Some wicked good candy…

Standard

pinebark.jpg

I was watching Paula on the Food Network forever ago when she was making this simple candy with saltines, homemade toffee and chocolate bars. I thought right then, OoOoo, that looks good. Then I forgot about it for months on end.

Well, something made me think of it this week. I looked up that recipe for what she calls “Pine Bark” and cooked ‘er up. It was easy as hell for something that is wicked good. I have actually made it twice this week. Im just slack at getting it posted.

The first batch I made as directed by Paula. The 2nd, I  did a combo of milk chocolate bars and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Then, I tossed some chopped mixed nuts on top. And in one corner of the sheet, I put some chopped dried tart cherries. Just to see how it would taste. It was surprisingly good. I am beginning to think tart cherries go with everything. If you are looking for a simple candy recipe, look no further. This one is easy and wicked good as well. It was co-worker approved when Jaos hauled it to work.

I can see a thousand different ways you could change this recipe up. We love it.

Pine Bark 

From Paula’s Home Cooking by Paula Deen 

35 saltine crackers
1 cup butter
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
5 (4-ounce) milk chocolate bars, broken into pieces

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.Line a 15 by 10 by 1-inch jelly roll pan with tin foil. Lightly spray foil with a non-stick cooking spray.

Place saltine crackers, salty side up, in prepared pan. In a saucepan, boil butter and sugar for 2 to 3 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stir in almond extract. Pour mixture over crackers and bake for 4 to 6 minutes. Remove from oven, top with candy bars, and spread evenly as chocolate begins to melt. Cool slightly and transfer onto waxed paper. Allow to cool completely.

12 thoughts on “Some wicked good candy…

  1. Michelle- Thanks!

    MrsPresley- I should have taken a picture of the toffee on the bottom, sorry!

    Ashley- It really is very good, I hope you try it!

    Erin- No kidding, sooo freakin good.

    Tammy- Saltines are like plain crackers that have salt on top. Like crackers you would crumble and put in soup. They are not sweet or savory, just plain salty crackers.

  2. zebe912

    Dried cherries are good with pretty much everything. Just this morning I had dried cherry pancakes at the hotel we stayed at. Super yummy! Hey, Michigan has to be good for something, because this weather sure isn’t nice! My love affair with dried cherries began because most are grown here in MI, but I’m glad to see that the word is spreading.

  3. I make these things every christmas as gifts for people and everyone LOVES them and eats them up! I like putting toasted almonds on top of mine and using bittersweet chocolate🙂

  4. I tried these out of one of the Sweet Potato Queen book – she called them white trash candy. I never thought to share them though! I might have if mine had ever come out looking as nice as these…

Leave a Reply

