Tuesdays with Dorie: Thumbprints for Us Big Guys

Standard

I literally threw these together on Sunday afternoon. I was trying to watch the Pens, and trying to get these made at the same time. Sadly, I didnt do either task well. I missed a lot of the game, and the cookies looked.. well.. thrown together.

I only had pecans in the house, so that is what I used. I think had I used one of the nuts listed as options in the recipe, they would have come out better. Or maybe I should have changed out the filling. I dont know. The cookies and the raspberry jam did not go together. I loved the raspberry jam, I did not love the cookie. Again, this is my fault. I should have followed the recipe!

This is the plate of rejects. Poor fellas.

This weeks recipe is brought to us from Mike of Ugly Food Dude. Click over and give him some love. Mike is one of my favorite TWD peeps. Yeah, yeah, I said it. Its not like you dont have favorites too.😛 Or check out the proper cookies here.

17 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Thumbprints for Us Big Guys

    • Im so glad you liked them! I always feel so guilty when I dont like whatever I bake. These may have been my least favorite from the book so far. How wacko of me.

  1. Ok, so maybe they aren’t so pretty… I agree with you. I feel bad if I don’t like a recipe. Like the person who picked it is going to be insulted. Ah well. We did like these.

  2. Too bad you didn’t like these! I wouldn’t worry too much about feeling guilty that you didn’t like it: that happens!! I’m sure whomever picked the recipe (Mike in this case) won’t take it personal😉

  3. mikejdunlap

    Those rejects look mighty tasty – I know a lot of people at my work who would snap those up in a heartbeat! Glad you found the time in your busy schedule to make them though!

  4. I used Almond instead of hazelnut and LOVE the combo of almond+raspberry. Sounds like pecan wasn’t received very well as a substitute, eh? Honestly not sure I’ll even try the hazelnut b/c I liked the almond so much. Next time you got a Pens game and no hazelnuts, try almond.🙂 PS- White Chocolate Brownies RULE!

  5. I think it looks like a plate of flowers of some sort, either way, sorry you didn’t love them. I did. I love a shortbread, crumbly, but tender cookie like these. And having filled mine with Nutella, I thought they were/are de-lish! Again, just thanks for all your work for this group. I hope knowing so many of us love it at least make it worth it to you!

  6. Sorry to hear that you didn’t like these that much. I was thinking about using pecans, since I like them better than hazelnuts. But my hazelnut ones turned out really tasty. I also frequently fall victim to the doing too many things at once (and none of them well) problem…

Leave a Reply

