I had this bright idea…

Standard

After receiving Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan for Christmas, I thought I would try and make a recipe a week till Im through the book. Yes, I know, there are over 300 recipes. It will take me 5 years or more. ha! Nothing like setting a goal for myself, right? (I am horrible at follow through. AWFUL! Who knows how long this will last. Anyone wanna join me, keep me going in this task?? Id welcome a buddy!)

So, for this edition of “Tuesdays with Dorie”, I made Brown Sugar-Pecan Shortbread Cookies. They tasted fantastic. Very buttery, the pecans added a very pecan sandy taste. But they looked so poor. I mean bad, bad, bad looking cookies. NOTHING like the perfect cute little picture in the book. I didnt even bother to take a picture because they just were not at all photogenic cookies. (I dont think you would be able to tell they WERE cookies!) I think I will give them another try, maybe it was the temperature. Maybe they cooled off too much while I was cutting them. They spread WAY out. Did not stay in the cute squares they were supposed to.

I have my eye on many, many recipes from this book. Its more like a bible of baking. Im excited to try something else, and hopefully it will go a little better. Till next week… 🙂

19 thoughts on “I had this bright idea…

  1. I would love to join you! I also got “Baking: From My Home to Yours” for Christmas! I will make those cookies tomorrow 🙂 Drop me an email if you want to buddy up!

  2. I have that book and have baked a lot of the recipes. The shortbread cookies have to chill, chill, and chill some more in the fridge. It’s the only way I was able to get them to not spread. I hope that helps. I am excited to see what else you bake.

  3. Gigi- Thanks for the tip! I had a feeling maybe they were not cold enough when I saw how much they spread out. The one pan was literally a sheet of shortbread rather than cookies. I had to cut them again when I pulled them out.

  4. cuppycakes

    I hear ya on the 5 year plan! My 500 cupcake challenge would take me 10 years if I made one every week and that so aint happening b/c well… I have a life! LOL. But the process is bound to be fun nonetheless right? 🙂

  5. I love this idea! I’m really looking forward to watching your baking results.
    As far as cookies go- lots of things can cause spread. The kind of butter you use, how soft the butter was when you combined it with dry ingredients, how long you chilled the dough, the warmth of the pan you placed the cookies on… Using parchment paper (don’t grease the pan) also helps.
    Can’t wait to see the Cupcake Hero results~ I was way too pooped (ok, lazy) to attempt this month’s contest.

  6. Oh my gosh, I ended up with thin, crispy wafers instead of cookies – they spread THAT much 🙂 They were very tasty though and my mom really liked them (she loves pecan sandies).

  7. I admit, I’d be tempted to join you on baking through Dorie’s book but I’ve had mine for a year now and have already baked more out of it than any other 3 books I own! Good luck and have fun!

  8. I have this book, and I love it. I have only made a couple of things out of it. I would love to join in. No promises, but the motive is definitly there!

  9. Cuppycakes- 500 recipes, eegads thats a lot!!! lemme know how thats going for ya 😉

    tempered woman- i think its the chilling situation. i may try freezing a bit before baking next time. and dont worry, there is always next month for CH!

    Shawnda- Im so glad its not just me!!!! Mine were crispy wafers too.

  10. Jenny- I know, Im late jumping on the Dorie wagon, but better late than never?? 🙂

    April- Sweet! Ill let ya know what we choose for next week. Im awful with commitment, but hopefully it will last a little while before I let it slide. The good intention is there.

  11. I also got the book for Christmas and it will be nice to have reviews before I bake. I tried the allspice muffins Lemon zest opional but I say it is a must! Enjoy the book!!

Leave a comment