Tuesdays with Dorie: Mini Eclairs and Cream Puffs

Standard

This week Caroline of A Consuming Passion chose Peppermint Cream Puff Ring as the TWD recipe of the week. However, I knew that peppermint would not go over well with the monkeys. I decided to go the mini eclair and cream puff route instead. The monkeys like to have their own personal desserts. When they get to pick exactly which one they want, even better. I knew right away, these would be prefect.

I had the added benefit of wait till the last possible minute. Well, okay maybe not the very last, last minute, I could have waited till Tuesday. (Which I have done many, many times now.) But, I did wait until Monday noontime, which let me read all the comments being made about the puff process. I decided to use some tips that were suggested. I let some of the steam beat out of the dough when I first put it into the mixer, before adding the eggs. I did use all 4 eggs.  And after my puffs were done, I turned the oven off and let them continue to sit in the oven for 10-15 minutes.

I went with vanilla and coffee pastry cream as the filling of choice. I love a 2fer, and I was able to make vanilla and halve it to make the coffee flavored cream. Both were very tasty, but I was partial to the coffee. Next time, I’d like to try a chocolate pastry cream filling.

I have to say, even though my sink was filled to the brim with dishes when I was done, I was extremely proud. I had never made my own cream puffs before. They turned out perfect. I ate more than I would like to say before I was even done with their photo shoot. One of my Grams fav desserts is mini eclairs, so I am stoked that I can make them for her now!

Thanks to Caroline for picking such a challenging recipe. I love learning a new baking skill. Please check out the TWD baker-roll for various different cream puff rings, eclairs and who knows what else.

* I had my camera on the wrong setting. I didnt realize this until I downloaded them. No natural light left for a good photo now. Better pictures next time, promise.

35 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Mini Eclairs and Cream Puffs

  1. They look, of course, lovely and delicious. I chuckled about the dishes as my son, age 15, looked at one little cream puff that I had put on a plate for a photo and said, “Mom, all those dishes for this ONE cream puff????” My sink was full, my counter was full, my stovetop had pans on it, the place was pretty much knee deep in cookware and all he saw was the one little cream puff I was photographing…LOL. I said, “Yes, do you think it was worth it?” He looked horrified until I told him to turn around and see the ring. We all breathed a sigh of relief.

  2. individuals all the way, love em!!! i thought your first photo was flowers all over your cream puffs, i was like wow how imaginative. OH it’s chocolate. DOH! way yummier than flowers.😉

  3. there is definitely something to be said for the small-portion practicality🙂 (including… you can generally eat more than one😉 ) they look great!

  4. These puffs look really delicious and the right size for a respectable cream puff. Sometimes I wait to read a lot of the P&Q advice as well – it is a great part of the TWD blog. Two really cute kids up there!

  5. Who would have thought that cream puffs would actually be a fairly easy dessert, in spite of the clean up factor? Your mini éclairs and cream puffs look perfect!

Leave a Reply

