Its hard to pick just one!

    Mary- Chocolate of any kind is always good.

    Tartelette- I am not one to turn away a dessert. Butter, sugar, flour do it for me as well.

    Mimi- I just had red velvet for the first time recently. It was darn tasty.

    Cass- Thats my girl, LMP, oh yeah baby.

    BMK- Mmm, keeping it simple is nice. niller cake and chocolate frosting is a crowd pleaser.

    Alicia- Lemon and chocolate, best of both worlds. nice.

  19. kate- anything chocolate raspberry is okay with me!

    Judy- Mmm, that combo sounds heavenly.

    steph- Another one that I am not sure I have ever had. You gals have made me realize just how unworldly I am.

  20. My birthday cake of choice would be a Buche de Noel — birthday is around Christmas, so I guess that makes sense. My second choice would be a red velvet cake, but NOT with cream cheese frosting. I learned to make it with the boiled flour frosting, so that’s the combo that tastes right to me. Third choice? A pie (French silk or Derby)

  21. No really. This past birthday I wanted to have a wine tasting so I made my husband go out and buy me some inexpensive and some really expensive syrahs. I figured out right away which one was the good one and hoarded it for the rest of the evening tho. I’m kinda selfish like that.
    We also had some cheese and fruit- is that better? I don’t actually remember eating any of it but it was there all the same. You know, I don’t want you guys to get the wrong impression and think I’m a wino or something…

Leave a Reply

