Stop the Traffik Chocolate Competition

Standard

traffiksml1.jpg

 

As soon as I saw R khooks event, I knew I wanted to participate. After all, I knew I would be baking anyway, just needed the correct chocolate for the event to do so. Little did I know that finding Fair Trade chocolate would be such a problem to find. Neither my local grocery or the fancy one 20 min away had Fair Trade. Eventually, I checked at Target and they had one kind, Endangered Species Chocolate. While it didnt carry the Fair Trade logo, it did state 100% Ethically Traded on the back. It was on clearance at Target for $1.62 for a 3 oz. bar. With the event deadline looming, I ran home and baked straight away.

eschoco400.jpg

I had been wanting to retry Peanut Butter stuffed Chocolate Cupcakes for a while now. I made them 2 months ago with so-so results. This time, I made up the cake recipe by combining a chocolate cake recipe with a brownie recipe found in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook. I wanted kind of a cakey brownie for the cupcake. The peanut butter filling and chocolate ganache came from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody. And I think her blog said she got her recipe for her post from Cupcake Bakeshop.

eschoco.jpg

Overall, I was pleased. The cake came out extremely rich and chocolatey. Not very sweet. Which I think was good because the filling and ganache would be very sweet. The PB filling was awesome. I was literally eating it out of the bowl before I filled the cakes. And the ganache, that was my little issue for the day. There is always at least one problem when I bake. The ganache never seemed to get very thick. I put it in the fridge for 30 min and it seemed thick enough to be piped onto the cakes, but it still oozed a bit on some. All in all, the cupcakes are very, very good. The flavors really came together. Jaos and the boys all said they were good. Which is all I can really ask for. (They dont sugar coat anything.)

Chocolate Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes 

Chocolate Cupcakes

3 oz bittersweet chocolate

3 oz semi sweet chocolate

3/4 cup butter ( 1 1/2 sticks)

1 cup sugar

3 eggs

1 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda (heaping)

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup buttermilk or sour milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350. Grease or line muffin tin with liners.

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl, stir to combine. Set aside. Melt chocolate and butter in a double boiler. Pour mixture into bowl of mixer. Beat in sugar and vanilla until combined. Add the eggs one at a time. Scrape sides between additions. Alternate adding buttermilk and flour mixture, beginning and ending with the flour mixture.

Scoop into cupcake liners about 2/3 full. Bake for 14-16 minutes or until a wooden tester comes out clean.

Peanut Butter Filling (Adapted from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody)

4 oz cream cheese
1 cup creamy peanut butter
3 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2-4 tablespoons milk (Enough to reach the desired consistency. I used 4)

Beat butter and cream cheese until smooth. Add vanilla, beat till combined. Add powdered sugar one cup at a time. Add milk one tablespoon at a time. You may need to add the milk alternately with the cups of sugar to keep the smooth/creamy consistency.

Chocolate Ganache (Adapted from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody)

This is halved amounts from the original, as I did not need a ton of ganache.
3 oz bittersweet chocolate
1 1/2 oz milk chocolate
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 tablespoon butter, room temperature
2-3 cups powdered sugar

Melt chocolate, heavy cream and butter in a double boiler. Stir constantly until melted and smooth. Transfer to the bowl of a standing mixer and let cool. When cooled, add vanilla and beat until blended. Add powdered sugar one cup at a time until desired consistency is reached Continue to beat until smooth, creamy and lighter in color. (I should have added more sugar than I did.)

To assemble, make a well in each cupcake using the cone method. Fill the well in each cupcake with 1 teaspoon of peanut butter filling and put the cake top back on. Frost the tops of each cupcake with chocolate ganache. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Stop the Traffik Chocolate Competition

  1. Jess

    Hi, just wondering if this recipe makes 12 or 24 regular sized cupcakes? ON that note, is it safe to simply halve or double the recipe as required, or is there a more advanced chemistry to it? Thanks!

  2. Thanks Peabody, Deborah and Marye!

    Jess- The cake recipe calls for 3 eggs, so Im not sure I would half it. Or try 2 medium eggs or 1 extra large? I think its worth a shot. The filling and ganache can be halved. Thanks!

  3. Jess

    Thanks! SHould i guess it makes 24 then? Going to give it a crack for halloween, maybe topped with a wedge of a reece’s cup for overkill?

  4. Jess- I would keep it at 24. Just bc I think its iffy to split the eggs in an odd amount. And I would SO top with a reeses cup, im all for overkill! LOL

Leave a comment