Tuesdays with Dorie: Rugelach

Standard

1104080930a_01

First things first, my hiatus from TWD is over. October was a rough and busy month round these parts. Now that we are into November, I have more time to bake. On to the rugelach. I have made these cookies once before, using Ina Gartens recipe. They came out perfectly, so I had high hopes for this recipe. However, my impatience got the best of me. I didnt let the dough chill long enough, and then totally missed where it said to chill the rolled cookies in the fridge for 30 minutes before baking. (Thanks Jaime!)

1104080929_01

In the end, they taste fantastic! They just didnt hold their shape like they should have. Again, I am sure this is baker error, as I didnt exactly follow the directions on the chilling. I used peach jam, walnuts, golden raisins and omitted the chocolate. I will try these again, sticking to the recipe of course.

Thanks to Piggy for the fab recipe choice! Check out the other 350+ TWD Bakers, too!

* Photos courtesy of my cell. The digicams batteries are acting wonky right now.

21 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Rugelach

  1. Yay, you’re back! I almost forgot to chill mine too (as in, I grabbed them out of the oven after a couple minutes when I re-read the recipe๐Ÿ™‚ ) They look pretty good despite that!

  2. Oh yum peach preserves! Of course, peaches always make me think of mangoes. I wonder if I can find mango jam. Maybe I can make some. LOL – now I’m off on another crazy baking tangent! Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. pinkstripes

    I think there is a fine line between making ugly rugelach and making pretty rugelach and it is very easy to cross it. I’m glad they tasted wonderful!

  4. Happy no more TWD hiatus day! Welcome back fearless leader! I chilled mine in the frig like a good little baker but I think I was a little overzealous with the fillings! HAHA. Glad you enjoyed the recipe!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  5. I did the same thing! I wanted rugelach NOW! so I didn’t fridge them for nearly long enough. I’m glad you’re back on the TWD wagon. You’ve been missed.

  6. I’m always missing some step or another in a recipe. I forgot the egg wash + sugar on my first batch. I’m glad you liked the taste – your flavor combination sounds perfect. I have some peach preserves I might use next time. The few that I made with chocolate just weren’t as good.

  7. My first bake along with TWD! I did chill before baking, but they still didn’t hold their shape the way they should. I haven’t made rugelach in a very, very long time…and I was thinking I’m just out of practice with my rolling skills. But, as others have also said…they still taste outrageous! Have to go now…there are some rugelach left and I can’t resist another 1 or two! If you’d like to see what mine look like, you can find some pics I posted on my blog: http://loves2cookhates2cleanup.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

