The Booziest Cupcake of them All!

Standard

Where do I start? You guys came out and came out BIG! Last month, we had 24 entries. This month, with the theme of BOOZE, you showed up 45 strong. To say I am stunned is an understatement. Either you are all just alcoholics, or Cupcake Hero is reaching the masses. Either way, I’ll take it.

This was a big month for CH. Not only did we have the ever sarcastic Tempered Woman as our oh so cool co-host, but she came on as a Full-Time Cupcake Hero employee. I am still unsure how I managed to pull that off, but I did. I am pretty sure at some point she will beg me to quit. But, she’s in it for life baby! And not only did we add TW, but we added another Full-Time employee, as well. I will reveal who that is with the new theme for March… 😉

On to the Liquory, Boozy, Hooched, Crunked, Drunken Cupcakes….

alanna-artistsinthekitchen.jpg

Let’s start with Alana of Artists in the Kitchen. She chose her favorite alcoholic beverage as her inspiration. Vanilla Nut Martini Cupcakes were born. They contain Frangelico and Vanilla Vodka in the cake and vanilla bean in the frosting. Alanna says they are “Oh My God” good. That’s a rave review if I have ever heard one. Thanks Alanna!

allison-cinnlove.jpg

Allison of Cinnamon Love recovered from illness just in time for the CH deadline. Her Chocolate, Rum and Mango Cupcakes contain just that. Topped with whipped cream and mango slices, I think these cupcakes would be great in summer. Very refreshing. Thanks Allison! I am glad you are feeling better and can bake once more!

alyssaandsam-sossuburban.jpg

Sam of She’s So Suburban posted this entry for her friend Alissa. Their cupcakes are based off the popular King Cakes. These being King Cupcakes. They contain a Chambord and Lemon Liqueur filling. This is the first CH entry that I can think of that has contained yeast, awesome! I always love the unexpected. Great job Alissa, and thank you Sam!

andrea-borntoentertain.jpg

Andrea of Born to Entertain baked up Banana Foster Cupcakes. OMG, Holy Moses just look at em. You all know I love anything banana. And we always have bananas 1 day from the gar-bage in my house. Great new recipe! The photo is lickable good too. Thanks Andrea!

cara-thepickyapple.jpg

Cara of The Picky Apple baked up Strawberry Margarita Cupcakes. Strawberry Margaritas are her favorite drink. I would have to agree, they go great with Tex-Mex! With Tequila and limeade concentrate in the frosting, they sound hella good. Jaos would love them, he adores strawberries. Thanks Cara!

carla-dessertlounge.jpg

Carla of Dessert Lounge made Kir Royale Cupcakes They contained sparkling wine and creme de cassis. Her recipe leaves more than a nip left for the chef, perfect! Baking and drinking go hand in hand. Okay, no they don’t really, but come on, the theme is liquor for godssakes. Thanks Carla!

cassandra-noblog.jpg

Cassandra made Chocolate Hazelnut Kahlua Cupcakes. Kahlua in both the cake and the frosting. Ground hazelnuts in the cake. Yum and Yum. We love our coffee round these parts. Thanks Cassandra!

cassie-howtoeatacupcake.jpg

Cassie of How To Eat A Cupcake baked Chocolate Frangelico Cupcake with Nutella Swiss Merinuge Buttercream. Whew! As soon as I saw these, I knew I would love them. I have been a Nutella fan since my high school exchange student introduced me. Nutella can go on anything and make it 100 times better. Great recipe Cassie, thanks!

charcuterista.jpg

Charcuterista baked Guiness Cakelettes. I am a big fan of guiness in cupcakes. It makes them seriously good. Charcuterista was very sneaky and entered her cupcakes in CH as well as another cupcake event. Nothing like a good 2fer, eh? No matter, we do not discriminate round these parts. Thanks Charcuterista!

clara-iheartcuppycakes.jpg

Clara of I Heart Cuppycakes baked up Red Wino and Chocolate Cupcakes. Clara came out of her comfort zone with this one, since she doesn’t really drink. I have been assured she did taste them though. Both she and her hubs gave them very good reviews. Chocolate covered strawberries always earn you bonus points too. Way to church it up CB! Thanks!

gigicakes.jpg

Gigi of Gigi Cakes baked up Chocolate Raspberry Cupcakes with Meringue Frosting. She totally cracked me up with her post. “They smelled so good that I was thinking this should be a car air freshener. You know, one of those of little trees you hang from the rear view mirror. If you find yourself in the mood for delicious cupcakes and in need of an air freshener for your car, then look no further.” Thanks Gigi!

dawn-lifeinanutshell.jpg

Zebe of Life in a Nut Shell used her fav drink, White Russians as her muse for this cupcake. Her White Russian Cupcakes are a Kahlua Chip Cupcake with Cream Filling and Kahlua Chocolate Frosting. Look at that frosting, oh my they look good. I have always been a fan of white russians too. Then again, there isnt many drinks I will turn away. Thanks Zebe!

ivy-thebombshellwithin.jpg

Ivy of The Bombshell Within baked Pina Colada Cupcakes. This was actually her second entry. Ivy pulled out all the stops for this round of boozy cupcakeness. These cupcakes have Dark Rum, pineapple and coconut. Mmmm. I love me some frozen pina coladas in the summer. Thanks Ivy!

ivy-thebombshellwithin2.jpg

This is Ivy’s first entry. Yes, I probably should have put them in correct order, but I’ve been drinking while writing this up, gimme a break. Crouching muffin, Drunken Cupcake was the title of this post. Very creative! They are Borracho Cupcakes flavored with Passoa. They look drunken indeed. Thanks again Ivy!

joythebaker.jpg

Joy of Joy the Baker baked Coffee Cupcakes with Butter Whipped Baileys Chocolate Ganache. Oh my, can you say YUM! As you all know, we love coffee. Coffee and cupcakes are an ideal combo for this household. Add liquor to the mix, and I’m a very happy camper. Joy’s photos are always stunning, too. Thanks so much Joy!

judy-judysgrosseats.gif

Judy of Judy’s Gross Eats baked Pina Colada Cupcakes. Judy cracks me up because she has baked more than once for Cupcake Hero, but then doesn’t enter if its not up to par. I keep insisting she enter all the creations she baked for CH! Look at these cupcakes, they are fantastic. I love that you put them under the broiler Judy. Thanks!

kate-kbkbakery.jpg

Kate from KBK Bakery made Kahlua Coffee Cupcakes. I have to say, I did not know kahlua was so popular until this month. Until Coffee CH, I do not believe I have ever bought it. You guys looove Kahlua! Which is fine by me, because it bakes up some very tasty cupcakes. These babies have Kahlua candies inside too. Man, that’s an awesome idea. Thanks Kate!

kay-kitchenjouissance.jpg

Kay of Kitchen Jouissance made Tequila Sunrise Cupcakes. I am all about food coloring, so I instantly fell in love with these cupcakes. Let alone that they contain tequila AND triple sec too. Kay was not messing around. Way to booze em up Kay! Thanks!

kelly-soundingmybarbaricgulp.jpg

Kelly of Sounding My Barbaric Gulp made Vodka-Laced Mango Cupcakes. These cupcakes were made with a special edition of Absolut, Absolut New Orleans, a mango & black pepper flavored vodka. Kelly, I absolutely agree with you, everything is better with booze, especially dessert. Thanks!

kitty-boringhistorygirl.jpg

Kitty of Boring History Girl made an entire cocktail party of cupcakes. Look at the picture, I am not joking. There are, Screwdrivers, and Daiquiris, Mango and Strawberry, Mojitos, Blue Hawaiians, Margaritas, B52s and Cowboy Cocksuckers. I’m drunk just reading about them. Good lord, I would like to attend Kitty’s house for a party. Her bar is stocked baby! Thanks Kitty!

kj-crackinggoodegg.jpg

KJ of A Cracking Good Egg made Raspberry Sherry Trifle Cupcakes. I love raspberries in anything, so I was super excited when I saw KJ’s creation. I think these would be great for a summer picnic, or family reunion. At least that’s what I am thinking. Desserts are always needed at the family shindigs, and come on, everyone could use a little nip to get through it, no? Thanks KJ!

kristina-craftyprecious.jpg

Kristina of Crafty Precious baked Amaretto Sour Cupcakes. Her post was cute, entitled “An Experiment in Crunkcakes”. I adore the picture of the cupcake in the glass, too. Extremely creative Kristina. If you end up making Sex on the Beach cupcakes, please let me know. Thanks!

liz-foodsnobberyismyhobbery.jpg

Liz of Food Snobbery is my Hobbery made Butter Pecan Cupcakes with Whiskey Buttercream and Chocolate Drizzle. I am so glad you found your ancient whiskey in the cabinet and threw it into a cupcake for CH! Jaos loved Butter Pecan, its his fav ice cream by far. Thanks Liz!

lori-cis4cupcake.jpg

Lori of Cis4cupcake baked Blue Hawaiian Cupcakes. These island beauties have Blue Curacao in the batter, a pineapple curd filling and Blue Curacao Rum Frosting. Holy YUM! I was blessed with the opportunity to go to Hawaii in 2004, while Jaos was there on business. It was 14 glorious days in Waikiki. We had a total blast. I was 28 weeks pregnant, so there were no Blue Hawaiians for me. Nothing is stopping me now! Thanks Lori!

luki-sinfullysweet.jpg

Luki of Sinfully Sweet made Black Russian Cupcakes. They contain Vodka, Sherry and Baileys. Whew! Luki called them, “Stuff I Had In My Liquor Cabinet… and That I Stole From My Mom’s House”. I love the scavenger approach to Cupcake Hero. Thanks for being such a trooper Luki, and for the very boozy cupcake, too!

lysy-munchkinmail.jpg

Lysy of Munchkin Mail baked Queenie’s Chocolate Cupcakes spiked with Ginger Liquor. She then added more ginger to the buttercream for extra spice. They sound great Lysy, and I think your photos are great! Its always great to get tips from a pro. Thanks!

mary-shazaminthekitchen.jpg

Mary of Shazam in the Kitchen baked Blackberry Cabernet Cupcakes. Mary knew what she was doing. She knows both myself, and especially TW love red wine. Smart lady! The picture is stellar. Mary did not stop there.

mary-shazaminthekitchen2.jpg

Mary also made Pear Chardonnay Cupcakes. The brilliant lady she is, she realized not all women like red wine, some are white gals. I think adding pear to compliment the cake really brought them over the top. Thank you so much Mary, for both of your wino cupcakes! I love the picture of you and your Mom, too. Old photographs are the best.

megan-jennifer-noblog.gif

Megan and Jennifer baked Vegan Mimosa Cupcakes, an Orange Cake with Champagne Frosting. I think I would enjoy that at any fancy brunch I attend. I hope they become mainstream. I think we are putting boozy cupcakes on the map, baby! Thanks Megan and Jennifer!

michelle-clevercupcakes.jpg

Michelle of Clever Cupcakes made Cuba Libre Cupcakes. I am going to quote her here, because I think she did a better job than I could do. “I would like to claim that I baked these cupcakes after Fidel Castro stepped down, but alas it is purely coincidence. One of my favourite drinks is a Cuba Libre. I suppose it may be because I only drink them at the beach on a Caribbean island, so you’ll have to picture the sound of the ocean when eating these cupcakes. Since Canada does not have a trade embargo with Cuba it is a very popular vacation destination for Canadians. Cuba Libre cocktails are a popular drink at all the resorts and consist of Coke, Rum, and Lime.” I think that says it all. Thanks Michelle!

molly-battersplattered.jpg

Molly of Batter-Splattered made Chocolate Stout Cupcakes. Made with Guiness, I knew I would love them straight away. I am yet to taste a Guiness Cupcake that did not live up to expectations. I highly recommend that anyone who has not tried a Guiness Cupcake do so. Now. Thanks Molly!

nava-navahale.jpg

Nava of A Madness baked Toblerone-Schnapps Cupcakes. The first time I had a Toblerone was after seeing that Friends episode where Rachel was toting one all over to bring back for Joey. I had never heard of them before that. They are def worth toting all over creation for. And adding Butterscotch Schnapps to the already great Toblerone is sheer genius. Thanks Nava!

nikki-crazydelicious.jpg

Nikki of Crazy Delicious made Strawberry Filled Champagne Cupcakes. You see, Nikki wanted to out do her friend CB. Their constant bickering and teasing of one another is always fun to watch. I help out where I can. 🙂 I have 5 brothers, and that’s how we operate too. I love good mockery. Back to the cupcakes, Jaos loves strawberries, I know these would be a total hit with him. Thanks Nikki!

prissycook.gif

Prissycook made Sangria Cupcakes. Just look at them. I mean, come on, who would not LOVE to scarf one of those down any time of day, any day of the week. There isn’t even a wrapper to slow you down. I like it. Beautiful cupcakes Prissycook! Thank you!

rachel-cookingandbooking.jpg

Rachel of Cooking and Booking baked Mint Julep Cupcakes. She says in her post that this was the first time she made her own cake recipe and the first time she had that much alcohol in her oven. Let me say I am honored on both accounts that Cupcake Hero brought you 2 firsts! That’s awesome! 😉 Thanks Rachel!

sarah-usuallymuseli.jpg

Sarah of Usually Muesli baked Muddy Landslide Cupcakes, which are Chocolate and Amaretto. Chocolate is always good in my book. I haven’t yet met a chocolate cake I wouldn’t eat. (Although that Gateau from TWD, a few weeks back, came clooose.) I love the dog chillin the back too. Just waiting for Mom to stop paying attention so he can sample them. Great photo Sarah! Thanks!

sarah-yummysmells.jpg

Sarah of What Smells So Good? baked Strawberry Cocktail Cupcakes. They have a touch of Grand Marnier and are a low fat, healthier cupcake. I thought that important to point out for any of you watching your weight. I host this contest, which means I bake a zillion cupcakes a month. Which means I probably do not fall into that category. Thank you Sarah!

stef-cupcakeproject.jpg

Stefani of Cupcake Project baked Mimosa Cupcakes. She says, “…the mimosa cupcake batter was one of the best batters ever. It was one of those batters that almost seems a shame to bake because you just want to eat it all! After baking, the cake was still tasty. Phew! It hits you with a nice splash of orange flavor. One comment everyone had was that it was particularly dense. Some said it was almost like pound cake. I enjoy dense cakes. If you are of the light and fluffy (wimpy) cake camp, these may not be for you. The frosting on the other hand, was extremely light and had a nice, subtle champagne flavor.” I love the in depth review of her cupcakes. Fantastic! Thanks Stefani!

steph-awhiskandaspoon.jpg

Steph of A Whisk and A Spoon baked Rum Punch Cupcakes. They are a Rum Vanilla Cupcake with Rum Syrup, An Orange Pineapple Custard Filling and Sweetened Whipped Cream Frosting. Steph always amazes me with her combinations, but she has out done herself here. These are amazing. The umbrella on top is sooo cute too. Thanks Steph!

stephanie-stephchows.jpg

Stephanie of Steph Chows made Double Chocolate Cupcakes with Amaretto Sauce. These are another in the healthier option category. Are you guys trying to tell me something? Has Jaos been posting pictures of my bum somewhere? Seriously though, they sound fabulous. Healthy is always the better option. Thank you Stephanie!

tammy-weetreatsbytammy.jpg

Tammy of Wee Treats by Tammy baked Kir Royale Cupcakes. They have blueberries, raspberries, Cassis Syrup and Cream Cheese Frosting. Oh my! I have to say, I adore the little fondant flowers on top. They are beyond cute. They are gorgeous cupcakes Tammy! Thank you!

bananana-250.jpg

Thayer of I Like Cake made Banana Daiquiri Cupcakes. These cupcakes have Spiced Rum, Banana Pudding and Spiced Rum Cream Cheese Frosting. I am going to admit, I have never had a banana daiquiri. I am not usually a fru-fru drinker when I go out. I stick with beer or heavy liquor. But, if I were going to choose a fru-fru drink, this would be high on my list. And as a cupcake, forget about it. Its def on the top of my list. Thanks Thayer!

wyckedsweetdesigns.jpg

Tina of Sweet Designs baked Tiramisu Cupcakes. These will forever be a favorite of mine. Jaos and I love tiramisu and do not order it enough. I am glad I have several tiramisu cupcake recipes to utilize now. They look lovely on the cupcake stand, too. Thanks Tina!

wendy-thecupcakery1.jpg

Wendy of The Cupcakery baked Frangelico Chocolate Chip Hazelnut Cupcakes with Hazelnut Coffee Cream Cheese Frosting . Just looking at them, I think I gained 10 pounds. Maybe I do need to start making the healthier cupcakes! You guys are trying to off me! I do not think I need to say anything more about this cupcake. That photo says it all. Thank you so much Wendy!

Now, for the winner…. This month was hella hard. I know I say that every month. With more entries, comes more competition, and more calories I have to consume to determine who is the Cupcake Hero. I am not sure if this is a blessing or a curse. I think I have created a monster. But, what a delicious monster she is.

If any of you read TW’s blog, you know she and I have kind of a back and forth of old school friends, sisters or close cousins. (I have no old school friends, sisters, or close cousins really, so I am guessing. Maybe I am way off and she is really just totally making fun of me all the time.) I am thankful I found TW, she always busts me up, a good bit of the time laughing to tears. In our back and forth, she has stated that, I will not be her friend unless she links to me from her blog once a week. I am unsure where this all came from. In an attempt to prove to her that my love is real, I am letting her post the Hero this month. You are forced to go read her, hopefully drunken, rantings on who The Cupcake Hero for February is…

CLICK HERE FOR THE FEBRUARY CUPCAKE HERO REVEAL with TW!

This concludes my part of the Cupcake Hero: Liquor commentary. Thank you, thank you, thank you for all your entries. You guys really made my month with them all.

Please excuse any typos, slurring, or complete nonsense, as this is the Liquor Hero, what else do you expect from me?

The New Cupcake Hero Theme for March will be named tomorrow. I think you will all love it. In fact, I know you will. Stay tuned for the latest Cupcake Hero Employee, too.

* If for some reason you do not see your cupcake entry here or on TW’s blog, please email me. We had quite a few that we plucked out of spam. Damn you Gmail! I will be sure to correct it ASAP.

**For those waiting on the Baby Cupcake Hero reveal, it will most likely be on Wednesday. My apologies to those who entered for my delay. We forgot our camera that day, and I have been trying to get pics from cell phones. Sorry! Its coming, I swear it!

cupcakeheroblack100×162.png

21 thoughts on “The Booziest Cupcake of them All!

  1. WTF? I read through all those entries and I have to go to another blog to see the winner? ARRRGGGGHHH! You’re killing me!! hehe. Thanks for hosting Laurie (and TW). You are far from dedicated ppl that I could ever be! CH rules!

  2. far=more | that=than
    “You are far more dedicated ppl than I could ever be”
    gawd. You’d think I was the one that ate all the booze with that sentence.

  3. Holy heck! Those are some gorgeous cupcakes and I ain’t even being vain and only talking about mine! I really hope this month isn’t a fluke, these cupcakes all look so delightful!

    And, dernnit! I’m sure, slush, you heard me if my cry of “NOOOOoooooOOOO!!!” When I saw that there was no winner revealed and I had to hit up TW’s instead. Evil! EVIL! I tell you!

  4. OMG….So many awesome new blogs to add to my Google Reader!!! These all look SO yummy…I can’t wait to try them! And I can’t wait for the next challenge. Thanks for putting on such a great show, girls! 🙂

  5. aye aye aye I am going to have to test bake so many from this round on top of the previous rounds ……
    Looking forward the ingredient for March.

  6. No one is posting pictures of your bum! I’m sure it’s just fine even after all those crunked out cupcakes. So many tasty ones to try! 🙂

  7. Good Lord, I need to make every single one of these cupcakes! How am I going to explain the new clothes budget to my husband as my waist grows (and grows). YUMMY! (Can I hire someone to bake them all for me so all I have to do is eat???)

  8. Lauren Elizabeth

    This was great, however I was really disappointed to see all those great pics Kitty of Boring History Girl posted, but was not, however, able to get the recipe.

Leave a comment