Daring Baker’s Challenge: French Bread

Standard

I’m just going to put it all out there. I went into this challenge with a bad attitude. I did. I didn’t want to spend a day thinking about bread, checking on bread, baking bread. I tackled this challenge when my family was in the thick of stomach flu. Why? Because it was the only time this month I could get ‘er done. I am an idiot. I am. I should have just thrown in the towel this month. Instead, I baked the f’n bread, bitching about it before, during and after. (However, I didn’t do it in open forum, only IM and right now, on my blog, which I think is acceptable.) I made my friend, Chelle of Sugar and Spice, suffer along with me. Poor Chelle. We both tackled it on a Sunday afternoon with similar results and opinions at the end. And both with the poor attitude. You rock Chelle! Thanks for sticking it out with me!

101_0316.jpg

The bread was not difficult to make. In fact, it was rather easy. I will say I had a lot of difficulty with the directions. I thought they were hard as hell to understand. Even reading over them multiple times did not help me. I did my best with them, and forged on. It was only about 15-20 minutes of work and the rest was waiting, waiting, waiting. But with 3 kids under 5, it is hard to think about something else for a whole day. I think my bread suffered for it. It rose very well during the 1st and 2nd rise and did little to nothing on the 3rd. It did rise in the oven some though.

101_0317.jpg

End result was okay, not good, not great, but okay. Jaos said “Its bread”. That sums up our thoughts on it. All bread right out of the oven is good. I was unable to let it cool completely though, or I would have been eating it at 11pm. So, I saved one loaf till the next day. But it got so hard, I couldnt cut into it very easily. I’d still say this challenge is a success. I made a different kind of bread that I had not made before. And it was edible, thats a success right?

You can get the recipe for this challenge here.

Thanks to Breadchick and Sara for this challenge, and thanks to DB as always. Please check out the Daring Baker Blogroll to see all the fabulous looking french bread and there are some beauts!

33 thoughts on “Daring Baker’s Challenge: French Bread

  1. Ha! The Brain said the SAME thing when I asked him what he thought of it. “It’s bread.” Yours looks to have risen much better than mine. And yeah, I couldn’t imagine baking it with 3 kids under 5. Kudos to you!

  2. Sorry that you didn’t enjoy the baking but I can imagine a recipe like this doesn’t fare well with children around, sick children at that! Great job facing the challenge and baking the bread. The long recipe was intimidating, that is no doubt!

  3. venefica

    Yeah, I was less than thrilled/ excited/ impressed with this months challenge! It was a lot of hours spent for eerrrrrrrrr …. a loaf of bread!

  4. Congratulations for completing the challenge even though it was the last thing you wanted to do. My crazy self made it twice because I was not impressed with the first batch. Talk about throwing away a weekend, LOL. On to the next challenge, I am really hoping for cake! 🙂

  5. Slush, I don’t know how you do it! This does not look like “just bread” to me, it looks like a study in perfection. I want to take a big bite right from that peak at the top where it’s kind of popped through. Gorgeous!

  6. This was one challenging challenge- that’s for sure!! It looks super yummy though, you did an awesome job!! I want to dip it in chili right now (yes, for breakfast.)

  7. “It’s bread.” Your husbands sentiments are hilarious! With three little ones and the fluness that you’ve had this month, I’m impressed this bread was born at all! It looks good, but I’m sure you won’t be making it again any time soon!

  8. Yeah, think if most of us were honest, we’d admit what a bad attitude we went into this challenge with. I had a whole lot more time on my hands.. and I may have almost cried at some point in the middle. But, you completed it.. and there was something yummy to show for your actions. While it truly is a delicious recipe, I don’t think I’d do it constantly. I don’t think the effort is worth the mental, financial and emotional costs.

    *big hug*

  9. Hey you and me agree… Your blog, your rules but host bashing not cool. Git on with your bad attitude self. But honestly your bread does look awesome. Great job!
    -Clara

  10. This bread wasn’t either of our friends! Yours came out looking way better than mine. It was so salty! It wouldn’t even make good bread pudding the way mine came out. great job on yours!

  11. Mine was “just bread” too, until I toasted it and brushed it with melted butter and garlic. THEN it was heaven.

    But baking while sick is commendable, so even if you were crabby during, that’s what being a Daring Baker is all about – rain, sleet, snow, etc. Good job.🙂

Leave a Reply

