Tuesdays with Dorie: Dimply Cherry Pie Cake?

Standard

I did not want to miss this weeks TWD. The world was teaming against me and trying to force me into skipping. One of my incisions is infected and causing me a great deal of pain. Then my exuberent 4 year old pulled the car door shut on my middle finger. I still pulled through and baked the cake with a tiny short cut. I pulled out my trusty cherry pie filling and subbed that for a stone fruit that the recipe called for. I love cherry pie filling. I adore it. And it always makes whatever you use it in better. However, I think that I overcooked this cake. It was so awfully dry. I am sure that I screwed up somehow. My oven is off by 50 degrees, and I have a feeling that I didnt take this into account when I set the temp. It happens from time to time when I am not concentrating when baking.

I will definitely try this again when my mind is on the cake and less on my ailing wounds.

Thanks to Michelle for picking this cake, I had been looking forward to this one. Check out the TWD blogroll to see many variations.

34 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Dimply Cherry Pie Cake?

  1. I am so sorry about all the troubles you have been having. I hope you feel better.
    Your cake looks awesome.
    Mine was actually a little dry too and I cooked it for 40 minutes at 350. I think it would be tastier if it was more of a pound cake consistency.

  2. Oh, feel better soon! Gotta admire that perseverance – baking in the face of injuries and wounds. Your cherry pie filling didn’t let you down; your cake is beautiful. My oven is off also, and I tried to calibrate it when I was cooking this cake, only to find out that I was using a freezer thermometer. oops!

  3. Oh my ! I’m so sorry everything seems to conjure against you ! we say you can only go up when you are so low ! The cake looks gorgeous even if it was over baked I think it happened with mine as well. I hope you are going to recover soon ! ciao

  4. OH….yikes, that’s all miserable stuff. I’m amazed you did this despite those travails! It looks gorgeous, kind of marbled. Mine was dry too (but gooey under the plums). I hope you feel better asap.

  5. You have great friends….hope you feel “cheerry” and better soon. Happy second day of Fall. Yes, your cherry pie-cake is happy beautiful. Thanks for the variation.
    AmyRuth

  6. Mmmmm regardless of if it was good or not, the streaks of cherry pie filling look beautiful! Poor baby. I am so sad that you aren’t feeling well. I cringed when I read about your finger. When it rains it floods, no? Get well soooooon.
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  7. Ouch! How’s your finger?
    Don’t bother worrying about the dryness of the cake, most had that problem too (if not, they had a problem of rawness, strange) … at least it wasn’t your oven, nor the world closing up on you.
    Sure looks way better with the cherry pie filling… wish I thought about it too, as you are right, cherry pie filling makes everything better… perhaps, even sore fingers! LOL

  8. It sure looks delicious with that yummy cherry filling on top. I have had that happen to my finger and I am sorry ,there is nothing like that pain. Hope you are feeling better soon!

  9. I’m sorry about your week! It sounds like you just can’t get a break lately!

    I think Cherry pie filling looks wonderful- like the perfect addition. I hope you feel better soon!

  10. Kelly D

    With everything going with you, you cannot be held responsible for oven temperatures. Your cake looks amazing. Hope you feel better soon.

  11. Love the cherry pie filling idea! My cake was dry too, so it may not have been you.

    I send you my very best wishes. Hope you feel better soon. Rest up as much as you can and take care!

Leave a comment