Tuesdays with Dorie: Pumpkin Biscuits

Standard

101_1483

I never ever have sweet potatoes. Ever. No one in this house eats them. However, we all love pumpkin. I had stocked up on pumpkin due to the ‘shortage’ and decided I would try to make the Sweet Potato Biscuit recipe work with pumpkin. Before I did so, I emailed Dorie. I wanted to get her opinion on whether it would work or not, rather than wasting ingredients. She gave me some very good tips and on I went.

101_1493

This recipe came together quickly. I tried hard not to over mix it. Threw them in the oven and they came out perfect. I served them almost room temp with a little honey butter on top. HOLY YUM! We all loved them. This recipe is a keeper. But, I think I’ll stick to the pumpkin.

Head to TWD to check out the other lovely biscuits. And thanks to Erin of Prudence Pennywise for picking this recipe!

16 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Pumpkin Biscuits

  1. Those look fantastic! Like you, I never have sweet potatoes around, and would love to try these with pumpkin. Would you be willing to share the tips you got?

    • Yes! I added an additional 2 TB flour, 2TB white sugar and used 1 cup of pureed pumpkin. Dorie suggested starting at 3/4 cup, which I did, but it needed the full cup for the dough to come together. Hope they work for you too!

  2. GREAT height to your biscuits. I’d read about your pumpkin conversation with Dorie on the P&Q, so I did some pumpkin ones, too. I then iced them with a cinnamon glaze. MMMM! Thanks for the pumpkin tips.

Leave a Reply

