Tuesdays with Dorie: Bill’s Big Carrot Cake

Standard

This weeks TWD is brought to us by Amanda of slow like honey. I was stoked about this one. I love carrot cake and I have never made one from scratch. Its one of the few cakes that I normally buy. Jaos was happy too, because it is one of his favorites. I decided to make 12 cupcakes and 1 9 inch layer instead of 3 layers. For the add-ins, I used chopped pecans, raisins and orange craisins. Everything went extremely well. I was a tad concerned when mixing in the carrot because it looked like such a huge amount of orange. Seemed like the cake batter was being taken over. The poor cake batter was losing the King of the Mountain battle. However, I had faith it would be ok. They baked in about 25 minutes, and had just the slightest dip in the center. It sounds like this was a common problem. I figured the frosting would cover it up anyhow.

When slightly cool, Jaos and I both grabbed one. We always taste the cake sans frosting. After eating the cake alone, it needed no frosting. I know, I know… no frosting?!? This cake was perfect as is. Moist, chunky, earthy cinnamon flavor… and with all the carrot it contained, it was probably one of the more healthy cupcakes I have made in a while. I kept telling myself I would frost a few for pictures at least. In the end, I just didn’t think the cake needed it. You can throw your spatulas at me if you want. But, thats my story and I am sticking to it.

Thanks Amanda for choosing such an awesome recipe. You can check out the recipe at slow like honey. Its a keeper for sure. Please go gander at the TWD blogroll. The oh so fab TWD bakers have made some absolutely gorgeous carrot cakes. You must see them.

28 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Bill’s Big Carrot Cake

  1. I have to agree…towards the end of my cake, I started picking off the frosting. I think a lot of us had a problem with a slight dip in the middle; I’m terribly curious as to the reason why.

  2. No frosting?! That was the best part! Okay, well maybe everything was the best part, but the lemon was really good in the frosting. Glad you liked your first venture into homemade carrot cake so much!

  3. Laurie, it’s your party and you can go without frosting if you want to!

    After piling through every carrot cake post on the TWD blogroll, I feel that I didn’t eat enough of this cake. I don’t think the 6-inch I stashed in the freezer very long. I’ll be having mine with frosting though, but I’m funny that way.😉

  4. As a frosting junkie, I have to admit that’s daring to leave the frosting off. But really sometimes all you need is the cake part. I’m a big fan of carrot cake and now I think I’ll have to try this one!

  5. i’m sure it was delicious w/o frosting… BUT… i equate it to me liking margarine when i was little because my mom never gave me butter😉 hehe, ok, so that’s kind of a stretch. you can just sit there laughing as the frosting goes right to my waistline.

  6. I’m glad everyone in your house loved these! You are a strong woman for ditching the cream cheese frosting! I would have eaten it straight from the bowl😉

  7. Erin

    No frosting?!! I’m glad you liked it and I hope it cheered you up. Your are amazing and I can’t believe how much you do!

  8. I’ve been dying to see what everyone thought of these~ I heart me some Dorie but I did not heart this recipe. Had the same problem with the rising. I dig you on the earthy cinnamon flavor. I’m a sucker for more spice in my carrot cake though. And consider the spatula thrown, traitor.

  9. No frosting? hahaha! I had the first one of mine no frosting too. I thought they were excellent without it. Yours are looking mighty tasty right now. Sure wish I had some more to eat!

  10. Yours look good, and I agree – the recipe was great as-is. I figured the frosting was just to glue the layers together. HA. I think the frosting was also great without the cake!

  11. You are so right! I think with a few adjustments this could be a regular breakfast treat (sans frosting) at my house. I did some adjustments to the cake batter to make it healthier and it was still so delicious.

  12. Mine sunk *far* worse than yours did, but I agree with you and Jaos… these babies don’t need no stinkin’ frosting. And I had one with yogurt a couple of days this week for breakfast.

  13. i know, it’s rare to find something that doesn’t need frosting right? but this was good either way… loved the frosting. great job w/the muffins!

Leave a Reply

