Tuesdays with Dorie: French Yogurt Cake

Standard

101_1252

101_1253

101_1255

I searched at several groceries for lemon marmalade with no luck. So, I went with what was available, orange. With that, I swapped orange zest for the lemon as well. I baked in a 9 inch cake pan, with the intent to layer. However, I got lazy once it was out of the oven. Smothered in strained marmalade, whipped up some white chocolate whipped cream and tossed some of the orange zest that was strained on top. I loved it. Especially on day 2. I would definiately make a day in advance from now on. Its so much better after a good sit. I will make this again. I think my Gram would love it. So maybe for the next time I see her. And I will keep a look out for lemon marmalade too. Id like to give the original recipe a shot. I adore lemon.

Thanks to Liliana of My Cookbook Addiction for the selection of the week. Its a keeper! And check out the TWD blogroll if you want to see how this cake was made a zillion different ways.

30 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: French Yogurt Cake

  1. That looks perfect Laurie! I love the white chocolate whipped cream on top and bet the orange flavor was awesome (I know my husband would have preferred it!).

  2. “Whipped up some white chocolate whipped cream” aren’t you just so clever! Your cake didn’t need to have layers to be all chic! I love it!

  3. Laurie, this cake is beautiful, especially with that decadent whipped cream. fyi, lemon marmalade is often found in the imported foods section – it’s a British specialty. I know our Whole Foods has lemon marmalade in that section (not the jam section). You’re in my thoughts and prayers on the loss of your grandmother. Is she the one you mention in this post?
    Nancy

  4. I was just looking through your blogs and I have to say that your photos are great. They have an interesting POV coming from them, if food can have a point of view. I have really enjoyed just looking around. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

