Tuesdays with Dorie: Caramel-Peanut-Topped Brownie Cake

Standard

I just finished making this. Its still so hot that I haven’t had a chance to taste the caramel. I have been so uber busy with the kids stuff, it has been a struggle to keep up with TWD. I am doing my best thought! Okay, the cake, the cake reeeeeaally sank in. Not a little crater, a HUGE crater. Not sure what the deal was, but I didnt want to bake it any longer because I didnt want it to dry out.

Caramel was easy, or so I thought. Followed the directions to a T, but when I scooped it onto the cake, there were huge sugar crystals that came up from the bottom of the pot. It was too late to strain it at that point.

Ah well. Not sure what I did wrong. I cut back on the amount of nuts because the kids do not like them. This way I can pick them off for them.

Thanks Tammy, Ive been wanting to make this for a long time now.

19 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Caramel-Peanut-Topped Brownie Cake

  1. Hope you liked it once you were able to taste it! Mine had the sugar crystals in it too. I thought I was doing so good…but it still tasted good to me!!!

  2. You are doing so much that some things have to give. No shame in that. Take a vacay sister! You deserve it. {{HUGS}}
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  3. I think a Zen-like state of mind is required for making caramel. You need to give it time to do its thing and don’t even think about walking away for just a quick second! I had a sunken middle as well, but to me that just means I get to trim the high spots off and have cake snacks.

  4. Well, I over-baked my cake and it still had a crater, so go figure? Not my favorite recipe, but I was glad to have finally gotten a successful caramel under my belt.

  5. You know, I had an enormous crater and I turned the cake over so the underside was on the top. It sank slightly, but worked fine. And for the caramel, I added a small squeeze of lime juice which helps prevents the crystals from forming. Nevertheless, I am certain your cake tasted DELICIOUS! Great job despite all of the things you are juggling!

Leave a Reply

