Tuesdays with Dorie: Midnight Crackles

Standard

Happy Anniversary Tuesdays with Dorie! TWD turns 3 this week. When I posted about TWD for the first time, I never ever imaged we would still be at it 3 years later. It seriously changed my life. I am a totally different baker. I have made some of the best online friends a girl could have. My tweetie ladies are the best, the BEST! And it pushed me to start French Fridays with Dorie as well. I am ever so thankful to the members of TWD for continuing to bake along week after week without fail. You have pushed me to become a better baker. Thank you! Lastly, thank you to Dorie for her continued support of both me and the group. It means the world to me.

To celebrate our 3rd Anniversary, Julie, my TWD sidekick and I decided on Midnight Crackles. We both wanted something on the easy side for right after Christmas. I have been wanting to make these cookies for a long time, so I was uber stoked.

I baked them up just today. I followed the original recipe exactly. They were easy to whip up. The texture seemed really sandy to me, even after chilling. I rolled a few in powdered sugar before baking, just for fun.The finished product came out kind of like the World Peace Cookies, but softer. We all liked them, but I think I will up the cinnamon next time and maybe nix the clove. Overall, good cookie.

You can find the recipe for Midnight Crackles on the Tuesdays with Dorie blog.

Happy Anniversary Tuesdays with Dorie’ers! Here is to another three years! xoxo

29 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Midnight Crackles

  1. Laurie, I’m sending you a big hug. I could never thank you enough for starting this group. Dorie and you have changed my life in so many more ways than you could imagine.

    Your cookies look so delicious! I did nix the cloves and up the cinnamon plus I added some espresso powder, and they are amazing. A little like the background flavor of Dorie’s pecan pie, but more subtle (probably because the flavor of these is predominantly chocolate.)

  2. I definitely didn’t moosh mine enough. They were more poofy – but we loved them. I’m with you, I think I’ll probably leave out the cloves next time and leave the cinnamon.

    Happy Anniversary! I know I’m never around as much as I’d like anymore, but I think of you and your boys often and keep you in my thoughts. I hope all is going well and you’re hanging in there! HUGS!

  3. A big THANKS to you and Dorie! I think this has made all of us better bakers! So glad you made these and those cloves… such a personal preference. I didn’t mind them – but espresso powder would work equally as well – so many variations are possible! Beautiful crackles!

  4. Happy Anniversary! Thanks for starting the group and letting all of us bake along with you each week. It’s been great!

    Your cookies look fantastic! I’m glad they were on the easy side after all the holidays.

  5. Yeah! So glad that we can go through all the crazy together! I’m thinking no clove and yes to ginger the next time I make these. And there will be a next time! Lots of xoxo. You are amazing!

  6. wow you commented on my post in record time!!๐Ÿ™‚

    thanks for all that you do for this group, Laurie. It’s been my pleasure and I can’t tell you just how much I have learned thanks to you!!!

    I had some of these cookies for breakfast๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Happy New Year and Happy TWD Anniversary! Thank you for creating Tuesdays with Dorie. I am so happy to be a part of your group and have learned so much in the kitchen, and had so much fun baking along.

    These Midnight Crackles were a wonderful pick, we absolutely loved them.

    Best wishes to you and your family in 2011๐Ÿ™‚

  8. teaandscones

    GREAT job with TWD and thanks for the group. I have met some really amazing people because of TWD and meeting more with FFWD.

    These cookies were tasty. My dough was tough to work with, but worth it. I think more cinnamon would work wonders. Love the combo.

  9. Happy anniversary, Laurie! Thanks so much for starting this group. I really enjoy being a part of it–I’ve added to my baking skills and my list of friends. Here’s to another great year of baking!

  10. They look lovely, and you are right, they were easy to throw together, always a plus with a busy schedule, right? Thank you for starting this group and for all your attention to detail over the past three years. I have met and enjoyed some amazing people through this group and I will be forever grateful. Here’s to another year and best wishes for a wonderful 2011 for you and your loved ones.

  11. They look perfectly crackled!

    Thanks for being our fearless leader and keeping the group going. It’s been fun in many ways for me. Wishing you a low-stress 2011 full of sweetness!

  12. Kelly D

    Thanks for everything in the last three years. I, too, am a much different (hopefully better) baker because of it. Plus I have had loads of fun.

  13. TWD has definitely been transformational, and I am so glad you came up with the crazy idea three years ago! And thanks for picking the cookie recipe; they were on my list for the longest time. Yours look amazing!

  14. How cool that you joined from day 1. I think I joined about 10 months in (October 2008)when they were going to close off the list. I have learned a lot fromthis group too and met sme lovely fellow bakers. Your cookies look great. Happy third TWD anniversary!

  15. You are amazing! How many times have I told you that? Well, each time I mean it and I mean it more and more. You have made such an extraordinary difference in the lives of so many people — all of them now bakers!

    Much love on the anniversary of TWD — xoDorie

Leave a Reply

