Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart

Standard

101_1500

Its a miracle that I got this tart made on time. Ive been really struggling to keep up with TWD. Ive made the last 3, but then never took pictures. *le sigh BUT, I am going to make an effort. I mean it. Im going to really try hard to get them made AND posted!

This tart was easy. I made a new tart dough Ive been wanting to try, that I saw on David Lebovitz’s blog. Recipe found here. It was a very unorthodox way to make dough since you heat butter, water, oil, salt and sugar in the oven for 15 min, then stir in the flour. It was really easy to make. It did crack quite a bit, and I only saved a little amount of dough to patch cracks. I used it anyhow, hoping the caramel wouldnt seap through. Id try the dough again just saving more to patch with, because it came out really flaky. I loved it.

101_1496

The caramel was easy to make. I followed the directions to a T only deciding not to cook it as long as it stated bc the color was already dark enough. I went with rice krispys instead of nuts so that the kids would try it. I thought they would add the crunch, but they sogged out adding a good chew instead. Jaos and I both liked the addition.

101_1495

This tart is amazing and easy to throw together. I did the whole thing in less than an hour while Colb napped. YAY! For the rest of the TWD Army tarts, check out the blogroll. Thanks to Carla for picking this gem.

17 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart

  1. You are so imaginative! I love that you tried Rice Krispies, I love your photos and the tart looks delicious. Being so busy with kids, life, and everything else, I think you did a fabulous job!

  2. What a fun idea to use rice crispies as my kid “thinks” he doesn’t like nuts either. I wonder if they crispies would stay a little crispier if they are just sprinkled over the caramel. Hmmm?
    Great job!

  3. Yea, with your busy schedule I’m amazed you have time to bake! I had BFMHTY out this weekend and looked seriously at making this. Opted for apple turnovers instead but now I’m thinking…

Leave a Reply

