French Fridays with Dorie: Gougeres

Standard

Welcome to French Fridays with Dorie! Am I a little insane to run 2 baking/cooking groups simultaneously? Yes, indeed. But, anyone who knows me knows I am a few doughnuts short of a dozen.๐Ÿ˜‰

Dorie herself picked the first month of recipes for FFwD. The menu is fabulous and would make a memorable meal for sure. However, I am never on top of things like that. We do not have several course dinners in my household. Single course dinners get the job done here. So, the gougeres made a nice afternoon treat. A bunch of my fav TWD ladies and I did a tweet along as we cooked. It was really fun and pushed me into getting these babies made. I am a champion procrastinator. My TWD ladies keep me in line! Iโค them.

The gougeres were wicked easy to throw together. I followed the recipe to the letter, only adding a dash of black pepper. They were done in a flash and ready to be devoured. My husband summed it up best, “They taste like puffy cheese-its!” Yes, yes they do. And they make me want to make cream puffs really soon too.

Next week, Gerard’s Mustard Tart! (It is totally going to take me out of my comfort zone. Im a little scared.) Special thanks to Dorie and my staff at FFwD. A lot of hard work and a zillion emails went into putting this cooking army together. If you want the recipe, BUY THE BOOK!๐Ÿ™‚

If you haven’t heard of French Fridays with Dorie, check out the blog and sign up!

29 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie: Gougeres

  1. Alison

    Larz, I’m going to have to practice my food styling and photography. Your lighting is always spot on! *sigh*๐Ÿ™‚ xoxoxo
    Oh, p.s. YAY for our first French Fridays๐Ÿ™‚

  2. A special THANK YOU for this new endeavor! Insanity, yes, but what a fun and adventurous cooking journey (at least for me)! It’s taking me out of my baking “comfort” zone (a scary but good thing). I agree – those morning gougeres are stunning (anything shot on silpats gets my vote)!

  3. Your gougeres look delicious! I’m glad I never saw the word “choux” or I might have been scared to try the recipe. Next week’s is not actually as challenging as it sounds. We’ll all get brave together working through this book. ::g::

  4. Insanity is underrated! Thanks so much for creating this new group! I’ve missed being in TWD and regretted leaving, but now there’s FFwD, so all’s right in the world again. Your gougeres are beautiful!!

  5. Your gougeres look wonderful! I really enjoyed them, too! And I am with you on the mustard tart… it is going to take me out of my comfort zone, too! But, I am looking forward to it!

  6. teaandscones

    First of all, Laurie, thanks for doing this (and TWD) and we are all in the insanity together. This is going to so much fun….

    Your puffy gougeres are beautiful. LOVE how the sun shines over them.

  7. I, too, want to thank you , Laurie for all the work on FFWD!

    It is interesting that your gougeres are all rounded on the top…these are one of the few things from the book that I have made in the past & I always “shaped” the tops down to be somewhat flat/smooth to ensure there wouldn’t be burnt spiky bits on top. Did you fuss with the tops of your taller gougeres or did they just settle in the oven? They look wonderful & your photography is great! BTW, I am eating leftover gougeres as I type๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Great post, Laurie! I’m so excited that we’re getting started on the new book. I’m a little scared about blogging savory dishes myself. But at least we get to ease into it. Gougeres are basically cream puffs. The mustard tart is, well, a tart. We can make tart dough, right? And the filling is basically a custard with some vegetables thrown in, right? Now when we get to the entrees, that’s when we’ll really be in trouble. =P

  9. Those look fantastic – they were a great little afternoon snack for us, too. We don’t do the hors d’oeuvres course around here too much. Anyway, thank you a zillion times for everything you’re doing with TWD and FFWD.

  10. Multi-course dinners are pretty elusive around my house, too, but we used these for dinner rolls. And a bedtime snack. And a breakfast snack. Yum!!! Loved the tweet-along; let’s do another soon! I’m finally about to post myt gougeres, only 3 weeks late! Thanks for all of your hard work, lady.

  11. I missed out on the gourges as I didn’t start until November. Your photographs are mouth watering. Can’t wait to catch up!

    Thanks for moderating the blog!
    Allison

Leave a Reply

