Tuesdays with Dorie: Cherry Nectarine Cobbler

Standard

Yeah, thats right. Cherry Nectarine Cobbler. I have never been a fan of rhubarb, which was supposed to accompany the cherries in this dessert. And I had wanted to go the apple route. However, the granny smiths at the store didnt look so great, unless you bought them in bulk, which I did not care to do. The nectarines were already in my cart for next week’s TWD recipe, so I thought, what the hell? Lets give it a go.

Surprisingly, cherries and nectarines go very well together. This cobbler is easy as can be to whip up. We loved the cobbler part, too. Infact I liked it waaaaay better than the cobbler part of the berry cobbler we did a couple weeks ago. The only ‘issue’ was that the nectarines gave off a lot of juice, I should have added a tad more cornstarch to thicken it up. It didnt really make a difference to us though, I used the syrupy liquid to spoon over vanilla ice cream. Holy Yum!

This is a keeper for us. I love cobbler, we both do, and this one made me feel better about eating it. Whole wheat flour and fruit. Its at least a little healthy, right?😉

Thanks to Amanda of Like Sprinkles on a Cupcake for picking this super sweet and simple recipe. Check out the rest of our baking cult on the TWD Baker list.

27 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Cherry Nectarine Cobbler

  1. I’m a firm believer that the whole wheat in the topping offsets the ice cream completely! =) Nectarines sound delicious in this.

  2. OMG that looks so tasty… it’s totally not snack time yet and I want to go chow… Ok I’m a little late in response to your blog name change… but the marketing person in me says don’t’ do it!! You have such a strong brand! changing it will weaken your brand! Although… if you do change it to I hate people… you may not really want people to be finding you…😀 PS I tagged you… I know you’ll probably hate me now… so feel free to ignore me… I do tend to ramble on a bit… hahahaha😀

  3. Nectarines….interesting….may be something I have to play with. Ah, when you add the ice cream into the mix, you have introduced calcium! It is a health food!🙂

  4. Looks great! I used nectarines for the galette (already made it, I loved knowing in advance since I’ll be out of town!) and they were super juicy but delicious!

    Nice job Laurie!

  5. One of my favorite summer breakfasts is a bowl of cherries and nectarines, I bet they bake up wonderfully together. What a great idea, spooning the juice over ice cream. Very nice.

  6. Glad you liked it! Mine didn’t turn out nearly as good as yours, but after looking at everyone’s posts today I feel really compelled to try it again.

  7. Mmmmm I love the idea for nectarines! I used peaches in mine… they really go well the cherries as well!

    Great picture up on the TWD site! I love it!

  8. Yeahhh someone else used Nectarines. Mine did not produce so much juice so maybe it would depend on how ripe they are? I really liked how they tasted with the cherries as well and the topping was just awesome. I really like your photos and look forward to your post next week!

  9. Yummm, your cobbler looks great!
    I loved how you added Nectarines instead of rhubarb…I’ve never tasted rhubarb before this recipe, and it wasn’t too bad…but i’m sure using the nectarines turned out great!
    Good job!…and i love your pictures!❤

Leave a Reply

