Tuesdays with Dorie: Creamy Florida Meringue Pie?

Standard

101_1414

I plain flat screwed this week up. I could blame it on getting ready to get the boys ready to go back to school. I could blame it on trying to keep Colby’s medicine dosages straight on their ever changing schedule. I could blame it on the dog. However, the fact of the matter is, I am an idiot.

101_1413

I forgot the graham crackers at the store. I subbed Pepperidge Farm Chessmen Cookies, which worked out really, really well. But then in rushing to get this done, I accidentally made the Florida Pie filling. I topped it with meringue and called it a day. The pie tasted fantastic and I would make it again. Its just not the right pie for this week.

101_1415

Check out the ladies and gents, who I am sure made the proper pie for the week, from the TWD blog roll. And thanks to Linda of Tender Crumb for picking this fab pie. I love the citrusy ones!

15 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Creamy Florida Meringue Pie?

  1. That looks delicious, no matter what filling you used. I love the idea of using chessmen to make the crust–they’re one of my favorites.

  2. I was expecting some catastrophe, like the filling wouldn’t set or it got knocked over. But even with the confusion you still made what probs was a great dessert, and the meringue topping looks pretty!

  3. Great idea on using a rectangular tart pan! It looks wonderful. Since the Pepperidge Farm Chessmen cookies are buttery, you didn’t miss out on All the butter that goes into the recipe.🙂
    This is only my third go-around as a TWD member but I think its brilliant! Thank you for starting it up.

  4. Hey, they’re both lime and pie, so close enough, if you ask me. It looks fantastic, your meringue looks yummy.

    (I thought the Florida pie was better anyway.)

  5. This does *not* look like something an idiot would put together! It’s the perfect tart/pie…. LOVE the shell and the meringue treatment (I’m browning meringue like crazy these days… I love that little torch). Hopefully your schedule will slow down and you can “concentrate” – although this look fantastic as is!

Leave a Reply

