I’m jonesin…

Standard

Almost 2 weeks ago, I had the bright idea to do the water challenge. You know, drink the proper amount of water per day. 8-10 glasses. Jaos, the loving husband he is, said he would do it along with me. I am not good with follow through when I go things alone, as you may know. The rules are, we are allowed 1 caffeinated beverage in the morning, because we are both caff junkies. Then, its all water the rest of the day.

Its killing me… I swear to you, its eating away at my soul. I was in target last night, at the check out, and I saw an ice cold coca-cola in the case. My favorite drink, ahhh icy Coke. I almost picked it up. Jaos was not with me, he would never know. Then, the guilt set in. He had given up Dew, he adores Dew. For the first couple years we were together, that is all he drank, Dew, all day. I opted for the Vitamin Water instead. And it was tasty.ย  As tasty as flavored water can be, I guess. It was better than I had expected. But, it is in no way, shape or form, an ice cold Coke.

I sit here drinking my water. I know its good for me. I know I’m cutting back on a lot ofย  worthless calories by doing away with the soda. Buuut, I miss them so. More than I thought I would.ย  I wonder if I will get used to the water, and stop thinking mouth watering, dirty, lusty thoughts about Coke. Only time will tell.

Have you given up anything recently that you lust after??

18 thoughts on “I’m jonesin…

  1. I gave up carbonated drinks one time – for about 8 years. It might sound crazy, but I was addicted to the carbonation – not the caffeine. I love the burning feeling that a good carbonated drink gives you going down your throat. I started drinking them again about 2 years ago, but I can only have 1 a day. I never got over the addiction – I still craved one all of the time through those 8 years…

  2. I wouldn’t say that I gave it up intentionally but I don’t drink very much of anything else accept water. I switched to diet coke to lose weight but now I find that I reach or order water as a first choice without thinking. Just takes some time for your body to detox. haha. GL with your challenge!

  3. I try to never give up anything…I like being free to have everything if I want it–it’s why I gave up ever trying to be a vegetarian.

    My husband on the other hand, likes to “test” himself by giving up coffee for the month of January every year. I’m not sure why. This January I did give up a bunch of stuff. We were trying to concieve so I gave up sushi, alcohol, and significantly reduced caffiene. Well, now I am pregnant so have had to give up even more stuff. I guess the good news is that I don’t crave any of the stuff I had to give up. The weird thing is, I haven’t had any interest in chocolate or sweets…things I usually eat multiple times per day! Of course, I plan to make Valentine’s cupcakes this weekend!

  4. Stick with it, slush! I quit drinking soda when I was in highschool (because I was paranoid about my weight, but still) and started drinking only water. I got so used to it, that I pretty much quit drinking soda all together! Even now, over 10 years later, soda is a VERY rare thing for me. Water is SO much better for you.๐Ÿ™‚

  5. It might be the caffeine that is giving you a hard time. I once tried to give up coffee. Ugh, too hard. The headaches from the caffeine withdrawal were brutal. Just keeping thinking how awesome your skin will look and how great your body will feel.๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Just wait – your bladder will get bigger & you’ll get used to the water intake, so you’ll be thirsty lots and lots! I easily drink 4 litres of water a day, just ’cause I’m used to it now.๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I never really give anything up – I’m a big believer in the “all things in moderation” concept. But my dad, a coffee fiend, once tried to give it up. He had horrible withdrawal – headaches, sweats, shakes… wasn’t pretty!

  8. Deborah- Good lord, I hope it goes away…

    CD- Detox, right.. ok.

    laura- Im not really sure why I am doing it. I know its good for me. But, I think Im just doing it to do it. Im not exactly right in the head.

    Alanna- Thanks! I needed a cheerleader!

    Gigi- The first week was rough. I was having trouble sleeping etc. This week isnt as bad. I just WANT the Coke.

    Michelle- Im a believer in that too. I think I just need something to do all the time. LOL

  9. DaviMack- Im not sure my bladder can get any bigger! But I hope I get used to it. It would be nice to know I AM doing something thats good for me for a change.

    Mimi- Mmm, southern sweet tea, there is nothing better. Love the stuff.

  10. Hang in there! You’re totally doing the right thing, and you have loads more will power than I. I try to only give up things like bad boyfriends or old eggs. Boyfriends and eggs!? Well… yea.

  11. annie

    i havent had sugar or flour products for a whole month….i’ve lost 30 lbs which i needed to do after the holidays….i did this before for 18 months and lost 200 lbs….im not doing that this time…my goal is 50 then im going back….

    anyway i read somewhere that the 8 glasses of water wasnt as good for you as some “experts” suggest…..and i think green tea is better for you anyway….i drink it all day every day….its like one of the top 10 things you can do to avoid cancer…..plus it gives you just a bit of caffeine.

    good luck:0…love your blog.

  12. I was going to give up sweets for Lent, that’s why the cupcakes were done so early, but the my husband hurt himself and I absolutely suck at being a pleasant nurse without my chocolate.

    My husband and I are trying to drink half our body weight in ounces every day. We even got water bottles. We aren’t doing so good at it. Good Luck with your challenge.

  13. Trying really hard to not have many sodas, but the Coke really gets me. It ain’t the caffeine with me, I avoid caffeine as much as possible and have for many years. Giving up smoking two years ago wasn’t fun, ugh.

    The water I drink when I’m thirsty. That sounds better to me than any given number of ounces.

  14. sarah

    I gave up soda 2 years ago for Lent (I also became a vegan at that time too, giving up the cheese habit), and I haven’t missed it at all. I drink iced tea sometimes when I’m at a restaurant, but that’s because the water usually tastes nasty without the boiling, etc, but otherwise it’s just water for me. I’m up to drinking a gallon a day most days (my family refers to me as a “camel”). The first week was hell though. This Lent, I’m giving up bread/baked goodies…and hopefully this will lead to me finally giving up wheat/gluten when it’s all said and done. Been doing good so far!

  15. hmmm, we don’t do soda in our house. The carbonation is also really bad for your bones. Women are especially susceptible to it effecting their calcium. Think about that maybe to help.
    I gave up Matthew McConaughey when I found out he knocked up that model. He’s been kind of weird this past year anyway so it was about time to let him go. I’m considering giving up Viggo as well. I mean did you SEE what he wore to the Oscars. I’m telling you girlfirend- if he doesn’t shave, it is SO over for us.

Leave a Reply

