Saturday Confessional..

Standard

I despise the term “playdate”.

When I was a kid, we just played with kids. My parents would toss us outside and we would have to find something to do. Usually, we played with the kids who’s parents tossed them outside. Other times, the phone would ring, and a little voice would say, “Do you want to come over and play?” Your parent would drop you off, and you hoped they would come back in a couple hours. Nowadays, there is no tossing your kids outside, for fear of who is lurking out there. I never let my kids go out alone. Ever. I would never ever drop my child\ren off with someone I do not know well, either. Because frankly, we live in a world where you just don’t know. Therefore, all play time is scheduled with another child, children or family. Most are scheduled at least a week in advance. Drink and snack are normally provided. Constant entertainment is provides as well. This new method seems so… high-strung to me. So… sterile.

I like getting together with other Moms, don’t misunderstand. I wish I did it more in fact. I often feel isolated being a stay-at-home Mom. 95% of my time is spent interacting with children ages 5 and under. It can get quite lonely. Enough of that nonsense, back to the “playdates”. I generally like to have “playdates” at the park. I give them water, or juice from a sippy cup. Let them run wild, and then bring ’em home. Easy peasy.

I miss the old days when kids just played.

12 thoughts on “Saturday Confessional..

  1. You know, I don’t even have any kiddos, but I hate that term. And it sucks that you can’t trust the world these days. I was just talking to my friend about how we used to ride our bikes everywhere for hours when we were kids. Now, it is just too dangerous. Sad thing…

  2. I miss the old days too. I remember we played in the street with the other neighbourhood kids until someone’s mum called out that is was dinner time. We never thought twice about just wondering over to someone’s house to play. Nowadays I would never let my kids play outside alone, it’s a sad fact of life.

  3. Tanya

    I don’t have any children either, but I remember when I was a kid, me and my brother would just go out in the neighborhood and meet all the other kids randomly. We’d stay out all day and a lot of times, my dad would have to walk outside the house and yell our names real loud and we’d come running back in as it started getting dark.

  4. So true! I’m done with playdates. My kids will turn 6 this summer and have no problems dropping them off at a friend’s house, provided I know the mom. And I’m so tired of inviting their little friends over and having to entertain the mom. If friends are over I want a break!

  5. I miss those days too. We used to live way out in the boonies. I would toss the chips outside for hours and hours. They wouldn’t come in till supper time.

    Now that we are in town, even though the chips are older, I won’t let my girl (15) go anywhere without someone with her.

  6. Well said. I have a toddler and resist using that term at all costs. I do agree that this shift is partly due to the fact that you can’t just let your kids “go out and play” anymore. It’s sad, but true. ::sigh::

  7. I’m only 21 and even though my mum was pretty protective we were still allowed to play in the street with other kids, walk to the corner store to get lollies and ride our bikes to friends houses. I have an 8 month old and I don’t think I will be so keen on letting him do any of those things when he is older. It really does suck that there are so many freaks out there. I’d like to put their nuts through a mincer.

    I know what you mean about being lonely. I get to spend all my time with somebody who can’t even talk yet. hah! It’s crazy.

  8. Ha! Proof I’m not the only one. I hate it too! It always makes me feel stressed out. I feel like we’ve reverted back to Victorian restrictions in some ways – seriously – what’s next, sending a calling card as an invitation. I grew up same as you, but like you, there is NO way I would let my kids go somewhere unless I knew the people very well. Even then, you never know these days. It is hard though because it does get lonely. This is definately NOT a safe world.

  9. I hate to break it to you, but it really isn’t more dangerous today than it was back in our day. Really. DH and I found a neighborhood where kids were out playing – and not under constant supervision – because we find this current overprotective nonsense, just that, nonsense. And, we both have a lot of cops in our families so it isn’t like we don’t know the real dangers.

    Most of the dangers are made up by the media. If you check the NCMEC, you will find only 3% of all kidnappings occur from strangers. Most are parental kidnappings from divorce – all relative kidnappings fall into this category. The rest are runaways. I just hate that the media has made everyone so friggin’ scared.

Leave a Reply

