Marshmallow: Cupcake Hero Style

Standard

Well ladies (Id like to say ‘and gents’ but we have no gents. All ladies), this was the biggest month yet for Cupcake Hero. 52 entries. FIFTY-TWO! I feel like the Hero is taking over the world at this point.😉

It was a difficult month to judge as well. That is the reason I am so late with posting the round-up. (Well, that and I have had some medical stuff going on thats occupying my mind. I apologize for being later on this RU.) We just could not decide on a winner. I thought we may have to pick a name out of a hat, or pick a name out of a KA, Clara style. At the very last second, we finally reached an agreement. Thank the cupcake lords.

We had quite a lot of similar cupcakes this month. More S’mores, Rocky Road and Peanut Butter-Fluff cupcake recipes than anyone shall ever need. Seriously. I kid you not.

Let the marshmallow madness begin…

Alanna of Artists in the Kitchen baked Almond Butter Cupcakes. Swapping out PB for almond butter she found at Trader Joes for these super sweet cakes, I think they look ooey gooey good. Thanks Alanna!

Allison of Cinnamon Love made Honeyed Fluffer Nutter Cupcakes. Combining her favorite combos of honey and peanut butter, along with peanut butter and marshmallow into a masterpiece of sweetness. They look oh so sweet. Thanks Allison!

April of Abby Sweets chose her sons favorite cake for this months Hero. Rocky Road Cupcakes. I think her son is one smart kid. Look at them. Who wouldn’t want them for every single birthday? Thanks April!

Ashley of One Imaginary Girl baked up Ooey Gooey Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes. They look uber good. I adore zucchini bread in the summer! Thanks Ashley!

Ayanna of Adventures in Cupcaking baked Vanilla Rice Crispy Cupcakes. These may make it onto the list for preschool treats. I always need creative things to take for snack. We often take rice krispy treats, so why not rice krispy cupcakes? Thanks Ayanna!

Cara of The Picky Apple made Smurtle Cupcakes. This one uses a lot of my favorite dessert flavors. Chocolate devil’s food cake stuffed with marshmallow fluff and topped with chocolate ganache, drizzled with dulce de leche, praline pecans, a toasted marshmallow pretzel stick and a chocolate dipped graham cracker. Loved it the instant I saw it. Holy yum! Thanks Cara!

Carla of Chocolate Moosey made Baked Alaska-ettes. Good thing I adored these before watching Into the Wild this weekend. Whew, that movie was so sad. But, these beauts look awesome! Thanks Carla!

Cassie of How To Eat A Cupcake baked Rocky Road Cupcakes. Look at that frosting, all the chunky-goodness in there. My boys would lick the frosting right off and leave the cake. And that means the cake is mine, right? Thanks Cassie!

Clara of I Heart Cuppycakes baked Chocolate Carrot Cupcakes with Marshmallow Cream Cheese Frosting. She wanted to bake all the things she loved about Easter into one cupcake. Very…interesting Clara. Dare I say, this maaay be our Quirkiest Cupcake of the Month. Grats to ya and thanks!

Dana of Dulcedo baked Orange Cream (Creamsicle) Cupcakes. Im wondering if she knows Jaos adores Creamsicles or if this was just a fluke. Jaos would totally be all about these babies. They look heavenly Dana! Thanks so much!

Donna of Spatulas, Corkscrews and Suitcases baked Coconut Marshmallow Brownie Cupcakes. She calls this entry a hybrid, I call it damn tasty. I am a sucker for brownies. I often make them late at night when the sweet tooth kicks in. Easy to make and hella good. Thanks Donna!

Gigi of gigi cakes made S’mores Cupcakes. These cupcakes had me at hello. One look and I was all in baby. Look at that cake. I can taste the graham crackery goodness just looking at it. Thank you Gigi!

Gretchen of Canela & Comino made Hot Cocoa Cupcakes. My son Liam was all about these cupcakes. He begs for hot chocolate every time he comes in from the snow. He also loves chocolate cupcakes. These are a 5 year old’s dream cupcake. Thanks Gretchen!

Holly of pheMOMenon baked Miss Mud Brownie Cupcakes. With homemade marshmallow cream, dark chocolate ganache and praline crumbles. Good lord! Praline crumbles! Oh, how that makes me miss Market Street in Charleston. Thanks so much Holly!

Ivy of Emerging of the Bombshell Within baked Kirby Cupcakes. She used Super Smash Bros. Brawl on wii as her inspiration. Extremely creative Ivy! I’d really like to see some old school Mario Bros. while you’re at it. That was always MY game. Thanks Ivy!

Jen of Beantown Baker made Mini S’more Cupcakes. I totally love these. She uses the cupcake just like you would a graham cracker and smushes the toasted marshmallow and chocolate inside. Brilliant Jen! I am making these on vaca this summer. Thanks!

Jennie of Mind and Body Treats made Butterscotch Marshmallow Cupcakes. She made these because her kids love butterscotch marshmallow bars. Smart kids, and I totally want that recipe Jennie! Thanks so much!

Kat from The Kitchen Ninja made Hot Chocolate Cupcakes. She melded a favorite brownie recipe with a standard sour cream cupcake, and says the outcome was delicious. No doubt there! Thanks Kat!

Kat from The Kitchen Ninja could not help herself. She made 2 cupcakes in the name of Cupcake Hero. This one is a S’mores Cupcake. I love the chocolate chips on top. So cute! Double thanks Kat!

Katie of The Clean Plate Club baked Raspberry Cupcakes with Lemon Marshmallow Frosting. I adore raspberries, they have always been my fav fruit, and I love lemon too. This is a match made in heaven for me. These would be adorable for a tea party. Oh yeah, I have all boys. No tea parties for me. Thanks Katie!

Katie of Sweetie Pie baked Marshmallow filled Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting. If you’re a regular to my blog, you know how I feel about bananas. We always have some hanging around, begging to be used. My poor bananas now have a lot more recipe options. They look awesome Katie, thanks!

Katie of KBK Bakery baked Marshmallow Mermaid Cupcakes. Her inspiration came from the movie Waitress. Which, I have not seen yet. Sorry Katie! I love Keri Russell, it just hasn’t come in netflix yet. Anyway, this is a Key Lime Cupcake with Marshmallow Frosting. That sounds hella good! Thanks so much Katie!

Katie from KBK Bakery is our 2nd over achiever of the month. Her 2nd entry is a S’mores Cupcake. Love how toasted the marshmallow is on top. I like mine good and crunchy. Double thanks to you too Katie!

Kay of Kitchen Jouissance baked a Sweet Potato Cupcake with Marshmallow Cream Filling. Oh my, they could be a total new sidedish at Thanksgiving. I mean it. Screw the sweet potato casserole. Im making cupcakes from now on. Thanks Kay!

Kitty of Boring History Girl baked Chocolate Marshmallow Cupcakes. I totally dig the pink frosting on top. I dont know what it is about pink frosting, but it makes the cupcake taste better. It has super powers. I swear it. Thanks Kitty!

Liz of Food Snobbery is My Hobbery baked Rice CrispyCakes. They are ooey gooey melted rice crispy treat centers inside of gluten free cupcakes. Wow! Very creative. Love me some crispy treats too. Thanks Liz!

Lori of C is 4 Cupcake baked Sweet Potato Cupcakes with Marshmallow Filling and Maple Brown Sugar Frosting. These sound wickedly sweet. Sweet is always good. I love the Precious Moments too. My Mom collects them. So, they make me think of her. Thanks Lori!

Lorraine of Not Quite Nigella baked White Chocolate Rocky Road Cupcakes. They are absolutely gorgeous! So pretty. Would be perfect for a little girls birthday party. Once again, all boys. No pink cupcakes for me. But oh how I wish I had a reason to make them! Thanks Lorraine!

Luki of Sinfully Sweet Confections baked Rocky Road Cupcake Cones. These have my boys written all over them. Cupcakes with a nice handy holder. Perfect! Luki, you are one wicked smart gal. I love them. Thanks Luki!

Luki from Sinfully Sweet Confections, is another CH cult member who is a total over achiever. Her 2nd entry is a take off the classic SnoBall, a SnoBall Cupcake. Again, with the pink! You guys are making my ovaries ache! But I do so love these cupcakes. Coconut, Marshmallow and pink, pink, pink!!! Thanks so much Luki!

Marija of palachinka made Hibiscus Marshmallow Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting. I love the quirk value on these “cupcakes”. They are really just marshmallows with frosting. Hells yeah! Who needs the cake! Thanks Marija!

Mary of Shazam in the Kitchen baked Bitter Caramel and Marshmallow Cupcakes. Mary notes in her post about these cupcakes that her sister’s first word was ‘Marshmallow’. Which I find totally impressive. My first 2 boys said ‘ball’ as their first word. The baby said ‘wow’. Marshmallow blows ball and wow out of the park! And the cupcakes are equally impressive too. Thanks Mary!

Michelle of Clever Cupcakes baked Sweet Potato Pie Cupcakes. Michelle flew by the seat of her pants on this one, since she has never had sweet potatoes and marshmallows together. She says these are possibly the most moist cupcakes she has ever made. Thats quite the endorsement! Thanks Michelle!

Natalie of Bake and Destroy baked Cakespy Smores Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting. These quite possibly are the cutest cupcakes ever. Im not sure I could eat them even. Too f’n cute! Thanks Natalie!

Nikkie of Crazy Delicious baked Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Pudding Filling and Marshmallow Frosting. Good god, thats sin in a very small package. Pudding inside a cupcake is genius. That’s right, I said your a genius Nikki, go forth and rub it in CB’s face. (Love you CB) LOL Thanks Nikki!

Nina of Love Sweet Love baked Rocky Road Cupcakes…Nina style. These super sweet cupcakes have walnuts, pretzels, chocolate chips and marshmallows. Oh yeah… they are wicked good. Thanks Nina, you have great style!

Piglet from Pigs in Pajamas baked Cowtale Cupcakes. My brother Drew ate Cow Tales when we were kids like they were going out of style. His birthday is coming up and I am tempted to make these for him. If I am able to see him for his birthday, its on baby! Thanks Piglet!

PrissyCook baked Old Fashioned Fruit Salad Cupcakes. Perfect for a brunch or summer party, I love how light and refreshing they are, just like fruit salad. Thanks PrissyCook!

Rachel of Tangerine Tart baked S’mores Cupcakes. Complete with the hershey’s bar on top, these s’mores look perfect! As Rachel says “messy, sticky, and yummy!” Thanks Rachel!

Ritsumei of Baby Steps baked Melting Snowman Cupcakes. Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Dirty Snow Frosting and a melting snowman on top. Very creative! Thanks Ritsumei!

Sihan of Fundamentally Flawed baked Blueberry Yogurt Cupcakes with Seven Minute Marshmallow Frosting. I am all for any kind of cupcakes I can pretend are okay for breakfast. I think these fit the bill. Thanks Sihan!

Siobhan of “Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon” baked Happy Easter Peep Cupcakes. While they look innocent, the poor Peep was baked inside the cake. He did not fare well on his journey, but I know he left behind some tasty goodness. Love me some Peeps. Thanks Siobhan!

Stephanie of Steph Chows baked Smore Cupcake Flambe. Its a chocolate cupcake with a layer of graham cracker crumbs, mini marshmallows, that is then covered in melted marshmallows and torched to a nice crisp then covered in chocolate chips and more graham crumbles. Yup, I think thats a Smore! A tasty one at that. Thanks Stephanie!

Suzy of Feeds an Obsession baked Thanksgiving Throwback Cupcakes. These cute cupcakes are a Pumpkin Cupcake with a Toasted Marshmallow Frosting. There are so many recipes I want to try for fall now! Thanks Suzy!

Tammy of Wee Treats by Tammy baked Rose Scented Marshmallow Cupcakes. Tammy states that these are her favorite cupcakes yet. Which is saying something! She has made some totally awesome and delicious cupcakes. She says “They honestly taste like eating rose scented clouds!!!” These are gorgeous as well. Thanks Tammy!

Tanya baked up Fluffernutter and Banana Cupcakes. Its a Banana Cupcake topped with Peanut Butter AND Marshmallow Frosting. She says her husband, who is a picky eater, gave her the seal of approval. I have a house of picky eaters, I can relate! Thanks Tanya!

Teri of The 90/10 Rule baked Fluffer Nanner Nutters. Great minds think a like. And this is no exception. There are differences though. Teri made Banana Cake, filled it with Peanut Butter and Marshmallow and then topped it with Brown Sugar Meringue Frosting. You guys are totally putting me into a sugar coma this month. Thanks Teri!

Tina of Wycked Sweet Designs baked Rocky Road Cupcakes. These cupcakes have Chopped Pecans, Chocolate Chunks, Marshmallows and Marshmallow Frosting. Sweet fancy Moses they sound awesome. Thanks Tina!

Wendy of The Cupcakery baked The Ultimate Rocky Road Cupcakes. They are a Chocolate Cupcake, with Caramel Frosting and topped with Pecans, Marshmallows and Chocolate Chips. Ultimate indeed. Thanks Wendy!

Alex and Alanna of Two Fat Als baked Lucky Muffins. They assure me that they are really cupcakes, they just call everything muffins. No need to justify it to me. We take all kinds here. I also loooove this idea. Lucky Charms has been my favorite cereal forever. Thanks Alex and Alanna!

Leigh of Lemon Tartlet baked up Cherry Coke Marshmallow Cupcakes. What can I say, I love cherries, I was a coke addict and marshmallows are always good. Leigh is so bright she brought all these flavors together. The flavor combo is killer. I loved them. Thanks Leigh!

Chelle of Sugar & Spice baked Ambrosia Cupcakes. “These cupcakes are made with a base of fruit cocktail cake, then freshly whipped cream is piped into the centers (you’ll see that I didn’t quite pipe deep enough), topped with a marshmallow creme frosting, sprinkled with coconut, and, just for good measure, topped with a cherry.”

Chelle and I have something in common here. She says her Grandma used to make Ambrosia Salad around holidays. Mine did as well. It was a staple at Kennedy family gatherings. Maybe I fell in love with this recipe as soon as I saw it. Maybe my sentimentality kicked in. However, this cupcake backs up all that. Its such a creative idea, and it tastes fantastic. It has the Ambrosia flavor, but in a cupcake. The cake is so super moist too. Its a perfect adaptation.

So, I say to you, Chelle, You are THE Cupcake Hero!

Thank you, thank you, thank you for such an awesome cupcake recipe. I am going to bake these for the next Kennedy family gathering. I think it will remind everyone of the old times, when my Grandmother was till able to cook and entertain.

Thank you to everyone who baked for Cupcake Hero this month. This was the biggest month ever, and I couldn’t do it without all of you. I love you guys for continuing to keep this event going. MUAH!

Tomorrow, I announce the NEW theme for April. We have some surprises up our sleeves. Yes, I know I already announced the theme for April, but there has been a change in plans kids.😛

Extra special thanks to TW, Joy and LT, my Cupcake Hero Staff. LT is going to come on board as a CH Staff Writer to help me write these round-ups. Thanks so much in advance LT. And TW and Joy, you guys rock for baking your brains out. Couldn’t do it without yas! xoxo

* If I forgot anyone, please email me ASAP and I will make sure to get you in the mix. I am pretty sure I have everyone accounted for, but just in case….

26 thoughts on “Marshmallow: Cupcake Hero Style

  1. Yay! Thanks for the roundup hotstuff. I can’t believe how many entries there were. I thought my kitchen was going to turn into a giant sticky marshmallow. Kudos to everyone for playing along. Can’t wait for this next month’s theme. Cause, uhm, I’m in the know. nanee nannee booboo

  2. Bake & Destroy

    Yum, they all look amazing! I have a batch of homemade vegan marshmallows setting up on my counter as I type this.

  3. wonderful round up!! been anticipating this one.. everything looks so yummilicious. Congrats Chelle!

    and guys (cupcake hero crew), pray tell us the secret ingredient for this month!!!

  4. congrats Chelle!

    i thought i was being so original this month and their ended up being at least three other similar entries, ha!

    looking forward to hearing the new ingredient for april🙂

  5. Wow, no wonder they call Ambrosia the food of the Gods. Way to go Chelle! Thanks for a great round up to Laurie and for a great event. Such fun! You gals all rock!!

  6. I’ll bet you were all marshmallowed out after making so many cucakes!
    Thanks for all your hard and tasty work!
    Congratulations Chelle! Those are some mighty nice cupcakes.

  7. What a creative roundup! There’s combinations here that I don’t think I could have thought up myself and yet they look so delicious! Congrats Chelle!

  8. I’m sorry I couldn’t particpate with Marshmallow Hero but I will hopefully be in the April Hero.
    Look forward to the unveiling of the ingredient

  9. I’m totally bummed I missed out on this month’s challenge as marshmallows are one of my favorite food groups. All the cupcakes look amazing! Congrats Chelle!

Leave a Reply

