Tuesdays with Dorie: Linzer Sables

Standard

1202081239_01

1202081239a_01

1202081239b_01

Short and sweet this week, since I am getting in right under the gun. I filled mine with semi sweet chocolate ganache. Then, topped with white chocolate and colored sugar. These cookies have huge WOW appeal, but they are just plain too fussy for me. Im more of a scoop and bake kinda gal. While they were not my favorites, my sons and husband LOVED them. I probably would not have made them on my own.

Huge thanks to noskos of Living the Life for choosing this weeks recipe.  (He was our very first male TWD’er. Which means I adore him.❤ That and he has one of the coolest back pieces I have ever seen!!!)  Check out the other various kinds of Linzer Sables on the TWD blogroll.

*Pictures are still from my cell. I am a slack ass and have not purchased a new digital cam battery yet. Maybe Santa will bring one?😉

28 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Linzer Sables

  1. pinkstripes

    Your cell phone takes good pictures. I thought these cookies were more pretty than tasty. I’m always wary of a pretty cookie.

    Your linzer sables look perfect and definitely seasonal!

  2. White chocolate and sprinkles! So festive. I should have done the white chocolate. I bet that was damn tasty! Great job fearless leader🙂
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  3. I really like how Christmasy you made these look. Sorry you didn’t love them, but that is part of the fun, right? Cute- my kids would have loved the white chocolate and sprinkles

  4. toreh03

    Oh goodness!! I love your cookies– they look so festive. I made some shortbread cookies today and they look no where as christmasy as yours.

  5. Not bad for a cell phone that’s for sure. They do have the wow factor, but the fussiness was exactly why, with 3 out of 4 Hanks being sick with bronchitis – yours truly included – didn’t get to the Linzer’s this week. I just tossed together the buttery jam cookies instead – if scoop and bake is your thing you are going to LOVE them! I did!

    I love all the sparkles (Aidan called them that – and he thinks they look really good btw) and icing on them. Those would be really impressive on a cookie exchange. I will get to them soon. : )

  6. Yes, you made the cookies look so festive and partyish. I did not like them at first. Then, they grew on me, especially after I dipped whole ones in chocolate and sprinkled with nuts. I wish I had taken a picture of those, but they were done the next day.
    Good Luck with Santa!

  7. ifoundafish

    I’ve so far seen four different TWD blogger’s efforts for the linzer sables – but these babies blow them all out of the water!! Defenitely the prettiest cookies I have seen in a WHILE.🙂 well done!

Leave a Reply

