Tuesdays with Dorie: Marbled-Mocha Bundt Cake

Standard

I decided to make the bundt for this week rather than next because no no ine my house likes coconut but me. However, we are going to my Grams for Easter. Everyone there likes coconut. Ya feel me?

I liked this cake, but left out the nuts so that the kids could help eat it. I think I may have baked it too long even though I did the lesser of the times in the recipe. It seemed dry. But, it was great alongside a cup of coffee. Jas and I would have liked the addition of the walnuts as well. (damn kids.)

Okay… something else I need to share. Just so its out there. As most of you know our smallest boy was diagnosed with epilepsy last June. Up till now, we have been trying to find a medicine or cocktail of medicines that would control his seizures. So.. we are at a difficult place. After the first several meds fail to give seizure control, the chances of finding a medicine that is going to work drops drastically. We are now looking at alternative therapies to work in cahoots with the meds. Today Colby is having bloodwork done to start a modified atkins diet. High fat/low carb diets have shown a lot of promise with epilepsy. The ketogenic diet to be specific, but I am not ready to do something so intense or severe. So, we are going to give a modified atkins a shot and hope it helps Colby.

You know why I am telling you this right?!? My TWDing may be more sporadic than it already is. The entire family is not going to do the diet with Colby, but we are going to try to decrease our carb intake. Its not fair that he cant have a cupcake or slice of pie that his brother is devouring. At least initially, I am going to try to cut back on my baking. Unless its something I know the kids wouldn’t touch anyway, and then its fair game.

I am still going to lead TWD. I will still keep up with the blog, members, etc… I just may not be able to participate as much for a little bit. I hope you all understand.

Much love peeps. xo

28 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Marbled-Mocha Bundt Cake

  1. You know that you could always bake the stuff and then mail it a few hours down the road to me, right :-p

    Dietary plans can actually be pretty effective in cases where meds alone won’t work. My uncle’s son was diagnosed with autism at age 2, has been on an experimental program based on a strict diet with a load of vitamin supplements since then, and now at age 7 he interacts pretty much the same as any child. If food can have such therapeutic value, it really speaks to why we, even as reasonably healthy adults, should probably not be shoving just any old crap down our throat-holes.

    I think I got sidetracked, but have faith in dietary alteration – it can work wonders! I hope it does!

  2. Your marbling looks awesome! I’m a little scared of marbling, haven’t had good luck with it in the past.

    More importantly though, good luck with the test results and the dietary therapies!

    And thanks again for all the hardwork and time you put into TWD.

  3. Your cake looks beautiful–great marbling. It’s so nice to see you have time to post:) Best of luck figuring out the best diet to help Colby. Thanks for TWD.

  4. Wondering how ANYBODY could NOT like coconut. But … looks like a fabulous cake, and I’m glad YOU get to eat some. If it were me, I’d keep on making it, just to mock them with their own dislike of coconut….

  5. Everyone will understand. We appreciate everything that you do. I really hope everything works out and that your little one gets better soon.

  6. Kelly D

    Laurie –

    Good luck with your new treatments. I have been through (different) health issues with one of my children and understand how much you need to think of him. I am sure it will be worth missing a few slices of cake if the diet curbs his symptoms. Thanks again for all you do.

  7. Good luck with the dietary changes for your son. Count me in among your many fans for all you do for us TWD bakers! As far as the cake goes, it’s stunning! Really nice picture, too. Again, all the best to you and your family. :o)

  8. Good luck with your son’s new diet and alternative treatments, I hope they help and make a difference. It must be such a worry for you. I think you are brilliant! Your cake looks really good, I can’t wait to make this for next week🙂

  9. Nice job on the cake–it looks delicious! And good luck getting things figured out for Colby. I can only imagine how tough it must be as you’re dealing with everything.

  10. I can’t speak for everyone, but I totally understand. You gotta’ do what you gotta’ do. :}

    On a lighter note…your cake looks fabulous!! Can’t wait to try this one.🙂

  11. Health issues always suck!! If you need any help with TWD, just let me know: I’d be more than happy to lend a helping hand! I feel like I’m back on track again!

    Your bundt cake looks amazing, I turned this into cupcakes as I had some leftover dulce de leche buttercream frosting and thought it would combine nicely. I’m bringing them to my brothers graduation this afternoon, so we’ll see what my brother thinks about it!!

  12. That cake looks amazingly good – and such excellent marbling! I also had to skip the nuts but in my case it was “darn in-laws” (diverticulitis – really cramps my baking style).

    All my best wishes for helping your son – which is and should be your first priority. I hope the diet works for him. I will enjoy reading about your baking when you can post!

  13. I sure hope this new diet will help – I have several LC cookbooks that I’d be glad to send your way (just let me know). Yes, I was on Atkins for a number of years (for health reasons, not weight) and know that stuff like the back of my hand. 🙂 I think moderation is the key (so make a mini-cupcake for him)! Oh – and your bundt? It’s beautiful! I loved this cake – it’s now my favorite TWD marble cake and can’t wait to make it again. Let us know how everything goes!

  14. Wow — Laurie, you totally achieved the elusive ginko leaf pattern with your marbling! How awesome! Color me jealous. You know, I think maybe the nuts make this cake a little bit more moist? I’m not sure, but it seems likely. That said, I totally get that your kids don’t want nuts in their desserts. I’m still not the biggest fan of nuts in mine, the redeeming aspect of these nuts (for me) is the fact that they’re “finely ground.”

    Good luck with the dietary changes, and I’ll keep my fingers crossed that hopefully this will work. Your family always comes first!

  15. Both cakes were delicious. For future reference, the nuts were ground so finely, I’m thinking “nut hater” would tolerate this one(?)

    Good luck with the diet. I’m a huge believer in the power of diet and its influence on health. I’ve heard about the positive benefits of higher fat for epilepsy, so I’ll bet you have good results. We did a lower-carb (no grains, no sweeteners), higher fat+protein diet for the month of March – the “paleo diet,” on a challenge from our gym – and I’ll have to say I never felt better. Makes baking a bit problematical, though! But things like custards/ice creams can be worked in, I’d bet.

  16. I so understand, my daughter was just diagnosed as insilin resistant. She has to watch her carb intake big time. I plan to bake some but it’s going out of the house. SHe isn’t really a big sweet eater, so that will save me!
    I sure hope your son gets better. It’s so hard when are kids are sick or have a disease. My daughter had two seizures when she was 8 and it scared me to death. It ended up that they were caused by migranes..She is 16 now and healthy as can be;). Hang in there and stay strong.
    Your cake looks so good, I made muffins and really enjoyed them!

  17. I’m sorry to hear the news about your son. I can’t imagine being in your shoes, but I know it must be very tough.

    You know the group will keep baking, and you’ll have tons of reviews for the recipes you miss.

Leave a Reply

