Cupcake Hero: August

Standard

While I am still on Cupcake Hero hiatus, we have 2 very cool hosts for the month. Rachel of Tangerine Tart and Teri of the 90/10 rule. I am always super excited to see what other people will chose as the theme. To say that I raised an eyebrow when I read the email with their choice would be completely accurate. I seriously thought, huh?? However, the Hero isnt meant to be easy. I give you the theme ingredient for August…

The Ingredient for August is: Jalapeno

So here’s the deal–

*You must incorporate jalapeños in your entry.
*You may use jalapeños in any form.
*Sweet cupcakes only, no savory. (sorry, Bacon-Cheddar-Jalapeño-Salsa-Cornbread variations)

Email your entries to both Rachel and Teri by August 31 before midnight EST.

Teri — ninet10 at gmail dot com
Rachel –> inluv4life at gmail dot com

Please include ALL of the following:

1. Name
2. Link to your Cupcake Hero entry
3. Picture of your jalapeño cupcake creation (250px by 250px is preferred) and/or permission to use the image from your blog.

If you have questions, click on over to their blogs and leave em a comment. And good luck to you, this is a definite challenge. I can’t wait to see what you guys bake up!

I will be back next month for Cupcake Hero’s 1st Anniversary. I am so totally stoked about it and I hope you are too!

17 thoughts on “Cupcake Hero: August

  1. Woww…this is gonna be a hard one.
    I’ve never heard of a SWEET cupcake, that has jalapenos in it!
    I have a question though, does the cupcake actually have to have a jalapeno FLAVOR in it?…or can you just do something “jalapeno like” on the actual cupcake??

  2. Bronte- Good question. It is a difficult theme for sure. I would say, click the link over to Teri’s blog and ask her that question? Sorry, I dont want to give you the wrong answer since I am not the one judging this round.

    Good luck to you!🙂

  3. alesbianandascholar

    Just want to make sure you know that jalepenos at least recently were being tested by the FDA and were the strongest suspect for the salmonella outbreak in the US. It may be over now, but if I were you I’d check and make sure you inform your readers so people won’t be afraid to enter!

    – Judith of Shortcut to Mushrooms, who is too lazy to logout and create a new login for foodblogging🙂

  4. oooh good point on the Jalapeno watch — it’s been harder to get them around here because everyone is so paranoid to put them out in the stores.

  5. This one is tempting. I am on a cupcake ban for the summer (bikini season and cupcakes don’t mix for me!)😦 but this sounds like such fun. I’ll have to give it some thought! Especially since I have them growing in my garden!

  6. Jalapenos arent really a common ingredient in NZ. I’ve only seen them pickled, not dry like I would want for this challenge – is their flavour more mild than other chillies?

  7. Slush- This is a creative one for sure! I thought Melon was hard. I can’t wait to rack my brain for le pepper.

    I have a question for you. I know you are on summer cupcake break, but was a winner ever selected for May? I know we cupcake hero submitters would like to know if there was.

    Thanks!
    J

  8. I am super jazzed about this challenge!! have my ideas going all ready, but someone did bring up what I was gonna inquire about the use because of the FDA scare, I am working on some home grown ones. But am super excited to be back into it!!

  9. This sounds like just the challenge to get me out of my baking doldrums. Hopefully I can make something amazing (maybe I’ll kill two birds with one stone and somehow enter it in Bake & Destroy’s bake-off too… hehehe).

  10. oh no, I tried all weekend to get jalapenos and cant! I may have to bow out of this challenge! the only thing i could get was jalapeno pickle or jalapeno flavoured corn chips!!! :0(

  11. I have now made and fallen in love with jalapeño cupcakes. Thank you for this challenge! I just ate yet another one for breakfast. Who knew spicy cupcakes would be so wonderful?

Leave a Reply

