Tuesdays with Dorie: Marshmallows

Standard

This weeks recipe comes to us from Judy of Judy’s Gross Eats. She chose marshmallows which is one of the recipes I had been wanting to try. That picture kept sticking out to be when I flipped through Baking. Now, I finally had a reason to try them.

The recipe was pretty straight forward. I had no problems or issues. I thought that upon adding the chocolate, the mallows deflated some, but they still set up just fine. Albeit, a little on the thin side. My son Liam adored them. He would have eaten the whole lot if I had not take them away. And then out of sight, out of mind, I forgot to take pictures of them. So, with the marshmallows being 5 days old, and a tad on the crunchy side, I made an afternoon snack for Liam. Saltines, peanut butter and the marshmallows. I nuked them for a few seconds to warm them up. Liam loved his snack, and I have to admit, it was pretty damn tasty. The pictures leaving something to be desired, but ya know, ya win some, ya lose some.

Thanks to Judy for picking such an awesome recipe. Judy has the actual recipe posted there too. And please check out the gazillion other marshmallow treats from the Tuesdays with Dorie blogroll.

24 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Marshmallows

  1. I’m totally impressed that you managed to get the marshmallows made so early! I made the chocolate ones, too, and mine were also a bit thinner than I would have liked. Still very yummy, though. What is it with kids and marshmallows? My girls would have finished them off the first day if I had let them. =)

  2. Mmmm…I think they look mighty tasty, day five and all. I am going to try this with Aidan cause I’m pretty sure your snack for Liam is going to make me a hero. Nice going Mom!

  3. Saltines with marshmallows? I haven’t had that before, but I’ll have to try that. The snack that you prepared for your son looks scrumptious! What a lucky kid!

  4. badhuman

    Homemade marshmallows are so amazing. This past Christmas my fiance and I used Martha Stewart’s recipe to send marshmallows in care packages. Making them killed (it was smoking I kid you not) hand mixer but it was well worth it. Now we have a kitchenaid and it’s more then up to the task.

Leave a Reply

