Tuesdays with Dorie: Sort of, well no, not really.

Standard

I did make the Granola Grabbers about 2 weeks ago. However, I didnt get any pictures of them. I thought maybe I would make them again and try to get a picture, but then I landed in the ER with abdominal pain. Diagnosis: Kidney Stone. Bad times.

Back to the cookies, I omitted the what germ because we didnt have it on hand, and I used the crumbs from the bottom of the granola bag in its place. I used walnuts, peanuts and pecans, along with raisins and craisins. While I liked the over all cookie, there would be some things I would tweak when making them again. I would omit the craisins, they were too over powering. I would cut back on the nuts as well. Otherwise, a great cookie and they kept really well, too.

I promise to be back on my game for next week. Head to the TWD blogroll to check out all the cookies out there.

18 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Sort of, well no, not really.

  1. Kidney stone? Psshaahhh thats it? I tease. Yeah I think you have a great reason for not making the cookies again. Hope you feel better soon.
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  2. OH! Kidney stones are awful!! I hope your recovery is quick and you are back to a pain-free life very soon. Yikes. I’m glad you said that about the craisins; they just seem so intensely flavored, I thought they might overwhelm the cookie. You saved me from disappointment!

  3. You poor thing! My brother had those, and they are excruciating. I was watching a health show on TV, and they said to avoid iced tea – the tannins cause the formation of kidney stones, and people tend to drink a LOT of iced tea – and to drink lemonade, instead. The citric acid in the lemonade helps keep them from forming.

  4. I used a 1/4 cup each of craisins, raisins, and apricots and thought my cookies turned out very well. I hope that you’re on the mend, I know that kidney stones can be hella painful. Get well soon!

Leave a Reply

