Tuesdays with Dorie: Unbelievably Good Chocolate Blueberry Ice Cream

Standard

 

So, Jules called me way back in October. We talked about how TWD: BFMHTY was quickly wrapping up. We needed to sort out the recipes left and who was going to make what. I contacted Dorie, so she could pick one, and I told Jules, “Just tell me what I am supposed to make.” Again, this was back in October.

I knew the date was coming up, I needed to get on the horn with the ice cream. Right, make the ice cream. So, I set out to make it last weekend. Alas, I was missing the blueberry jam. I could have subbed cherry or raspberry, but I was making a great attempt at not messing with the recipe. Over the past 4 years, I have become very comfortable with substituting ingredients. I don’t think twice before doing so. But, since this is the last time I would be hosting TWD for this book, I wanted to stick to the recipe. 2 store trips later and still no jam. What the hell, Laurie?

Fast forward this past Saturday, I had a list for the store, but had been procrastinating going to the store. I am a professional procrastinator. Finally, my good friend Peabody said “Go buy ice cream stuff!!” And I did. The end.

Okay, not the end. I think I should say a little something about TWD now. Almost 4 years ago, on this very little blog, I asked if anyone would want to join me in baking once a week from Baking From My Home to Yours, by the lovely Dorie Greenspan. At the time, I thought nothing of it. I figured I would get 2-3 people who read my blog to do it with me. TWD quickly grew and grew. It was quite overwhelming. Then, over the 4 years it took to complete this book, we have dwindled down to a very hardcore group of members. I want to thank each and every one of you for going on this journey. I hope that you enjoyed it as much as I have. I hope you will all consider joining the next phase, with Baking with Julia, which starts in February 2012.

Back to the ice cream. We froze it. We tried it. I love homemade ice cream, I just wish my ice cream maker would allow me to make more in a batch. This one got mixed bag of reviews. That is the norm in this household, though. I say give it a shot and see what you think. You may just be a chocolate blueberry kind of person, you never know until you try.

Unbelievably Good Chocolate Blueberry Ice Cream

5 ounces semisweet chocolate, finely chopped
1 cup whole milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
3 large egg yolks
3 tablespoons sugar
5 tablespoons premium-quality blueberry preserves

Put the chocolate in a 1-quart glass measuring cup or heatproof bow.
Bring the milk and heavy cream to a boil in a medium heavy-bottomed saucepan.
Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk the yolks and sugar together until very well blended and just slightly thickened. Still whisking, drizzle in about one third of the hot liquid– this will temper, or warm, the yolks so they don’t curdle. Whisking all the while, slowly pour in the remaining liquid. Pour the custard back into the pan and cook over medium heat, stirring without stopping, until the custard thickens slightly and coats the back of a spoon; if you run your finger down the back of the spoon, the custard should not run into the track. The custard should reach at least 170 degrees F, but no more than 180 degrees F, on an instant-read thermometer. Immediately remove the pan from the heat and pour the custard over the chopped chocolate.
Let the mixture sit for 1 minute, then, using a rubber spatula, starting in the center of the measuring cup and working in ever-wider concentric circles, stir until the custard is smooth.
Refrigerate the custard until the chilled before churning it into ice cream.
Scrape the chilled custard into the bowl of an ice cream maker and churn according to the manufacturer’s instructions. When the ice cream is thickened and just about ready, spoon in the blueberry preserves and churn to blend. Pack the ice cream into a container and freeze for at least 2 hours, until it is firm enough to scoop.

Serving: If the ice cream is very firm, allow it to sit on the counter for a few minutes before scooping, or warm it in the microwave using 5-second spurts of heat. Serve the ice cream on its own or over the equally luscious Double-Crusted Blueberry Pie.

Storing: Packed tightly in a covered container, the ice cream will keep in the freezer for about 2 weeks.

Go check out the Tuesdays with Dorie site for more reviews on this week’s ice cream.

Jules made Double Puffed Plum Tart for this week. Go check her review out!

 

14 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Unbelievably Good Chocolate Blueberry Ice Cream

  1. I will never, ever be able to thank you enough for starting (however inadvertently) the TWD group. It has broadened my horizons, not just on baking but on cooking in general. I’m a much more accomplished and confident person in my kitchen, but it’s really the community that’s meant the most to me.

    We liked the ice cream – nice fruit +chocolate combination!

  2. I’ve had the best time baking with everyone. This is the first cookbook for which I’ve actually made nearly all the recipes! For rewind week, I’m aiming to do some of the recent ones I’ve missed. I’m looking forward to starting Baking with Julia next year.

    Thanks for your inspiration and effort!! Happy Holidays!

  3. Even I have not been around since the beginning (and have missed a few recipes, here and there), I’ve learned so much and from being a TWD member! Pie crusts still disturb me, but I can whip up a tart without breaking a sweat. 😀
    Thank you , Laurie! Without this fabulous group, I’d still be stuck at only baking cookies.

  4. I need a trip to the store to get some cream so I can make this one! Thanks for coming up with the TWD idea and seeing it through. This group has been so much fun to be a part of!

  5. This was really good ice cream! Thanks again, Laurie, for everything. This group has been so fun and often my sanity from day to day things! Happy Holidays to you and your family!

  6. The ice cream looks great (I’m sure I would have liked it, but I looked in my freezer last week and found three different partially eaten ice cream containers, so I restrained myself). A huge, giant thank you for everything you’ve done over the past four years and for letting us join you on this grand adventure!

  7. Your ice cream looks amazing, Laurie! I know you’ve heard it several times over, but TWD really did change my life and I’m so happy (and super-proud!) to have been a part of this fabulous group. So, thank you for all that you’ve done these past four years – it’s been one heck of a ride! 😉

  8. I think chocolate and blueberry works together. As with so many other recipes, this is one I’d never have tried without the group. That’s one of the many things I love about TWD! Thanks for all you have done over the years. I’m looking forward to the new group!

  9. I loved reading her description of this ice cream in the book, although I could never picture these flavors together either.
    Although I’m not a member of your group, I’ve really enjoyed following the rest of you bake your way through the book over the last year and a half.

  10. As always, I am amazed at how much you get done in a day – you are fabulous! It’s so hard to fathom that this is the end of the Baking adventure. It’s been a wonderful journey and it’s all thanks to wonderful you and the bakers who share your passion. Three cheers and a trillion hugs to everyone – xoDorie

Leave a comment