Tuesdays with Dorie: Classic Banana Bundt Cake

Standard

0803091837

Back in the saddle… whew its been a long, long time.  Ive actually made a lot of the recipes for TWD over the past 3 months, but I never seem to find the time to post about them.  Its been a rough couple of months here. You may have read on the TWD board that we found out our youngest has epilepsy. Trying to find medications to control his seizures has been extremely trying. Its all trial and error and could be a very long road. Things have settled enough that I can get back to business with TWD. So, here we go.

On to banana cake.

I followed the recipe to the letter. I had the urge to add some chocolate, but resisted and am so glad I did. This cake is perfect, just as written. It doesnt need nuts, or chocolate. I did add the optional icing listed in playing around. Part of me wishes I had not done that so that I could toast the cake for breakfast. Lesson learned for next time. This is a moist cake, keeps well and is darn tasty. Its a winner.

0803091838

Thanks to Mary for picking this super cake. And check out the rest of the TWD blogroll for hundreds of other versions. We just added new members, check them out!

Next week, Brownie Buttons…

Pictures taken with my cell phone. Digi came doesnt want to hold a charge right now and I dont feel like figuring out why. Call me lazy…

23 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Classic Banana Bundt Cake

  1. Thanks for baking along with me this week! Your cake turned out great. Thanks for all you do for TWD. Your dedication and time commitment is amazing. Wishing the best for your family too! – mary the food librarian

  2. I’m amazed that you’ve even been baking some of the choices through such a stressful time – I hope things improve soon so you can join in with us full-time again🙂

  3. Your cake looks fantastic – and I am sending you my best wishes for your little one. Thank you for everything you do – we are all very appreciative AND amazed!

  4. Glad you’re posting again. I’ve missed seeing your delicious-looking baked goods. Does your new pup show any signs of recognizing the seizures beforehand?

  5. Wendy

    Your cake looks great! Welcome back to posting and I hope you are on the right track with your son and things go smoothly.🙂

  6. teaandscones

    Hang in with your son. I know it is a stressed time, but it will work out.

    Your cake is lovely. Love the random glaze.

  7. My first TWD and I had soo much fun.. I feel so at home here. Hang in there! I agree with you on the glaze, next time I won’t glaze it so I can toast it for breakfast or tea. I dropped off half of the cake to the local fire department down the road to my house, the local heroes (hotties) loved them! LOL! Thanks for having me!

  8. Charli

    The lighting in that pic is beautiful! I, too, am impressed that you were even baking through everything. Hopefully things continue to settle down for you.

  9. It’s GREAT to see you back! I hope that things will really settle down for you and your family — it’s certainly been a bumpy time.

    I laughed when I read your line: Call me lazy. You? Lazy? Never! Imagine what the world would be like if we all had your energy.

    xoDorie

  10. I wish my cell phone took such great pictures! The cake looks delicious Laurie and I hope that things sort out soon for your family. I’ll be thinking of you!🙂

  11. You’re not lazy. You are just extremely busy😉 Glad to see you tried out the cake and enjoyed it. Sorry to hear about your son. I don’t know a whole lot about epilepsy, so I hope things work out for the best in the end🙂

  12. You know what really sucks? That we live on basically opposite sides of the country so I can’t help you and give you hugs! I can tell you to hang in there and all that, but it just isn’t the same. You and all your sweet boys have been in my thoughts. I hope that a balance can be found for all of you soon. Hugs!!!!

Leave a Reply

