Tuesdays with Dorie: Gooey Chocolate Cakes

Standard

101_0504.jpg

I was wicked excited when, Leigh of Lemon Tartlet, picked Gooey Chocolate Cakes as this week’s TWD recipe. I live in a hole, so I have never had molten lava cake. I know, I know. Im a cave person. But, as per usual, I waited till the last minute. Meaning, this morning. I had good intentions of making them yesterday, but then it ended up being 66 degrees and beautiful in the ‘burgh. I had to take my monkeys outside to get some fresh air. (Its also Cupcake Hero testing time, so Im not really slacking off kids.) Before I knew it, Jaos was home, dinner was over and the Pens were on. (We lost and did not yet clinch the division title, in case you were wondering.) The recipe was easy as can be. I chose to make minis, which are easier for the boys to eat. However, I was trying to be super Mom. Cleaning the kitchen, watching the baby, and make gooey cakes at the same time. I overcooked the cakes. 8 min was just too long. Its ok though. It keeps me in my place. I am not super Mom. Its good to keep my ego in check. Along with over cooking them, I didnt like the chocolate I used. I was unsure about it going into it, but did it anyway. They are tasty little cakes. Consistency of a soft brownie, and will make a great topping for ice cream tonight, if I chop them up.

Please check out the rest of the 100+ Gooey Chocolate Cakes from the TWD blogroll. I have checked out a few, and there are some very ooey, gooey ones out there. Great job ladies and gents! Thanks to Leigh for picking an uber chocolatey recipe. Next week, Lemon Tart, or Orange Cream, pick your poison.πŸ˜‰

27 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Gooey Chocolate Cakes

  1. Awww, the little ones are so cute! And the overcooking … I think you’ve stumbled on a way to make them a little less messy and nephew-safe. Mwaaahaha.

  2. Ps I love it when people say “wicked”. Being from TX and living in CA now it’s a rarity and makes me giggle.I guess other people feel the same way about ya’ll.:)

  3. They look lovely regardless and I love your idea for the leftovers! I think your cakes look fabulous! Mine were more fudgy than gooey, but they did taste delicious, especially with a drizzle of muscovado toffee sauce and some clotted cream!!

  4. The mini’s are so cute! And who are you kidding? Of course you’re super mom! 3 little ones, CH, and TWD! You’re a trailblazer womanπŸ˜‰

  5. The whole supermom thing is highly overrated. What they’ll remember is not how you made the perfect gooey cakes, but THAT you made them gooey cakes. And engaged them in the process. So see… you DO rock. Great job with this week’s project.

  6. From one super-mum to another…! Just think of all the little things we do everyday without even realising! We are all amazing…and we even manage to bake! Lovely cakes!

  7. Great idea of chopping them up for ice cream! I bet your kids will love that! Great job and thanks for taking such wonderful care of your Dorie babies!

  8. I bow down to anyone even attempting the supermom thing – I don’t even have a cat, let alone kids! I baked my minis for ~7 minutes and they turned out pretty well; you might want to take another minute off for gooey, but I was worried they wouldn’t come out of the pan that way. Yours look amazing!

  9. Hey Laurie

    Thanks for stopping by the other day. I strongly suggest you try her Banana Cake, it rocks. I made one slight alteration though, I added the zest of one lemon to the batter. I love zest, and for me the addition in this recipe was out of this world. AND these cupcakes look divine. I can’t wait to officially participate next week!. Thanks again………..Mark

Leave a Reply

