Tuesdays with Dorie: Mixed Berry Cobbler

Standard

First off, this will be an all text review. I know, I know, how boring of me. I made the cobbler on Monday afternoon, but by the time it was cool, the natural light was gone. Then, there was yesterday. I left the house at 8am on my way to Children’s Hospital for Brody’s post-op appointment. I left with plenty of time to make it there 30 minutes early. What I didnt know, is that construction en route would hold me up 1 mile from the hospital for 45 minutes. And since we were late, they made us wait an hour and a half to be seen. Nice.

After we got home, it was preparations for Liam’s Birthday Playdate at the park. Cupcakes and all. (Which I bought…and have felt guilt ridden about since. What have I become when I buy the kids cupcakes?)

Then, last night, I had to go to a Pampered Chef party. Which was nice. $57, a stoneware bundt, silicone basting brush and a 2 oz scoop later, I was home. It was then 10pm, and light gone again.

So, this post is pictureless and boring, which does not do this cobbler justice. If I had any frozen fruit left, I would whip it up again. I absolutely adored it. Its such a warm homey dessert. I used peaches and raspberries, but followed the recipe to a T otherwise. It baked up in the amount of time stated. Smelled fabulous and came out perfect. I served it with a little whipped cream. Perfection!

I have to add that it kept too. I ate some last night and again this morning for breakfast with some vanilla yogurt. Holy YUM!

If you havent already, please check out the other Mixed Berry Cobblers on the TWD Bakers list. Thanks to Beth for choosing such a fab recipe. This will be my go-to cobbler from now on.

14 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Mixed Berry Cobbler

  1. Yeah, I wanted to do berries, but just ended up going with straight peach. I agree that it was delicious though. I didn’t really mess with the crust much either – just a bit of extra sugar. Really, really good.

    As for the store bought cupcakes – well, you are an uber busy mom who had to get a little help for once – can’t beat yourself up for that!

  2. Two weeks ago I had the same problem. I was busy and every time I had a moment to snap a photo the light was gone. Don’t worry it happens to all of us.🙂

  3. you’ve been busy! you should try the cobbler recipe linked in my blog, i really love it.

    oh, and you should just snap some photos next time – even if there’s no natural light left. i can’t tell you how many photos in my blog are taken in my kitchen, with just the overhead lighting!

  4. It didn’t happen if there are no pictures😉 Don’t you have a setting on your camera to adjust for artificial light?
    I loved the recipe too, wil make it again tonight with home made vanilla (with a drop of bourbon) ice cream.

  5. Pictureless does not mean boring… your raspberry peach combination *sounds* yummy! Glad you made it through a hectic day. And trust me with the wonderful things that regularly emerge from your oven the kids won’t remember an occasional purchased cupcake.🙂

Leave a Reply

