Brand New Event: Layers of Cake

Standard

The other night I was browsing Food & Wine Mag online. I was telling CB how they had sooo many great looking layer cakes. I love layer cakes, but… I need a lot more work with mine. I think its a skill I have not yet picked up on. I figured there must be more people like me that want to get better at making layer cakes, or who just enjoy making them. Layers of Cake was born.

This event is easy, easy, easy. Well, as far as rules go. (In comparison to TWD)

The rules of Layers of Cake are:

  • Pick a recipe for a layer cake
  • Bake said layer cake
  • Post by the last day of the month
  • Send me a link to the post at superslush AT gmail.com

Thats it. Pick a recipe, make a layer cake, have a photo session, post it, email it in.

Since it is so late in July, lets shoot for the last day in August, Sunday the 31st. Try to put Layers of Cake in the subject, or even LoC for those of you who like to shorten everything. I get too much email and it will help me spot them quicker. Thankyouverymuch.

Now, go pick out a layer cake recipe and bake it up. Im going to make this or this. But hell, your the one making the cake, make whatever you want!

29 thoughts on “Brand New Event: Layers of Cake

  1. Erin

    That sounds like a really fun event! I vote that you make the pumpkin cake πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see all the decadent cakes!

  2. are you seriously taking on MORE??? you are like super wonder woman…i can’t believe it.

    on that note, i tagged you on my blog, check it out in your spare time πŸ™‚

  3. YEAH!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE CAKE!!
    Can’t wait to get started! My Mom is coming to visit – so there is my excuse to bake (as if I needed one!)!
    Thanks for doing this – it’s going to be fun!
    Tania

  4. sounds great! i’ve got a frens bdae coming up so its a wonderful opportunity to bake this cake!

    thanks for thinking of this wonderful event!

  5. events come and go, but this…this is stellar. i absolutely can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with, and don’t you worry, i’ll have one of my own in the mix. πŸ™‚

  6. This sounds like fun. I dislike cake -really, I do. But I actually like putting them together, and I need a lot more practice, since my husband LOVES cake. Great idea!

  7. Hello! I got the link to this event from a blog called “Good eats ‘n’ sweet treats”
    I’ll definitely be joining in!! I don’t know how you’re going to decide between the two cakes you linked, I certainly can’t πŸ˜‰ I’m going to find a recipe with bananas, i think… I’ve had a sudden craving for them recently. Bring it on!

  8. just stumbled on your blog. very nice. i am going to attempt some of your recipes and even submit something for layers of cake, i need the practice. (i vote for the milk chocolate, peanut butter cake) … cheers!

  9. Hello,
    Are you still hosting the layers of cake event for this month? Jaime mentioned submiting a layered cake that I had made but I wasn’t certain of the particulars.
    Thank you!
    ~ingrid

Leave a comment