Happy 2011!

Standard


Okay, first things first. Happy New Year! 2011. Wow! Where does the time go? Really, where does it go?

Last year, my blogging was somewhat.. lacking. Alright, it was awful. Down right, awful. In my defense, 2010 was the hardest year for me that I can remember. It was a mentally and emotionally exhausting. At some points, I did not know how I would get through the year. So, blogging took the back burner. So be it. My family comes first. The end. But, its 2011 now. And I am truly hoping to start blogging more again. I miss it. I really do. Hopefully, I still have a few readers out there. Hi there, nice to see you!

To kick things off, I decided to bake something yeasty today. I love the smell of a yeasty treat in the oven. One of Liam’s favorite breakfasts is cinnamon rolls. With that in mind, I decided to make monkey bread. If you don’t know what that is, you must have been living in a hole the past few years. Its been everywhere. Or maybe you are new to the interwebs. If so, hi there! Nice to see you!

I should have started this project earlier in the morning. It takes several hours to proof and put together. It worked out in the end, since we ended up having a monster brunch to start the New Year.

New Year, new stuff, yada yada. Liam rates all my baked goods. I am totally raising a pastry snob. He is harsh with his ratings. I figured it makes for good entertainment value. This is how he rated the monkey bread.

Liam’s Rating: Bread nice and soft, not too crunchy. Cinnamon really good, but I like a little more cinnamon, a tiny bit more, but otherwise, really good. Overall rating– A

I do not like publishing recipes on my blog. Maybe its my loyalty to Dorie that started it, but its expanded. If you want the recipe for Monkey Bubble Bread in BAKED Explorations, buy the book. Come on, do it. Its a great book with phenomenal photos, and you won’t regret it.

Happy 2011 to everyone! Hope it turns out to be a fabulous year! xoxo- Laurie

Total sidenote: The Pens play in the Winter Classic tonight. Go Pens!

 

9 thoughts on “Happy 2011!

  1. Hmm Read that this was “in the works.” Bet its all gone. Looks delicious. Speaking of Crusty Blogs…. mine too. Corbin & I are working on a “blog-lift” Have a Happy 2011
    AmyRuth

  2. My “health(ier) eating in 2011” resolution may just have failed. That looks astoundingly good. Hope you have an excellent 2011. It seems that 2010 left a lot to be desired for many of us. 2011 must be better. Many thanks again for all your hard work on TWD and FFWD.

  3. Happy new year, Laurie! Here’s to having a much better year in 2011! =) We love monkey bread around here. I’ll have to take a look at that book the next time I’m at Borders.

  4. I know just how good this is. I joined the new Baking group based on Baked and this was the first recipe, I made from the book. It is fantastic. Yours is making me want to make it again.

    A great way to start off the year and your blog looks fabulous.

  5. Wow, I am behind. Sorry to just be catching up on my reading. Had to comment on this though – Good God woman. It looks incredible! I’ve never actually made monkey bread (yeast and I are not friends) but I may give it a go based on Liams (mostly) rave review!🙂
    I’ve also been eyeing the Baked book online. I had the first one, but only 2 recipes were ones I liked. Do you have both? Does this one have a lot of goodies? You know me – I want over indulgent, fattening, ridiculous things!
    Hope you are having a great new year! (Oh, and you’ve been Stumbled. Take THAT!🙂

Leave a Reply

