Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

Standard

101_0442.jpg

I was a very lucky gal 2 days ago. Multiple packages came in the mail. I will blog about all of them, don’t fret. Right now though, let’s talk about the kickass cupcakes I baked up last night. I had been wracking my brain all day what I wanted to bake. What can I bake with cocoa powder that will really highlight the cocoa? I have cocoa from Askinosie and really want to show off this awesome cocoa powder! The sheer smell of it made me want to scoop it up with a spoon. However, I knew that would be bad news. So, brownies, pound cake, cupcakes, whoopie pies?? All of the choices were good, but I finally settled on the obvious, chocolate cupcakes. The recipe is easy as hell. It doesnt even use the KA. I mixed it all in a sauce pan. WOOT! I am all about minimal mess. Because I really do make one hell of a mess when baking. Its a definite flaw of mine.

101_0436.jpg

The cupcakes were whipped up and in the oven in no time.ย  I was looking for something a little tangier. I decided to scour the internet highway for a Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting. Nothing was really found. There are tons of white chocolate cream cheese frosting recipes, but that is not what I wanted. Welp, I just had to make it myself. Thats fine and dandy.

I used cream cheese, butter, powdered sugar and the wicked Askinosie cocoa powder. Now, I am going to admit I slacked a little. I should have sifted my cocoa powder before putting it into the frosting. I did not. In my defense, it was later at night, I had tons of things to do, because company is coming today and I was baking cupcakes instead of doing said tons of things. Corners were cut, but it did not effect the outcome of the cupcakes. The frosting, even with the nicely speckled, cocoa powdered frosting, tasted asbolutely fantastic. It may be my new fav chocolate frosting recipe. (For today, Im fickle kids.)

101_0435.jpg

Jaos dubbed these his new favorite cupcakes. That says something. Jaos hates everything. It takes a lot for him to even say something is good. He said these were his new favorite. That is an enormous compliment. Thank you Jaos, that totally made my evening. The cupcake itself was really moist. Surprisingly so. I am not sure if this was the addition of yogurt instead of buttermilk or not. But the cake was wicked good. The frosting, sweet, uber chocolatey and tangy at the same time. They are really very good. Its hard to impress me at this point too. I have had more than my fair share of cupcakes. (Thank you Cupcake Heroes!)

I want to thank Shawn at Askinosie for letting me give his cocoa a test drive. It is seriously awesome. You have to try it. I will not go back to Hershey’s. I WILL NOT! I just love Shawn’s story too. Please go check out his site. I love seeing people do what they truly love doing. It gives me hope!

This is the first of a couple Askinosie posts, I have more chocolate to bake with.๐Ÿ˜‰

Mocha Cupcakes

Adapted from Molly of Batter-Splattered

1/2 stick butter

1/2 cup strong brewed coffee or 1 teaspoon instant coffee, dissolved in 1/2 cup hot water

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup buttermilk (I used vanilla yogurt, and a very full 1/4 cup)

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line a cupcake pan with 10 paper cups. Stir 1/4 cup butter, coffee, 1/4 cup cocoa and vegetable oil in heavy small saucepan over medium heat until smooth. Remove saucepan from heat. Stir flour, sugar, baking soda and salt in large bowl until blended. Whisk in cocoa mixture. Whisk buttermilk, eggs and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla in medium bowl until blended. Add to flour mixture and blend well. Spread batter in prepared cupcake pan.

Bake until tester inserted into center of cupcakes comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Transfer to rack.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

6 ounces cream cheese, softened

4 tablespoons butter, softened

1/4 cup cocoa powder (I used Askinosie)

2 cups powdered sugar (about)

Cream the cream cheese and butter until fully incorporated and smooth. Add the cocoa powder, mix to combine. Add the powdered sugar until desired sweetness and consistency is reached. Frost cooled cupcakes.

22 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Happy Cook- Please let me know if you do bake them.๐Ÿ™‚

    Michelle- Yellow layer cake perhaps?๐Ÿ˜‰

    Deborah- I adore chocolate chocolate combos. They really are the best.

    Stefani- I loved the Askinosie cocoa powder. Such a huge difference from what I normally use. Im sticking with the good stuff baby!

  2. Funny! I was thinking that I liked the chocolate flecks in the frosting and thought it was like a chocolate chip whip frosting. These look great. I will have to try the cupcake recipe here, I always use yogurt instead of buttermilk & sour cream…cause that’s what I have!

  3. Your cupcakes look yummy. I’m glad to know that the Askinosie cocoa powder is that good. I hadn’t heard of them until my husband got me one of their chocolate bars (a Nibble Bar–70% dark with nibs) for Valentine’s Day. The chocolate is very good, and the website makes for interesting reading.

  4. Heather- Lemme know if you make them!๐Ÿ™‚

    Gretchen- I liked it when they were done, but I am kind of anal, but it bugged me that I didnt sift. lol

    Helen- Thanks!

    Di- The cocoa is really very good. I just tried the Nibble Bar for the first time 5 minutes ago, WHEW! Its dark baby!

  5. “Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting”

    Just surfing the internet and came across this blog.
    All I can say is wow! what great photographs not to mention the recipe (it looks tops) I certainly will be trying this out the weekend.

    Cheers.

  6. Hot, haute chocolate! Fantastic. Beautiful color combo on the fiesta ware too!! You rock the free world–I mean seriously. Chocolate cupcakes with chocolate cream cheese frosting!? Holy yum.

  7. Ooo you lightened her recipe up a bit I love it!! I’ll have to give it a go either as is or maybe lighten it up a little more… i can’t help it I have a compulsion to try to lighten things up and maintain the goodness of them! sometimes it works… and sometimes… *whomp whomp*๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll let you know how it goes!

  8. Gigi- Thanks babe!

    Suzanne- Please let me know if you do try them!

    Cakespy- YOU rock the free world!

    steph- Lemme know if you try them and Id love to see the lighter version too!

Leave a Reply

