Tuesdays with Dorie: Pecan Honey Sticky Buns

Standard

This week’s recipe selection for TWD comes from Madam Chow of Madam Chow’s Kitchen. I was excited and apprehensive at the same time. I knew these rolls were going to be ooey gooey good. However, whipping up the brioche is rough here. It’s not hard really. But, you have to think about it often until its good and set in the fridge. Thinking about anything for several hours in my house is the struggle. The 3 boys in my house could care less that I have brioche that needs tending to. They just want me to find the remote control for the alien thing… and find Woody’s hat…and find that Nuk that the baby has probably thrown behind the TV…again…I knew the end result would make up for the time needed to get the brioche made. So I forged ahead

The brioche came together just as I knew it should. I had made this dough before for the Raisin Snails and Easter Candy Babka a while back. I was happy when it looked as it should, and walked away to let it rise for the first time. I set the timer for 40 min and off I went.

40 minutes later, I checked the yeasty smelling goodness. Nothing…It had not risen at all. I mean not a budge. Okay, plan B. I turned the oven on for a second and then back off. Warming it up just slightly. Maybe my kitchen was too cold, the slightly warm oven would do the trick. Okay, so into the oven the dough went..I set the time for another 40 min. And off I went again.

Another 40 minutes later, I opened the oven and nothing… To say that I was starting to panic is an understatement. I was in full-on panic mode. What to do, what to do. Obviously, my yeast was either dead, or the water I mixed it with was not warm enough. I know it was not too warm because it was barely warm to the touch. I’m thinking it was dead. I decided that this dough would have to be used for something else. But what? Good question. A quick email to Dorie asking what I could possible use this dough for. Then, off to the store I went. I needed new yeast AND more butter.

I came back from the store, and opened the oven in order to freeze the dead dough. But wait! The dough HAD doubled! IT HAD DOUBLED! Yes, it took 3 hours, but it did indeed double! Thank the Pastry Gods! I emailed Dorie back telling her that the dough had finally doubled. Her reply made me smile, Clearly, a lesson in patienceJ Great – I’m glad the dough is behaving itself. I have been told many a time I need more patience. I will no longer rush my dough. Well that, and I will make sure I have fresh yeast from now on, too.

The dough sat in the fridge over night, and then first thing this morning, I cooked the topping. I decided on pecans for half. The other half walnut, and then one row with walnuts and raisins. I love my sticky buns with walnuts and raisins. I rolled out the dough and gently sliced it, and put the rolls into the pan. Into the slightly warm oven it went to rise. In exactly 1 hour and 35 minutes, it had doubled. Woot! I baked them up. The smell that overcame my house is my absolute favorite. Nothing like a yeasty treat wafting through our house.

These buns are heavenly..just like I knew they would be. The brioche is worth all the time that is spent tending to it. I wish I could have these buns every morning for breakfast, seriously, I do. My butt and thighs are grateful that will never happen however.

Thanks to Madam Chow for picking such an ooey gooey treat, we all loved them. You can get the recipe from Madam Chow’s blog. Please check out the other butter laden sticky buns from the Tuesdays with Dorie Baker list.

53 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Pecan Honey Sticky Buns

  1. I’m glad they ended up turning out well. They look incredible. Yeast is a funny thing, sometimes it just wants to be left alone for a long, long time. It’s rarely ever dead though, they’re mighty strong beasts, they are.

  2. Just love the combination of three varieties. (My first rise dough was very cooperative but the rise that was supposed to happen in the baking pan was not so good – it seems to have a will of its own.)

    Beautiful Pecan Buns!

  3. Having only just gotten over my fear of yeast last year, I still start out with a bit of trepidation when dealing with yeasted bread recipes. I can totally commiserate with your panic attack, but thank goodness that you didn’t have to start over after all! I like your alternating rows of nuts and raisins, it looks great and it’s a wonderful idea!

  4. I’ve missed so much – loved your earth day cupcake round up!
    …and this, sticky, nutty yummyness – not good – my arteries furred just looking at the pics! Hope you’re well!! x

  5. I love all the different toppings. I’ll have to try these with raisins, either on top or inside. Yum. =) I’m glad that the dough turned out okay, even if it took longer than you expected. Oh, and I totally hear you on the constant interruptions from the kids. You could be describing a scene in my house, except substituting girly toys. =)

  6. I am lovin’ the variety! I briefly thought of making mine with walnuts instead of pecans (because I really do just like walnuts best). Maybe next time, yours look wonderful! 🙂

  7. Ah, yes…trying to bake with little ones who have their own agendas! Glad to hear that your dough finally did what it was supposed to….and how cool that you can just email Dorie and she responds! Your Sticky Buns look great!

  8. Absolutely gorgeous buns! I’m glad the yeast finally got the kick in the pants it needed! The ones with raisins look divine. Great pictures too!

  9. What a edge-of-your-seat yeast story! 🙂 And the pictures – oh, they had me drooling. So glad things worked out and you didn’t have to re-make the dough – and I love the different toppings you used! What a cool picture that last one is!

  10. Wow, they look awesome- I love all the different kinds of toppings you used. And I’m so jealous that you’re friends with Dorie- nothing like asking the source when you need help!🙂 Great job!

  11. Yeast often likes to remind you that it is in control and you are not. It’s mean like that. That is why I always talk nicely to mine.🙂
    Wow, look at you getting advice from the baking guru herself!
    I love all the different toppings you went with.

  12. amanda

    I can’t believe you can just email Dorie! Craziness! She’s got to be the coolest person ever.

    Your buns look delicious. Great idea doing three varieties all at once!

  13. wow 3 hour rising…that’s a fairly long time to be patient hehee. mine did nothing for about 45 minutes then started puffing…i did the microwave tip someone posted about which was putting a cup of water in the micro for a minute to get it kind of humid and warm in there, then using that as your dough rising environment. it worked perfectly!!!

    they came out fab, i might have to unfreeze another 1/3 of the dough for this wkd…variations abound!

  14. I always have yeast panic attacks. Seriously every time I make something with yeast I doubt myself and beg and plead the pastry gods that it will work out. Silly… I know, but so true. These buns look ridiculously good. And the photos are kick ass too!

  15. Jan

    I went through the same experience, minus the panic. My dough didn’t rise, but I just couldn’t deal with brioche at that moment. I had houseguests, yada yada yada. All I have to say is that you are CRAZY. I have two little ones, always so damn needy, and I can’t get anything right. But you have perseverance, and I think you’re crazy. I just told myself that whatever happened to my brioche would be disguised with sugar and pecans. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

